Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker Host for Ubuntu 18.04

Kurian | Docker 20.10.2-20211024

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

88 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

docker for developer

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Docker is best for building images and containers.
I mean, we need to specify what version of the node we are using in the project.
specify work for docker, and run command. It will do the rest of the work
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it takes time to load. The first time it will download the images takes much time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
If more people are working on the same project with different machine, different os, you just need setup docker with project and run docker, and it will install all the dependencies as per docker file and the project.


    Jeremy B.

Successfully docked

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It Allowed me to make several hosted pages.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it doesn't indicate when you have a server hosted on other submenus.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Able to host sample pages and customize them. While people may not see the names of the servers, it's cool that they can be customized on the back end to fit your personality.


    Ryan S.

Docker makes shipping software far more resilient

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Docker standardizes software delivery by ensuring OS your software is running in is consistent and reproducible. Docker containers also have a faster start time than conventional virtual machines. These two combined means you can have a more reproducible production environment that recovers more quickly from failure than traditional software delivery means.
What do you dislike?
Docker concepts can be hard to grasp for junior developers. More beginner documentation about WHY you need docker would be helpful when mentoring interns. There is a steep learning curve to docker, but the benefits far outweigh this.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker helps standardize software delivery to development, staging, and production environment. It is a standard way to deliver software to cloud and on-prem environments.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to read the documentation and fully understand network configuration.


    Sarath N.

Docker best image possible

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. Traditionally the deployment are so Manual and required more time to market, in the docker era it was quite easy and efficient way to pack our code as image and with a simple Docker run command do the job for us
2. This is not only for developing an application even running our automation suite it is more efficient rather .JARing or .WHLing our automation code, let's put it in a docker file and the docker engine do the rest
3. Best efficient way to implement CI/CD technique
4. Also dockerHub provides wide range of docker image starting from chromium browser till Ubuntu OS (both light and heavy versions)
5. Majority of images that are available in DockerHub are verified and we do not need to worry about any vulnerabilities
What do you dislike?
It's a Linux command and someone need to be knowledgeable in the Linux OS in order write there own image. More than a dislike it's about usage. Nevertheless we can get any image code from dockerHub as they are always providing the GitHub url for cross reference
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implementing CICD in my project was so easy using docker image. Especially we were using gitLab and with the package registry it was even easy to package my automation code into image and call it within my yml file


    Nir L.

Simple and effective container tool

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker, if you didn't know, is a simple and effective container platform that allows us to quickly and easily run our database (monodb), our server (node.js) and our memory cache (redis) on a single platform. It's easy to set up and point-and-click to fire it up.
What do you dislike?
The only real issue we had with Docker is that it requires us to re-build the images every time we install new node modules since they are hosted on the guest and not shared with the host. But then, it does not happen very often.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Docker to run out development environment, as well as one or two services in production. It is straightforward to set up, keeps a consistent environment across multiple host machines, and is very cost-effective to run on AWS and similar platforms.


    Kaan K.

Solves container run problems.

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The desktop app, you can create container engine with desktop app.
What do you dislike?
You have to update app when the docker team updated the app version.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running containers in windows and macos device.


    sumit s.

Best containerization tool or great toll for deploy microservices

  • December 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best this of dokers unlike VM here we can create multiple containers, and in VM, we can't share a memory, so we need to divide memory among all VM, but in dockers, all containers can share a memory, so we don't need to worry about memory, and it's beneficial when you deploy microservices like in past when you create microservices architecture that time you need to deploy all module on different server because of traffic, but docker solved this issue, and you can deploy all modules on the same server in multiple containers and one more thing that is when you switch your server that time you don't need to configure again and again simple create image push to dockers central repo and you all team member can access this so configuration work for all will reduce
What do you dislike?
Nothing for dislike, but as we know, dockers is open source but to learn this complete we need to pay more instead of this we need proper documentation of docker for beginners so they can use this
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
When I was working on any eCommerce site that time for auth module, we needed a different server because of traffic, and if users faced issues during login, they will not continue with your portal, so always need a different server, but after the use of dockers, this issue will resolve like create multiple containers and deploy one module on one container so if any container needs more memory it will use and release them and It reduced my server cost and one more issue that was my company is service provider so some time w carete build and deploy on client site server but that time server admin not able to deploy this because of proper server configration so when we test this in our company that time we create image of that so on client site employe need to run this image and it will create same container for that so this thing also really help full
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you suffer from load issues on your portal and create microservices, use dockers. After this, your server purchases cost will also reduce your team will not suffer from the configuration of the server just create an image of your server and push on dockers central repo then you complete team can access this


    Abhishek K.

Deployment made easier

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Just a configuration file is needed, and your solution/website is deployed. It makes deployment faster, cost-effective, and flexible. And these solutions can run anywhere and are scalable.
What do you dislike?
It needs better Graphical Interface support.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have deployed my small personal projects with Docker designed in Angular and Nodejs. I have also worked on a project that used Docker for deployment.


    Dhaval C.

Best technology available for containerising your application

  • December 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The number of resources, the documentation, and the community is really great. The ease of use and reliability that we get from using docker can't be explained in words.
What do you dislike?
AS such there is no negative thing that comes to my mind but I have to regularly clean my local docker images and containers to prevent them from occupying so much space.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The first problem for DevOps is to make sure each and every environment has the same version of the technology. Docker solves that really well plus we have confidence that if built Image is working great in local it would work anywhere.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Just for it. it's widely supported by all the cloud providers and the community is really huge.


    Akshay M.

Cloud Storage

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best part of docker is we can deploy our code using the docker image.
We just need to create image of our existing code and we are able to deploy the code using docker container
What do you dislike?
It's very tough to understand initially,
Users documentation is not properly for administrators to deploy the production code and also creating of docker image is quite tricky.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker helps me to deploy one of my projects module using the container by creating docker image of my code.
DOCKER provides instance solutions
Also helps me to learn cloud computing.