Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

GitLab Premium Pre-configured Stack by Terracloudx

terracloudx | Latest Version: GitLab Premium 13.7

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04.1 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

394 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Nicolas C.

Version Control done right!

  • June 12, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
GitLab is based on Git, a powerful Version Control System tool. It allows to exploit the maximum of file modification history. Gitlab offers great visualisation tools: commit trees, fancy charts... It simplifies communication: you can comment almost everything (commits, files, even line numbers). It also has a neat merge-request features, with code reviewing system.
What do you dislike?
I think GitLab is ugly, it's UI forces users to click a lot, either to access features, or to explore the project files.
Also, you cannot add several collaborators as reviewers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In my job, we use GitLab to communicate on commits: we can send links to a specific line in a file, comment on code... We are also supposed to use it for code reviewing but my coworkers don't seem to be motivated for that.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be sure you know what you are doing with Git. You can lose everything really easily!


    Simon L.

Best self hosted web-based git repository manager

  • June 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Besides, being a fully functional Git repository, Gitlab integrates well with CI/CD. We currently are using the free version and cover most of our needs. The Omnibus package made Gitlab easy to install, update, and maintain. LDAP was a huge plus for our corporate integration.
What do you dislike?
The UI/UX looks poor and cheap, sometimes buggy and not very user friendly.
Many functionalities are not production ready, such as artifacts archiving,
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Best free on-premise solution available. All in one solution. Git Repository + Issue Tracker + CI/CD + Many supported integrations.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a fully functional CI/CD for Test and maybe QA Environment. But I won't recommend it for production yet.


    Roberto T.

Good Source Control

  • May 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is free and it has free private repository.
What do you dislike?
The UI can improve, I found it not very clear.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Git Repository for small/medium project


    Sacha B.

Great free self-hosted git repository

  • May 09, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's free if you host it yourself. For private projects, it has all the features I love from GitHub, but not the cost of hosting private projects on GitHub.
What do you dislike?
A better system of automatically upgrading would be nice, to keep it on the latest version at all times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's nice central repository for all our projects, complete with a web interface similar to GitHub.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to deploy a test GitLab setup on Digital Ocean in just a few minutes and it's a very inexpensive way to evaluate the software.


    Logan B.

Great alternative to Github

  • April 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We love the C.I. integration with our branches.
What do you dislike?
I don't love how the merge requests are set up for code review. It makes it very difficult to manage a code review when everything is just files stacked on top of each other.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Version control of our source code, automated builds, code reviews.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use all the tools that it comes with.


    Mark A.

Everything a Forge needs

  • April 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source. It has an open way to extend it.
What do you dislike?
I needs better irker interface, or an interface to irccloud.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We need shared git repos, public pages, issue tracking, and security locked repos. It's got all that.


    Jonathan W.

Developer tool build by developers

  • March 26, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Feature rich git solution, open source, monthly releases, free unlimited cloud, on premise option, if you want something done you can make it and collaborate it
What do you dislike?
It's hard to pinpoint something bad about this software, since they are contantly and diligently improving; however one thing that stands out is, if using the cloud version expect issues once a month, since the cloud version (gitlab.com) is the first to update to the latest release and that comes with bugs, downtime and possible issues, that makes the cloud option a little unreliable for critical use
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software source version control, issue tracking, milestone plan, automatic builds, code reviewing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For on-premise, just go for it, their is no downside, updates are a piece of cake to make, software is great and the community behind it is event better. If going for the cloud version, if you critically rely on the tool, consider either install it yourself in your cloud provider of choice or go with other tool, the once a month issues could be a problem


    Juan M. C.

Gitlab review

  • March 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to have private projects enabled, with the free service.
What do you dislike?
Some times can be very unstable do to the amount of traffic their servers handle.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Personal projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to compare it to Github and see which of both has the features that your project requires. Both of them are great!


    Josh T.

A great free solution for hosting git repositories

  • March 01, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like that you get included access to Gitlab CI and pipelines which allows you to run continuous integration and continuous delivery in one simple configuration file.

I also like that you can host unlimited amount of repositories for free privately. This is better than hosting with Github.
What do you dislike?
They have recently experienced quite a bit of downtime, and also the web app can be quite slow at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are solving the issue of being able to host our git repositories. It allows us store our repositories privately for free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try using it on a few projects first, see how it fits into your workflow and take advantage of the pipelines features.


    Tiago S.

The best free git repository manager I've found

  • February 22, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Interface is extremely intuitive and setup is dead-easy. It isn't resource intensive, meaning I can run this on an old linux-rooted chromebook as a secure physical repository for some of my personal experiments. Unlike some other products, administration has been minimal since I've set this up. Git is cleanly exposed, meaning I can hook up other git clients to communicate well with gitlab. Also has a quick and easy zip and download feature for repositories.

Has a great issue tracker.
What do you dislike?
The interface could be simplified. I like to see the file structure of a repository when browsing into it, as well as the README.md below the file structure. Instead gitlab tends to show the readme if available, and you manually have to browse to the file structure if you wish to see it.

Wish gitlab had an issue tracker app, so I could use gitlab to track enhancements and defects for specific project using an easy-to-use dedicated app.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Git repository manager that's accessible through a website, free, but can be hooked up to any git clients to manage and maintain git repositories.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Set it up and give it a try. It's the best free option I could find.