Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Docker Host for Ubuntu 18.04

Kurian | Docker 20.10.2-20211024

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

89 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

Best tool to create containers for microservices

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Docker is the way it allows you to create images for your containers. You just create a 'dockerfile' in which you specify the software stack that will run inside a container.
What do you dislike?
The UI has limited functionality; it does not give complete control to users over their containers.
For more advanced operations, one has to resort to commands typed in a terminal window.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main problem solved with docker is creating containers for microservice execution.
The main benefit is to avoid conflicts with other software, which may have different dependencies.


    Computer Software

Best tool available for containerized deployments

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Docker provides the capability of out-of-the-box containerized deployments for most of the resources that my team uses.
This helps us to make sure that all services are deployed as containers and can be scaled up with parallel deployments.
What do you dislike?
There's nothing much to dislike about docker, tbh.
Unparalleled community support, overall great product, and a perfect fit for the use case it is built for!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Docker is more or less integral to the deployments my team does, for all our services. Since we have a microservice-based architecture, docker comes in handy for both local and remote deployments of any service as and when required.


    Koushik P.

Best container store

  • November 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In this docker, I Like this very much as this is the best container store. It is very easy to build an image and share it with others like the public and tag the latest and keep up to date.
What do you dislike?
Until a few months back I did not have any dislikes in docker. But do due to the latest update they made auto-build to pro users only. But Think to keep that to make it free for all users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By using Docker I solve the latest version of hosting software easily and fast like using Microsoft Azure and Managing a tagging and easy identification which is worked properly.


    Neha U.

Operating system level virtualisation made simple

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has made your developed applications OS independent and infrastructure independent. When we develop a project this docker helps in breaking the dependence between the developed infrastructure and serves as a packages or images so that it can be delivered quickly for implementation irrespective of infrastructure or os
What do you dislike?
In security perspective after lot of R&D I found that a malicious code can attack system irrespective of the container. And also not all applications doest best suit for containers. Its documentation is quite poor and kills time for a beginner to start with docker concepts.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a project trainee I was assigned with an task to implement the docker concepts for a project which is developed already to break the dependence with the developed infrastructure and deliver it as a package.


    Arham T.

Docker

  • November 10, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It creates an immutable image for the current or existing building which any one can use by pulling image from docker hub. It also use to containerize application to avoid any issues related to versions. It also provide support to connect third party tools which is easy to integrate. Docker uses image to run container. In Docker we bind ports if self or describe any other options like volumes networks etc. It provides consistent and isolated environment also provide cost effectiveness with fast deployment run test rollback and deploy with flexibility.
What do you dislike?
If any one want to change or remove something from their existing build or project after build was successfully deployed. They need to down the container and build a image again which is very disliked thing in docker.
Container don't run at a bare metal speed container consume more resources more efficiently then virtual machines. Container ecosystem is fractured graphical application doesn't work well also not all applications take benefit from containers, persistent data storage is complicated
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I solve verison control issues which is very common let say i use node verison 12 in my local machine but when i run it on production is shows verison error to after using docker I overcome this problem because when i containerize my application it becomes same as we run on production. It also solve problems related to incorrect application dependencies such as libraries Interpreter's code binaries
Recommendations to others considering the product:
My recommendation for docker is it is a next level thing in upcoming industry by using docker everyone see the big difference how Docker Change the world also Docker able to manage load if your site loaded with too much traffic you can simply use load balancer to manage your traffic by dividing it into to different routes.


    Computer Software

Containerisation tool for any type of application that is simple to use.

  • November 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most remarkable aspect is that the windows docker app can enable Kubernetes support with just one toggle, the community support is very strong, there are always people accessible to aid you with your issues. Also, it provides 3 different easy ways to install it on Linux machines.
What do you dislike?
Docker for windows using WSL is very slow even on my intel i7 8th gen laptop, apart from that I think Docker is has nothing to dislike about
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I make images for my web app and push it to the docker hub and then other teammates just continue to work on the same image and push to the same docker registry. We have a Dockerfile that contains all of the necessary commands, new employees just run a container from the image instead of installing all individual software.


    Bob B.

Critical for Modern Web App Development

  • November 06, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The idea is that Docker fixes the problem that software developers meme about "It worked on my machine". I personally find it to be very useful for spinning up databases. If you need MySQL, Postgres, MongoDB, or anything else - it's roughly 5 lines of code, it doesn't get easier.
What do you dislike?
Docker is overly complicated. I've taken a handful of docker classes and I still find it hard to do some very basic things at times. I'm jealous of Docker experts but I still get more than enough utility from Docker even with the limited feature competency that I have.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problems Docker solves for me and Benefits

Docker is a life-saver for the following:
- Configuring web servers quickly and efficiently
- Switching Development vs Production Environment Variables easily
- Simple full-stack application deployment
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a docker class and only focus on the features that you'll use daily so you don't get overwhelmed.


    Information Technology and Services

The best way to build and deploy your applications - a must have skill for engineers

  • November 06, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Where do I begin! From the first time that I learn about Docker, it has been a must have when building and deploying any applications that I have worked on. It is easily extensible and so easy to put together different images and containers!
What do you dislike?
I think the initial learning curve can be a bit steep especially for those that are also new to networking. As I was learning I found that the docs could be a bit overwhleming especially if you do not know what you are looking for but this does get easier with time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Deploying applications more efficiently and in a reproducible way. Sharing pre-built images within the organisation for better collaboration. It has improved the performance and the time it takes for us to do our deployments. Honestly, I can't even imagine what it used to be like to have to build without Docker in the past.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend using Docker and see how much easier it will be to build and deploy your apps. It also helps promote the culture of 'you build it, you ship it' within your organisation so can bring about a lot of unexpected positive results too. I think learning Docker is a must for those in the industry as it is everywhere and once you start using it you will quickly figure out why. I do think that the initial learning curve is a bit steep so starting with simple images and then building on that to more complex containers and setting up an internal registry within the organisation is the expected journey that I would have in mind for someone wanting to become more familiar.


    Computer Software

Ultimate for containerised application

  • November 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
A single image is used to package the application, which includes all running entities, binaries. Efficient - construct a lightweight virtual machine that can run any application. To handle the docker commands, use simple commands. It offers a virtual platform for creating and deploying applications to the Docker HUB.
What do you dislike?
So far I haven't faced any issue with docker. The only thing is needed to improve the GUI. Overall the best Light Weight application used for deployment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used to deploy various applications to the docker public repository. I Docker commands are elementary to remember and understand. Excellent exposure to docker will lead to learning many technologies like k8s. It's just as simple to pull docker images from a repo and use them as it is to upload Docker images to Docker Hub. It's a fantastic application that has a plethora of libraries that may be used in a variety of ways.


    Computer Software

Most popular and widely used container solution

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to create containers, images and port forward applications from within container to host machine and how easy it is to setup kuberenetes with single toggle within docker desktop windows app
What do you dislike?
I dislike how every time one has to type sudo to work with Docker and also docker for windows app is very heavy on system resources unlike the Linux counterpart
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
With Docker New employees don't have to do all the hard steps of setting up the project, they can simply pull the images from the company's docker registry and get started, I personally don't install softwares I just run their containers in docker.