Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CartoDB Open Source Version

Decision Labs | geodb-postgresql-13-postgis-3-stable

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux amzn2-ami-ecs-hvm-2.0.20210121-x86_64-ebs - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

1 AWS reviews
  • 1
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

72 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Commercial Real Estate

Avison Young user review

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
User friendly capacity and overall look and feel. The ability to share it with multiple colleagues using the link/password protect function which allows them to interact (without concern over their ability to edit). An excellent visual tool but limited in its complexity using the builder model.
The ability to change the base map quickly and easily is great. As is the ease of use in changing the colour/size of the dots on the screen.
I do also like the widget tool that allows you to filter the map by a certain criteria.
What do you dislike?
I think an option to share the raw data with the map viewers could be helpful, although probably in a limited capacity. The option to create a summary table or something within builder mode - e.g. number of total dots on the map, number in London, Manchester etc.
Also - would be really useful to have the ability to be able to somehow reupload the file that is already uploaded (without having to connect to Box), rather than having to upload a new file each time and deleting the old one.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Not so much solving problems - but creating useful visual tools for business development. Our main use case is a map of all of the valuations the valuation team have carried out internally which is used to understand previous instructions and helps speed up the process of data gathering when it comes to doing similar valuations in similar locations/sectors.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Useful as a visual/presentation tool but hard to carry out detailed analytics with the tool using the builder model.


    Dan C.

How I fell back in love with spatial analysis

  • August 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Amazing reliability and performance with super friendly support.
It is continually evolving and expanding its capabilities and I've learnt so much since working with Carto in 2014.
I particularly like the ability to link to data, explore it and share it so easily via URL and really appreciate the browser/cloud based approach. I can't remember the last time I needed to boot-up a desktop GIS and hunt for various files on my PC.
What do you dislike?
There is very little to dislike to be honest. Carto hits the sweet spot for vast majority of my spatial analysis requirements.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a housing market analyst I need to work with a great variety of different datasets at various scales to make sense of what is happening. Carto lets me explore these complex spatial datasets in the cloud and and then share my discoveries with ease with non technical users who appreciate ease of use.


    Utilities

Carto has been Awesome

  • August 18, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simplified db table creation. The ability to import spatial data and have Carto handle the rest is just awesome!
What do you dislike?
File size limits, it is difficult to work with large datasets at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Carto allows us to perform queries against large datasets very quickly. Gathering quick spatial analysis on our datasets has helped our organization tremendously.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give them a try, you'll be happy with the results.


    Vicente O.

Great product and awsome team

  • August 17, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like the most is the Team Support helping us with all issues and doubts. And the flexibility they have with us in order to scale our col·laboration with Carto according to our necessities.
What do you dislike?
Carto Builder limitations. Carto Builder has the possibility to create a lot of geospatial analysis easily. But sometimes we need more, we would like to personalise it even more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Visualize the information we want to our customers in a easy, simply and pretty way. And in real time!


    Marketing and Advertising

Used CARTO suite for the last 4 years

  • August 14, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The map centric design
The framework for devs, scientists
The special attention to UI UX details
What do you dislike?
The business decisions that completly ruined the products created by the talented teams behind the products
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating web apps with brilliant design and user experiences without the pain of developping everything from scratch again


    Guillaume F.

CARTO Builder: WebMapping for dummies

  • August 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Ease of use
- Fast Engine
- Great interoperability with Alteryx via CARTO connector
- Basemap from almost all sources can be added
What do you dislike?
- Limitation of CARTO Builder in terms of number of layers, styling, legend
- CARTO db require great coding skills
- Analysis tool require lot of in-memory and often broke your map
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
You can can display/publish large dataset within minutes in CARTO Builder and provide Geospatial Data Visualization to your end-user really fast. Unlimited viewers/sharing is also a big differentiator with other vendors
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You need to know the limitations of the software (CARTO Builder) or to have high coding skills if you want to move forward with CARTO Engine. I am recommending this product cause of the ease of use and their powerful engine.


    Information Technology and Services

Great web-mapping tool!

  • August 12, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use, the interface is intuitive. The widgets add nice features and lot of functionalities. The integration of Jupyter Notebooks and CartoFrames make it a powerful tool for spatial data science. The data observatory also adds almost unlimited possibilites with the addition of great datasets from reliable data providers. This allows analysts to push the insights to the next level and conveniently add external data sources to their maps.
What do you dislike?
Limited API functionalities to access data and features stored in Carto. It would need better GIS capabilities for more advanced users without relying on external tools. Carto Builder should be a key product in their offering and development efforts seem to be towards other products for the last few years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Doing map visualization, finding insights between customers, markets, transactions and store locations. Creating maps to share internally and externally.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great tool to easily publish and share maps to a large audience. The visualization features are nice and make intuitive maps. Not the traditionnal GIS tool, it lacks some spatial analysis features typically found in desktop tools but it makes a great tool for businesses looking at entry level web-based software. If you're looking for an entry-level SaaS software to share maps and data across an organization it's a great tool to consider. I would recommend to an organization that have a limited number of users, maybe not a solution for a 1000+ persons to share data


    Jorge H.

Great tool and great services

  • August 12, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The main advantages that CARTO gave us, IMO are:

1. The tool is powerful, but at the same time is very easy to use even for people with no data analytics background or expertise.
2. The visualization of your data makes easier taking some business decisions, especially those related to physical localization.
3. CARTO team are available for consulting them, especially at the beginning of our relationship. That point is very important, because without their help it would be quite complicated for us to use CARTO tool at 100%.
4. Due to COVID, we have to change a little our project scope, and talked with CARTO team and they gave us all the comprehension and facilities to change with no problem. We really appreciate that.
What do you dislike?
The least hepful about CARTO, maybe are these:

1. The learning curve at the beginning is a little bit complicated, especially for people with no data analytics expertise. If you want to use your company insights you have to make an upload of your data. At the beginning is a little bit complicated, but once you get in touch with CARTO team, you are able to do it in an easy way.
2. As we are talking about physical and geo items, the results are not as immediate as digital environment is. But this is not a CARTO topic but sector topic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Localization for physical items: branches, ATMs.
The main benefits for us is gaining efficiency in our investments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should have a clear goal at the beginning of your collaboration, and know what variables are you willing to use -anyway CARTO team may help you with that-. Once you get that, you will need one or two FTEs -not 100% focused- to implement CARTO and start working with your data.


    Gregory A.

Great mapping platform for beginners and GIS alike

  • August 11, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
CARTO is incredibly easy to use, and the platform makes advanced location-based analytics accessible even to those without a GIS background or training.
What do you dislike?
CARTO's pricing can be a bit steep, and their different pricing packages can be a bit confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
CARTO has enabled us to easily create beautiful, insightful, and impactful web-based maps. We've used these location-based analytics to solve a wide variety of business problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely give it a try!


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Innovative solutions

  • August 11, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Many posibilities to solve different business challenges
What do you dislike?
Sometimes felt like a supplier relationship rather than a partner
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Activity around certain locations to adjust commercial offer
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nothing