Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium Pre-configured Stack by Terracloudx

terracloudx | Latest Version: GitLab Premium 13.7

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

310 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chelsea B.

Easy to use repos and wikis

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab makes user management easy when it comes to groups and projects. RBAC can get confusing, but the grants GitLab uses are clear and simple. I also like how easy it is to add a wiki to any project.
What do you dislike?
I've noticed some bugginess when I pull repos down to my local machine and then push changes I've committed locally.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I manage data warehouse, data visualization, and data science teams. All my teams use GitLab is slightly different ways, but mainly we use GitLab as a code repository and version control system. My organization has a site license for GitLab, so anyone at the organization can be added to the projects or groups they need to see.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Easy to use and great for multiple collaborators, especially at the same time. Very dynamic.

  • July 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Really straightforward and practically no learning curve.
What do you dislike?
No complaints here! I was able to access my work and see comments and progress from others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick resolution to issues raised in a smooth collaborative environment
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely has worked well for me as a user and contractor. It wasn't a lot of learning for me on the backend before I could do my work, which was really great especially working on a tight deadline.


    Brandon S.

A Fully Featured Development Application

  • July 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab has it all. Across the spectrum of DevOps, from source control to issue tracking/planning to CI/CD and more. The sheer amount of functionality they offer is unmatched by any other application.

Another thing that GitLab does very well is consistently adding and improve features. They release once a month on the 22nd, and I am constantly impressed by how much they accomplish in a single month. It takes me 30+ minutes to read their release notes each month which is pretty impressive.
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything that I'm not too fond of that is the fault of GitLab directly. When it comes to third-party integrations and support, like with Jira, Visual Studio, AWS, and other development applications, GitLab isn't as widely supported as GitHub. Again, not their fault, but I do often wish it was supported as widely as GitLab.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Source code management and CI/CD. GitLab allowed us to streamline and automate our development workflow.


    Computer Software

Gitlab is such an essential tool for us that every employee, not just engineers, work with it daily

  • July 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We've been using Gitlab CE for ~5 years. I initially chose to migrate to GitLab from GitHub because of its, then unique, offering of built-in CI/CD functionality with the ability to use one's own servers as runners which was much more flexible and cost-effective compared to other alternatives. Since then, Gitlab has evolved, each month bringing new functionalities and improvements.

Initially, it was mainly used by our engineers/developers writing code, with a couple of other people using GitLab's issue tracker. All engineers/developers loved it immediately, with its unified simple interface to manage git repos, issue trackers, and CI/CD pipelines.

Sysops was the next logical step. By moving shell scripts, ansible/chef/puppet, docker files, helm charts etc to GitLab and authoring pipelines for their build, execution, and deployment, management of our entire infrastructure was now documented, automated and revision-controlled.

At pretty much the same time, our company was struggling with what, at first glance, seemed like a completely unrelated issue: We had to maintain and constantly update extensive official documentation, like Software Product Technical Files, our Quality Management System, internal procedures, and a plethora of other documents. These are essentially very large, mostly-text, files or collections of files that need to be version-controlled while any changes to them need to be reviewed and approved under strict policies. And effectivily managing them in Google Docs was quickly becoming untenable. It was then that, being a software company, we noticed the similarities between the requirements of handling such documentation and handling software code. We ported all these documents to GitLab, organized in a few projects containing several markdown files. Git provides us with a clear audit log of all changes. All employees use Gitlab's Merge Requests and its integrated simple editor or web IDE to propose changes to these documents. Changes can be discussed by everyone and merged/approved by authorized personnel. Automated CI/CD pipelines build the documentation files in PDFs and websites deployed via GitLab Pages.

We now also create GitLab Projects for several work projects, even if there's no coding required. They may contain issue trackers or wikis and help to organize, gather and share information. And this way, GitLab is now our most essential tool, used daily by every member of our team.

And please note the fact that all this is by using the free and open-source edition of GitLab, not its more feature-rich paid edition.
What do you dislike?
There's honestly nothing I dislike about GitLab, I'm very happy with it. A dark them was a long-standing request of mine, but it has now been taken care of.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development, project management, documentation management, single tool used by the entire company


    Information Technology and Services

Git lab the best open source devopps platform

  • July 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the below features:

1) Reduce cost.

2) Reduce developer time thus increasing productivity.

3) we can see the changes before pushing the change.

4) ui is quite good.

5) approval process can be setup to ensure changes are correct for the purpose of review.
What do you dislike?
I don't think I can dislike any feature right now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solving below problems:

1) I am able to save time.

2) productivity is increased.

3) quite simple process to push the development changes.

4) I can see what changes I have made before pushing the changes to branch.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would definitely recommend this tool.


    Farhan A.

I have more than 3 years of years of experience using GitLab

  • July 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Integration with all primary IDE like PDSOE (Progress Developer Studio) and IntelliJ. Cloued based UI supporting Git for version control. As a developer my code always will be safe. Less code conflicts since it allowed local checkout and multiple developer can work simultaneously in one program file. It support both large size project and small size projects.
What do you dislike?
It is vibrant in functionality, so tricky to understand. Help documentation can be improved. Integration with other tools are bit complex. Mermber permission implementation can be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Version controlling for our project. Cherry-picking is very easy using a web-based application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is best tool availbale in market for version control and project monitoring.


    Education Management

Great application to store and review code

  • June 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I enjoy using GitLab mostly for RPA code packages. The code review features for reviewing version is great.
What do you dislike?
The only issue I have had is when committing from a cloned repository. There is usually some kind of access error but it probably my configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Great for code storage and a good idea to always have a backup.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't loose your code.


    Computer Software

A good VCS tool

  • June 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We can have free private repositories, but it has limited features. But we can get used to it before purchasing the product. Also, I like the web IDE in GitLab, which is far better than the text editor in other VCS. Also, we can check the GitLab ci config file before pushing it and testing it in the pipeline. We can validate the yml script on the GitLab site itself.
What do you dislike?
There are some limitations in Gitlab. For example, we can not re-request for review from the co-workers. Also, I am not a fan of GitLab UI. Mainly the notification side.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We can use it as a remote git repository to collaborate with co-workers on a project. We can make several branches based on what functionality is being developed. And we can create merge requests and then merge all the work in the main branch. Co-working on software project is very easy with GitLab.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good tool to use for version management and collaboration on a project. You should consider this software especially when you want a test pipeline with gitlab-ci.


    Gabriel L.

Best business git repository management

  • May 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The self-managed version of GitLab lets you control your repository management the way you need. It has so many functionalities that allow your company to customize your repository management securely. I love the kanban integration and especially all the CI/CD that it has. It makes my job much more manageable.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes some of the bugs take longer to fix but is nothing that you can get a workaround for.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's the tool we use to manage all of our repositories at the company. I've been able to streamline the entire process of deploying the applications with its powerful CI/CD integration.


    Financial Services

Great for managing codebase, CI/CD

  • May 14, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Useful for git repo, code reviews, CI/CD
What do you dislike?
It works fine for my needs. No complaints.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Code Repo, CI/CD, code reviews