Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Tomcat 9 with Pre-configured Stack with support by Terracloudx

terracloudx | 9.0.37 v20210526

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

95 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Tomcat in prod

  • August 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i like the lightweight of tomcat and performance in containers
What do you dislike?
i dont like the its configuration , it could be sometimes not straighforward
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
serving our web app in cloud, the benfits of HA web server


    yash A.

Apache server

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and open source software.
It is use for load the java code on server.
What do you dislike?
I am much familiar with this software,and till now i did not face any problem
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jsp,servlet,java EE all are work on tomcat apache,from starting to till now i am using this software.


    Quang Hung V.

Excelled server for java web based applications.

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is easy to use, it does not require any installation or configuration to get started and simple to deploy your war file. Tomcat is lightweight but it supports almost feature you need for a web application server including datasource configuration, connection pool, mutual auth, https enforce and thread pool.
we could setup Tomcat as the cluster in the produciton environment or embed into almost IDE in the development environment.
Tomcat provides a rich API set, allow us to deploy and configure our application from the command line
What do you dislike?
Tomcat support for the cluster is limit and its default log just have a limit feature
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Tomcat as our Application server in our project, we embed Tomcat into Eclipse so our developer could quickly verify their code and our DevOps pipeline is integrated with Tomcat to automate deploy new code to Test/UAT environment
Our production environment use the Tomcat server which configured with Connection Pool, Mutual Auth and https to provide high performance and security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is the best choice for Java Web application in middle or small size but if your application is complex you need to look to other servers which have strong support for cluster


    Hung V.

Lightweight and effective J2EE server

  • April 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is lightweight and easy to configure, it does not any installation, just download and run, It could be embedded in almost IDE such as Eclipse, IntelliJ...
Tomcat provides a list of APIs which allow triggering to stop, start, deploy ... the command from the command line or build tool Maven or Ant
What do you dislike?
Tomcat only support Jar and War format, it do no support EJB container. Tomcat UI is quite poor and lack feature
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Tomcat as our Application server in our application on all environment, from dev, test to production, we also integrate Tomcat with Maven and Jenkins which allow CICD pipeline to build.
Our application with Java, Eclipse, MySQL, Maven and Spring using Tomcat and it able to embedded Tomcat in Eclipse, configure Database connection pool, enforce HTTPS and configure Log configuration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is excellent for small or middle size application which only needs servlet container if you want EJB container you should look to other option


    Adolfo R.

Server to deploy enterprise JAVA applications

  • April 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It allows the deployment of Rest Full applications and services and I like it because it is multiplatform
What do you dislike?
The configuration of JVM memory since not properly configure the applications can fall
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implementation of web services Rest Full
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Perform local implementation of Tomcat, also validate another option such as Glassfish before deploying the application server in real environment


    Vinicius K.

Apache Tomcat is a good option for java web based application

  • April 05, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat is a lightweight web server which runs smoothly java web based applications.
Once you have a war file, it's pretty much straightforward to deploy it on Tomcat.
What do you dislike?
Tomcat is a Java servlet container and web server, and, because it doesn’t come with an implementation of the full JEE stack, it is significantly lighter weight out of the box. For developers who don’t need the full JEE stack this is definitely a advantage but there were times when we had EJB applications and we had to deploy them on another application server, which increases maintainability by having different servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Tomcat to deploy Java Servlet, JavaServer Pages, Java Expression Language, and Java WebSocket Technologies for large-scale, mission-critical web applications. It's open-source and free! It reduced the costs that we'd have by choosing another vendor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is an excellent option if you need to deploy java web-based applications (WAR). If you need a container that takes care of other aspects such as database connection pooling, transaction control, use of JSF, JMS, JNDI, security applicable to all these additional subsystems and managed in the container, then the use of Application Servers Full Platform like JBoss AS and Wildfly is more recommended. In addition, advanced features such as high availability and data replication are features already integrated into JBoss AS and Wildfly and managed by web administration tools.


    Girisha P.

Apache tomcat server

  • February 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat server makes it very easy to build and deploy projects. Tomcat is mainly used for testing purposes while developing project. It is very handy to use tomcat in order to deploy the project and test our application.
What do you dislike?
It takes a lot of time in order to build and deploy the project and everytime we need to build and deploy the project which makes it very time consuming.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Testing the entire project locally in order to make development fast-pace


    Information Technology and Services

Apache Tomcat review

  • February 01, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat server is best for light weight application.
Easy to setup.
Administrator console is easy to use
What do you dislike?
Doesn't support very huge application
Node configuration is not possible
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have telecom business application for quotation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best product for light weight application


    Han-Tsung L.

Apache Tomcat Server

  • January 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat has been around for almost 20 years. I find it best for its stability in the software development process and a popular method for deploying Java applications for providing middleware support for web applications. Best of all, it is an open-source software that is maintained by open community with new releases and updates periodically.
What do you dislike?
I have not found any reason in particular to dislike about this product. For someone who is still new to the web development process, such as using Eclipse or the terminal to startup tomcat, and how server works in general, then it might be difficult to figure out how to configure your environment for JRE/JDK and CATALINA environment variables. Otherwise, it is fairly straight forward.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat is currently used as it is intended for hosting server-side components of a web application and providing endpoints and data retrieval from the data storage in the database. One benefit in which I have realized is that Tomcat has built-in users and roles which allows a team/developer to build user authentication and roles for the web application under construction. Furthermore, to deploy a web application is as simple as starting up the Apache tomcat server then drop the WAR file generated from building the web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If your end goal is to quickly spin up a new server for hosting a server endpoint for a java application and possibly using Eclipse as your IDE, then tomcat is definitely the one to go.


    Financial Services

Apache tomcat

  • December 13, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open source code, java servlet, provides great environment for java code to run.
What do you dislike?
I do not dislike anything other than the issue that it fails sometimes. Thanks for all your advice on tomcat documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are trying to run our java code on a java servlet in tomcat.