Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Selenium Grid Hub Endpoint on Ubuntu 20

Gridlastic | 1.0.2

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

113 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Helpful for getting started with automated tests - developer / tester

  • June 07, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Selenium IDE is great for getting started with automated browser testing. The record feature helps you begin to understand xpath and is at least a starting point. It is very simple and easy to use to get started - and it's free!
What do you dislike?
The record feature is not very helpful if you are using a dynamic scripting language (such as dojo or something). QA Engineers / developers have to at least know xpath in order to be able to uniquely identify elements on the webpage, so this takes a bit more manual labor and can be tedious. Can only be used in FireFox.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Was able to write and run a fairly extensive automated regression suite in parallel on multiple machines using selenium sever as well. The full implementation using jenkins and selenium server was a bit to set up, and over time if we greatly changed our UI it still felt a bit fragile, but it proved to be stable enough to run nightly regression tests.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
To start, the IDE is great. For more sophisticated testing and implementations, other tools will be needed (selenium RC, selenium server, etc.)


    Alex I.

Great tool for beginners!

  • May 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Selenium IDE will give you a great boost to start with Selenium API and coding experience.
Pros:
- Recording
- Code auto creation
- Selenium API
- Great for learning purposes
What do you dislike?
Code created by Selenium IDE is far away from perfect, but it can you give some basics about API in general
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's a great tool for beginners in test automation and coding. After you master it you can easily switch to Selenium WebDriver.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you just don't know much about code and Selenium, start with this tool!


    Shayne V.

Selenium IDE Review From A Test Engineer Perspective

  • May 09, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Even though it's only available in Firefox, the ability to record your browser actions helps greatly for writing tests for other browsers (i.e. Chrome # IE). The option to change the source format over to Ruby also greatly assists me in writing automated tests using the Ruby Gem WATIR (Web Application Testing In Ruby). I like using Selenium IDE to write quick automated tests to compete tedious/repetitive tasks so I can focus on higher priority tasks in the long run.
What do you dislike?
IDE only available in Firefox, however, there are webdrivers for Chrome/IE to assist with automated testing in those browsers. Unable to write Data Driven Tests and there is no ability to verify images.Test execution is sluggish compared to WebDriver or Selenium RC/Core.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Selenium IDE helps immensely for tedious and repetitive tasks in the work environment. It allows you to quickly and easily create a test suite to reduce test time. It allows you to work smarter and not harder once you put in the work. You can extend automation to other browsers via WebDriver or Selenium RC/Core which requires additional programming knowledge and set up. All in all it is a beneficial tool.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Selenium IDE is a great learning point for those just getting into test automation. It sparked my interest in test automation and got me into more advanced topics like building a Selenium test automation framework and programming following the page object pattern.


    Automotive

Selenium Review

  • April 25, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was helpful to be able to see the browser render while the tests were running. You can actually see the clicks on the page and how everything renders as a te
What do you dislike?
It was hard to test over multiple versions of Firefox. Luckily, we we able to impose certain versions of firefox to use, but that is not usually the case.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helped us keep the web app consistent while making both frontend and backend modifications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I'd suggest figuring out from the start a good way to test on multiple versions of browsers. I've heard a lot of people complain about that.


    Darshan Z.

Best Freeware automation tool

  • April 14, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Selenium IDE is the best tool for automation testing. It is very simple and easy to use. Any user who knows basics of programming can easily use this tool and record and play the scripts.
What do you dislike?
I think more and updated features should be added to this tool and simple documentation is needed to easily understand this IDE.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It helps me generating automation tests scripts and one can easily record and play the scripts using this.
Whenever I want to test any scenario repeatedly then this comes in handy, just record it and play that script.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its easy to record and playback the automation scripts


    Computer Software

Easy use of selenium ide

  • April 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like record and play thing of selenium ide and by using this i can capture all the activities and convert it into java file which is very useful and time reducing.
What do you dislike?
I think the selenium ide is good but it has convert issue for html or java sometimes so i have to play and record again sometimes and then it works perfectly
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used to implement the manual testing to the automation testing of website at my job place.


    Mike C.

Meh.

  • March 28, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It makes it faster to get tests ready. Allows non-coding people the ability to make tests.
What do you dislike?
It's limited. Yes are fragile. It limits the abilities of selenium by the just not using custom code.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing web application. We solved the problem of no automated testing with Selenium, after a brief trial with Selenium IDE.


    hhc j.

Write ui test with selenium ide

  • March 24, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
it can auto record your action, make write ui test very easy. you don't need to find the dom element manually. It can also play the actions you just recorded and see if it works well for you. The selenium ide is very easy to use, you can get used with the tool in minutes.
What do you dislike?
Every thing of selenium ide is very good. but it doesn't have a chrome plugin . I like firefox, but I also use chrome a lot. But I can't work with selenium ide on chrome. Another issue is that the driver of selenium is not very stable, but i believe it still the best choice of ui test.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
we use this to implement some ui test for our system and run it on every deploy automatically. this will help us figure out issues as soon as possible.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
just use it ,you won't be disappointed.


    Information Technology and Services

Best Automation

  • March 17, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy setup. great features. Helps me automate the test very easily
What do you dislike?
There is nothing about it which I do not like
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Automating the test for Web application


    Computer Software

Selenium is an amazing tool

  • February 24, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using Selenium for last 2 years for UI automation. I have had a chance to work with Selenium IDE and webdriver as well. IDE is good starting point for learning its core functionalities, however, webdriver is a power tool for UI automation, metaphorically speaking. I can count many best things about this tool including element finding, element location, clicking, typing or in short user mimicking. In summary, you can't have UI automation without selenium webdriver.
What do you dislike?
There are a couple of things I don't like about selenium: 1) Waiting mechanism - provided built-in APIs for waiting for an element to load are not enough to deal with dynamic nature of today's webpages. 2) Webdriver specific to the type of a browser - it should be independent of the type of browser you run automation in.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have created UI automation for many products using this tool; In addition to that, I use Selenium for many UI-related day to day maneuvering through web pages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would suggest you to start thinking like how a user maneuvers web page and what he/she sees on the screen. As long as you know, what you see is exactly how Selenium is going to see it.