Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Native Database for MariaDB 10.5 (Amazon Linux)

Websoft9 | MariaDB 10.5.11 - AmaoznLinux 2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

173 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Scott K.

MySQL server flavor MariaDB

  • July 30, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For the most part, MariaDB is a binary drop in replacement for MySQL where you should be able to just fire up MariaDB from standard MySQL database already in production. You'll want to reference their site for any changes to be aware of (as there's even configuration settings and syntax differences between versions), but in general if you're running somewhat of a modern version of MySQL (5.1+), MariaDB 10.x (based on MySQL 5.6+), you shouldn't experience any problems after mysql upgrading the system tables.

In comparison to standard MySQL, there's a number of improvements (Percona also has many of the same and is very good too), including but not limited to:

- several other storage engines can be used
- significant speed improvements such as subqueries and joins with the optimizer
- faster and safer replication
- parallel replication
- innodb specific tunings (mostly related for speed)
- indexes for the memory(heap) engine considerably faster
- thread pools as of mariadb 5.1, even better in 5.5+
- gtid and multi-source replication
- fulltext searching support with InnoDB!
- table elimination
- microseconds implementation
- much better user stats and progress reporting when altering tables, loading data from infile, etc.

- truly open source!
What do you dislike?
I can't say there isn't anything that I really dislike about MariaDB. In the newer versions, InnoDB supports fulltext searching (implemented as of MySQL 5.6) which makes converting table engines lucrative to avoid table locks for the most part that couldn't be done before since FULLTEXT was strictly MyISAM. They can still happen in certain cases, although will generally release pretty fast depending on the queries, system resources and the amount of load the system is under.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Improved speed with queries, replication, the ability to convert MyISAM tables to InnoDB now that it supports FULLTEXT searching and eliminates table locks that MyISAM would impose based on how the storage engine works (table based locking with MyISAM vs row based locking with InnoDB).

The progress reporting via the MySQL CLI is rather useful for knowing the percentage amount done from an executed command, along with indicating how long it will take (per stage).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The amount of improvements / features MariaDB has only enhances standard MySQL to be better and is practically a drop-in replacement over standard MySQL.

I would highly recommend giving it a try if you're looking for performance increases and enhancements/features that are available.


    Information Technology and Services

A great MySQL Drop in replacement

  • July 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB has all the strengths of MySQL with a faster development cycle and more reliable releases. Works great in place of any MySQL needs, the commands are even the same.
What do you dislike?
I think that getting newer releases of the project (like MariaDB 10+) can be difficult on some enterprise distros, so I wish that official releases were more readily available in an RPM format.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Any database that used to require MySQL we have moved over to MariaDB. We find it to be higher performance, more reliable, and A+ software.


    Daljeet S.

Maria DB Best for Compression and very fast

  • July 07, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
High availability, scalable, performance enhancement.
Yes, Maria provides amazing performance for my database. My ads campaign data bumps in here and Maria DB makes my read and insertion faster.
Yes, i will highly recommend Maria DB to others, we should use 10.x version of maria db , as it comes with tokudb compression out of the box.
Which helps us in compression also. as Toku compress and saves our hard disk space, which sometimes are costly. and its high availabiluty makes this better
What do you dislike?
There is no reason as of now to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Add server data is stored in Mysql with Maria DB.
Benefits are fast access . And its community support is also very good.
Yes, i will highly recommend Maria DB to others, we should use 10.x version of maria db , as it comes with tokudb compression out of the box.
Which helps us in compression also. as Toku compress and saves our hard disk space, which sometimes are costly. and its high availabiluty makes this better
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, i will highly recommend Maria DB to others, we should use 10.x version of maria db , as it comes with tokudb compression out of the box.
Which helps us in compression also. as Toku compress and saves our hard disk space, which sometimes are costly. and its high availabiluty makes this better


    Antti Viljami K.

Leave MySQL-server for MariaDB right now!

  • April 01, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB 10.0 was a complete drop-in replacement for MySQL server. No hassle in setup. Since switching to it, Everything just works as excpected, and faster, lighter, better than plain old MySQL.

We are very much looking forward to moving on to MariaDB 10.1 for some new features.
What do you dislike?
Not much at all to dislike here.

Would like to have master-master replication for other Storage engines than InnoDB as well. MyISAM works, but causes issues due to not replicating.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MariaDB Galera SQL Cluster in a large scale. Master-master replication works beautifully and without errors. We are rapidly scaling our MariaDB Galera clusters, and everything is working smoothly.

Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you're migrating from MySQL-server, consider MariaDB 10.0 first, since it's a complete drop-in replacement. MariaDB 10.1 contains some improvements MySQL doesn't, and thus cannot be quite considered a drop-in replacement.


    Nico C.

A very good opensource database solution

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is open source and fully compatible with MySQL, which means that I can safely use MySQL connector over ASP.NET, while I can always hope for new updates and fixes, totally for free.
What do you dislike?
It's development focus is not very clear to me: doesn't seem to focus on performances nor very large set of functions/datatypes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I mostly use it while developing websites.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a very good compromise between open source (free), stability and scalability. It is indeed the standard de-facto in web applications.


    Edward L.

Drop in replacement for MySQL

  • March 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love that it is a drop in replacement for MySQL. Super easy to manage and find information about online because they kept it so close to the original.
What do you dislike?
I wish it had a little more popularity. It is the default in CentOS 7 but it isn't in Debian 8. Because it is interchangeable with MySQL this isn't really a big deal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Being a drop in replacement for MySQL allowed us to switch to CentOS 7 with ease. Updating to CentOS 7 let us use more up to date software across our stack. Using MariaDB is dead simple because of the history with MySQL. Tutorials for anything that needs to be done is just a search away. Easy implementation and no additional training.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a drop in replacement for MySQL so updating your application to use it instead should be almost trivial. Almost all tutorials and documentation available for MySQL will apply to MariaDB as well.


    Hospital & Health Care

Replacement for MySQL

  • January 27, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simply because it's compatible to MySQL.
And Centos 7 comes with MariaDB instead of MySQL.
It;s almost same as MySQL, which leads the configuration management very easy.
At the same time, more new feature.
What do you dislike?
Not much.
Compared to PostgreSQL, Mariadb, similar to MySQL, has its own disadvantages.
But, the LAMP is so popular and made Mariadb/MySQL widely deployed.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our team provides other teams with online service. You need to select the right database for your applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
No matter how much you like PostgreSQL, you'd better try MariaDB or MySQL, simply because that the LAMP is so popular and MariaDB/MySQL is the first options for LAMP.


    Robinson A.

If it has an active community, it must mean something

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has one of the best perfomance in DB engines out there, frequent and meaningful updates, mostly security related, it also has solid compatibility with the known MySQL. Very easy to migrate and maintain.
What do you dislike?
Their marketing isn't the nicest and professional thing in the database engines market.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I had a client who wanted to migrate from MySQL to MariaDB because it is lightweight and more secure, less focused by internet bots and such.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try, you never now what will come out of your efforts trying new technologies. There's a bunch of textbooks about mariadb already so you can get up and running in no time.


    Sean L.

Excellent replacement for MySQL

  • January 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB has better performance, more open development, compatibility with MySQL, supports additional storage engines, and has quicker security releases.
What do you dislike?
Might become uncompatible in the future. I haven't run into any incompatibilities in my own deployment, but it's worth noting that MariaDB and MySQL have begun to [diverge](https://mariadb.com/kb/en/mariadb/mariadb-vs-mysql-compatibility/).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use MariaDB as a general-purpose RDBMS for data exploration and analysis.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
PostgreSQL is worth looking into, but as a replacement for MySQL, MariaDB is a clear winner.


    Kyle M.

Open Source Drop-in Replacement for MySQL

  • December 22, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how MariaDB is an entirely open source product. It gives me confidence that I will have the product to use for years. We've been migrating from a Windows based Database server to a Linux based server and it has been extremely easy; Better uptime, lower cost, lower maintenance. It's been a breeze.
What do you dislike?
I can't think of much to dislike about the product. It has met all of our expectations. An area that might be lacking would be the documentation about each of the settings. Quite a bit of the time, they forward you to MySQL's doc's, and their doc's are terrible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use MariaDB as our primary database system. It has given us confidence to store our data in a RDBMS. It has also helped us lower our server costs. We were able to split up our services into multiple cloud servers rather than a monolithic dedicated server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend testing your switch first. Install MariaDB on a test box, then restore a mysqldump from your primary database server. Test out all functionality. mysqltuner is a great program to help with tuning the settings.