Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OBS - Live Streaming Server for Windows 2016

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.6

Windows, Windows Server 2016 Base Windows 2016 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

17 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Justin G.

Easy to use screen capturing tool

  • May 15, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
OBS allows you to screen capture and go live on various media platforms. It is easy to set up and add scenes.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some settings are changed with new updates.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
By allowing us go live on various social media platforms.


    Blake G.

OBS for Streaming

  • January 12, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
OBS is a pretty straight forward program if all you are looking to do is the basics, but it also has features that you can dive deeper with the more experienced you get with streaming!
What do you dislike about the product?
OBS updates can sometimes cause bugs or change settings, so you need to be sure to not simply update OBS right before you plan on going live with a stream. Always have an image or back up of your settings saved just in case something weird happens.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It makes it easy for us as a church to go live with our services allowing us to expand the reach and impact that our church has on our community and to audiences that may not live in our vacinity.


    Samuel C.

Excelent tool

  • January 11, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Is the best tool for streaming in the market. It has a big community with lots of plugins and integrations.
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing, I think that this tool fulfills all my needs.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
You don't need to invest a lot of resources in a paid service to be able to stream. Anyone can stream for free.


    Todd G.

I've used OBS at various times, especially as our church shifted to more online streaming services

  • November 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
First, you can't beat the price of OBS - free! Second, it's incredibly powerful, and reasonably simple to operate. I say reasonably because it does require some setup to be fully functional.
What do you dislike about the product?
OBS is very overwhelming at first glance, so expect to take some time in setting up and running your first stream. It's complexity is both a disadvantage and an advantage!
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a solution to combine various media sources without a hardware video switcher. For example, my church wanted a video source as well as slides shown. OBS allowed this to be done very easily!


    Lori K.

OBS with Zoom has made client experience top notch

  • September 09, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
OBS - Live streaming server allows me to get the best of all when leading classes and courses on zoom.
In order to get good quality video & audio with voice and music I found this server creates the best experience for my audience.
However in order to make this all possible I also have an audio mixer with wired microphone and music through an another device (in my case an iPad).
What do you dislike about the product?
The only problem I have encountered is a delay in video feed when using the zoom application.
Within OBS there are options to manage the delay so visual and audio match through recordings but zoom does not have any options to manage the delay in feed between audio/video.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OBS Live streaming server allows me to take my business online through teaching in depth courses/programs online with a wide range of options. And it allows me to make pre-recorded videos that save me a lot of time and have bonus materials for clients to have access to.


    Ksenija V.

A learning curve worth the climb

  • September 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
When working with OBS streaming software, we were looking for ways to deliver clearer, higher-quality video and audio to our audience and Zoom was the answer! Nothing else on the market compared to the next level of quality we could create with our content.
What do you dislike about the product?
Combining OBS and Zoom required a bit of investment in time and work on personal patience skills in learning the best way to consolidate two programs with the best results and seamless integration. But - it was well worth it
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OBS Live streaming server allowed us to stream our content live on multiple platforms while having complete control over visual and audio performance customization.


    Tolga G.

OBS Review

  • July 17, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It has screen recording, and it has options to record different pages on computer. Also, it allows you to open a stream as well. Very useful program. You can also keep different pages to keep the settings.
What do you dislike about the product?
Making the settings, it is too difficult and complicated. When I record my screen, I was explaining how to use things. There was always a fan noice behind my voice. It took me weeks to find out where to close this noice.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am Game Manager at thecrims.com. And we take youtube videos about how to play game. So, I use OBS there to record my screen and upload at youtube.


    Marcus J.

OBS Review For Livestreaming

  • May 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
OBS is the traditional recording and livestreaming solution, which is great because there are loads of online tutorials out there on how to use it.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's complicated to use, and a little more on the clunky side compared to some of the more popular alternatives nowadays.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Livestreaming footage to YouTube
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Probably better off using Streamlabs or something more designed for streaming.


    Ayushi P.

The best software for live streaming

  • April 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the screen capture and live recording feature of OBS the best. I appreciate its neat and clean interface and the software also allows me to manage quality.
What do you dislike about the product?
The software constantly updates which I don't like. Also, it's not always possible to tell if OBS is running or not and the commands sometimes do not work properly.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
OBS is pretty simple to use and live streaming becomes very easy using this software. It also offers great features for new users and there are also advanced encoder settings.


    Алексей .

Best streaming server for consumers and prosumers, period.

  • March 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
OBS (Open Broadcaster Software) is the very best Live Streaming server I have personally used. It has a simple auto-configuration wizard, which helps you to start in a small amount of time, also it has a powerful sources management panel that helps you configure your input sources if you have multiple of them. You can capture not only sound from your mic and video from your webcam but also a video from your desktop or video from one or more of your windows, a video from your video capture device like various video transmitters, HDMI capture cards, IP cams. You can do restreaming from your IP camera by RTSP or other services if you have a plugin to do this. Moreover, you can do many various things with OBS plugins, like having a custom source or output your stream with a virtual camera, playing various sounds with your hotkeys, adding some custom transitions between scenes, automatically focusing on the speaker's face or cropping and zooming video, blurring the background, displaying overlays like various progress bars, HTML content. You can even have PTZ control over your IP cams from one of the plugins of this software. Also, it is worth mentioning that OBS is not just a streaming server, but also a powerful encoder, which can help you to record, for example, your screen sessions or educational videos, so it is a must-have for every content maker
What do you dislike about the product?
Not all the plugins are stable or compatible across all the platforms, so using some of them has some trade-offs like getting your stream not so stable as if you are streaming directly from your device (if it has inbuilt functionality to do this, of course). Your PC should have a bigger amount of RAM than if you are streaming with some basic software. Some plugins demand a modern graphics card to function without freezes. Some plugins (like a plugin to restream a Zoom conference) are hard to find or even not available for use in the production environment yet. Some functions are not easy to understand but visiting the vendor's wiki makes it much more understandable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it to stream educational or support sessions to our colleagues and partners in remote offices, so it helps us to be much more productive. Also, we are using it to record our product promotion videos for our social profiles, and, of course, for YouTube.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should have a modern PC if you are considering using OBS as a professional. Also, do not hesitate to visit OBS Wiki if you have some troubles configuring the software - it has a ton of information about every aspect of doing this.