Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker on Ubuntu 18.04

Arara Solutions | v0121-1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

76 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Donald S.

Open source service based entirely on the cloud at no cost.

  • February 25, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Frankly, the best option for automated compilation is Docker Hub. After creating and managing my containers with Github, I can easily call automated invoices. To link all my files in a dockerfile was never so easy, I can select my organization and store my public images with an easy to understand interface, being cloud based there is no need to download any file to my computer, it distributes the stored images in all the established environments is the most complete service in this field especially for the application deployment process, creating private repositories give my organization the guarantee that what is being deployed is unique and belongs to our image bank.
What do you dislike?
To show my images I use the command docker image ls, I must run it repeatedly so that it shows me the stored repositories many times they do not appear and I must locate them manually from the user interface. I like to create new containers applying the python language. It seems that Docker Hub prefers that everything is done directly from the initial platform since many times the commands do not work properly, another error is the labels are not well distributed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With docker hub I am ensuring that everyone is using the same images, it is constantly used because being open source is completely free, we do the work we need and this is almost without any cost, as I use images in Rancher I need to reference since it does not allow me to access the images stored on my local machine by placing everything in this container I can access to create the services requested by the technology department.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an open source service that means you do not pay for it, as a professional it is not better than the services offered by Amazon or Azure but you have to be honest Docker Hub does all the work that is needed in terms of development and it does not cost anything to do it, you save money and you get what you need. Recommended for all those programmers who do not want to buy expensive licenses from other organizations.


    Zhu T.

Creation and development of cloud containers at an excellent price.

  • February 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
High quality private repositories for experienced users in the area of technology and information, affordable prices highlighting the Xlarge with 100 private repositories available for only $ 100 per month much cheaper than those offered by ECR or Azure. Very pleasant user interface, it completely transmits the idea of the service they offer just by looking at the front page of the product. Hosting my own records gives me full control over my work and being open source I can deal with all the headaches at work. Integration with GitHub can be used in conjunction with other repositories.
What do you dislike?
On a business level, I don't think Docker Hub is aimed at more novice users. I don't like the platform they offer in the Google cloud lacks personality, Developing local containers on the main computer can generate slowness in the process. It lacks integration with other elements which makes it a little used by technicians and professionals.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Mainly for the creation of cloud containers and development of applications for important customers, backup and image processing. Imaging and integration with hubs. Implementation in Ubuntu operating system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use and accessible I have dedicated part of my work to the evaluation of containers and repositories and I must say that Docker Hub offers an excellent work, polished and suitable for less expert users in this area of work. Full access and automated administration perfectly workable with Google Cloud even if the interface is not to my liking. Security and Reliability.


    Eve R.

Easy to use graphical user interface and highly secure image repository

  • February 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This repository is a success, it offers excellent docker images and the facility to create new containers without having to write a dockerfile is a success and a plus. By having official images generate more confidence and greater security excellent for those who seek little risk. Entering the repository through a docker ID command makes it easy to enter the executable platform and the way it lists each item by number of users makes everything stay organized, very complete.
What do you dislike?
The customizable of the extracted image does not always work properly. For example, when using Python 3.0 it doesn't work properly, even though when using Docker Hub I am told that I can use multiple versions of Python I must be updated to be able to customize my images correctly, the docker pull command can have errors when wanting to export to python.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it because through organizations I can create teams where my co-workers have access to a certain image repository created in the docker hub platform, the python customizable images make me use it on a daily basis because it is the programming language that I like to apply in my work.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Recommended for the simple reason that you can read, write and manage images very easily and simply with Docker Hub. The integration with Python allows it to be very easy to use because many professionals prefer this language to others like C or Java, you can see and even extract images from a repository privately, has great organization and control teams excellent for your business.


    Computer Software

docker hub is great for keeping your docker images

  • November 20, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use. You just create an account and upload your images. I also love the open software part that is encouraging for developers to upload their work.
What do you dislike?
I think there should be a github link integrated into your image home page. Because a lot of dockerfiles are on github, so to have a link would be a nice feature. I do add the links in the description, but again, it would be nice to highlight this.

The ability to add searchable tags would also be great. I think currently its a little limited to what title a person gives to the image. I should note I'm not referring to the tags you can add for a release name, but tags you can add to the image itself.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The ability to pull images and use them in gce or really an ISSA. Just easy to pull anytime i want.


    Brijesh V.

Everything is Containerized

  • October 15, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Best feature is that You can find docker container of each and every software or database or any programming language. You just need to learn a quick intro to docker and you are good to go. Everything is simply putted and documented you can find it very easy to start and use.
What do you dislike?
Till now I do not find any major problem with docker. I just started using it for experiment purposes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have started learning docker hub and want to contribute foe the docker community. I have been using docker for mostly my experimental purposes. Used databases and programming languages docker images mostly. I have found it very easy to learn and reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want to make an individual mini projects for study or any kind of POC. You can use this as your architecture after development. it is very reliable and consumes a lot less resources as compared to traditional ways of production environment.


    Computer Software

Best software which uses concept of containers

  • October 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It uses Container as a VM and sixe of contaiber is same as Size of software you are installing on the container
What do you dislike?
UI part is not much habdy it is difficult to find the Things on screen
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have containerized many Software in single VM


    Computer Software

Docker hub - the easiest way to deploy code

  • September 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The thing I like the most about Docker hub is that I can easily upload a docker image I have created or adjusted on it and deploy it in other devices and get my code running in a very short time without any hassle. No need to worry about library and package dependencies, as all of these are included in the Dockerfile inside the image.
What do you dislike?
There was a quite steep learning curve in learning how to use Docker and Docker hub, and in the beginning it was quite confusing how the virtual environment worked and how I could make changes to an image and store them after exiting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
One area where I use Docker hub is to test different ML algorithms and data science packages, so using dockerized images is a great way to do that and don't waste time on trying to get the right development environment and package versions working. Also I can easily develop code and then deploy it in other devices, such as the Nvidia Jetson.


    Information Technology and Services

Good alternative of VMs

  • September 11, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker makes it easy to have consistent deployment of the source code without having dependency issues on cross platform hardwares
What do you dislike?
Somwtimes hangs with increase in number of containers which requires to restart the whole docker instead of resolving with individual container
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Containerised deployment of source code


    Information Technology and Services

Docker hub as enterprise repo

  • August 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the ease of use and security features by docker hub also the vulnerability scanning for images
What do you dislike?
Sometimes we experience downtime in dockerhub which cause failure in k8s containers deployment
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
storing dev docker images, tagging them and vulnerability scanning.


    Financial Services

Best too for container deployment

  • August 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Containers are the best tools right now for multiple deployments and docker hub provides the best way to use containers
What do you dislike?
Too many image files to choose from. Standardization might help
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to connect to docker hub, Single source registry for all our needs