Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Cloud Native Database for MariaDB 10.5 (Amazon Linux)

Websoft9 | MariaDB 10.5.11 - AmaoznLinux 2

Linux/Unix, Amazon Linux 2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

172 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Blagovest P.

The most important MySQL databases in our company are migrated to MariaDB

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The XtraDB storage engine is is amazing. Scaling was never been so simple. You should also try the MaxScale solution from MariaDB.
What do you dislike?
I don't have any bad experience with MariaDB
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our high-loaded nodes are running MariaDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You must check the MaxScale proxy from MariaDB. This solution is perfect for high availability and load balancing. Even if the software architecure doesn't support it. There are even options for Query logging and tracking, routing...


    Matt C.

DB Demystified

  • May 02, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Ease of transition
- Truly open souce
- Few bugs, and fixed quickly after discovery
- Safely near the bleeding edge
- Choice of versions
- Quality of documentation
- Galera Cluster (although we need a solid open-source web admin suite)
What do you dislike?
- Lack of Galera administrative gui, of any kind.
- Should probably package own versions of Percona Tools
- Need better upfront caveats and advice when introduced to Galera Cluster
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- MariaDB is Free as in air
- Clustering with Galera is a breeze and allows us to drop DB nodes out at random
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need or desire truly open-source database suite, then MariaDB / Galera Cluster is for you.


    Biotechnology

mariadb the future

  • May 01, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Scalability, multi master support
partitioning, high performance
What do you dislike?
Not top of my head

So far we are testing the servers
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
performance


    Kumaran B.

DBA's has to use MariaDB...

  • May 01, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Free, stable, easy to install (Straight forward setup), can handle replication, reliability,most popular database in the world. I have used MariaDB for years and i would strongly recommend this product.
What do you dislike?
A GUI based setup for the replication & database management would be a needed feature.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
worked on several projects as a server / database administrator, i have implemented more than 30 MariaDB database (DEV/TEST/PRD environment). This saved our company huge amount of money (free license).


    Internet

MariaDB experience

  • April 29, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best part about MariaDB is the support for multiple Database engines without requiring separate licenses. Impressed about the functionality provided by InnoDB and TokuDB
What do you dislike?
The lack of a GUI tool to perform basic admin tasks like scheduling jobs, backups, replication setup, etc
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using MariaDB for highly transactional data which changes frequently. We are also using MariaDB to aggressively archive and delete data from tables to keep them smaller which in turn makes the data manipulation and retrieval faster


    Andres B.

Deployed and Maintained www.miniclip.com's MariaDB servers. Thousands of Requests per second

  • April 27, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its reliability and how powerful it is. I did not experience any problems other than normal replication issues but nothing that could not be resolved.
What do you dislike?
Cluster Capabilities. A better clustering technology.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Highly scalable and easy to maintain.


    Andrei R.

Migration from MySQL to MariaDB for Digital Signature Web Application

  • April 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Simplicity, reliability. TokuDB engine support (data compression). Very fast. Replication is very reliable (and simple to setup).
What do you dislike?
Had to figure out some details. The one important feature is missing - multiple hard drives support. The data has to be on a single drive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Had to find the proper data storage for a fast growing data volume for a digital signature web application. The TokuDB Engine was chosen, because it allows a data compression, which is a very helpful feature, specifically for a fast data growth. Also, the replication setup was a breeze. Unfortunately TokuDB engine does not allow for a full cluster (master-to-master) setup, but replication is good enough. I was surprised of reliability of replication process. I did a crash test - just unplugged the servers and replication resumed after power was restored.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It just works and a lot more advanced compare to MySQL.


    Derek R.

MariaDB has a great deal of flexibilty with a healthy future ahead of it.

  • April 21, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have used MySQL for years and I really see MariaDB as the future of the MySQL code base. In my prior position its linkages to Cassandra and separation from Oracle were important to us.
What do you dislike?
The Cassandra connector at the time I used it was a bit limiting.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At my prior company we used it as our core SQL install, replacing MSSQL as we moved to a LAMP stack. We also used Cassandra as our NoSQL solution, so the connector gave us some nice flexibility in how we interacted with that data store.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would have others look at what they get with MariaDB, there are some true upgrades with drop in compatibility with MySQL.


    Andrew P.

MariaDB is a good Upgrade from MySQL with few compatibility issues.

  • April 16, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Upgrading to MariaDB has made our custom built MRP system more robust and improved speed of access. There are also more options for reduncy like Galera cluster which i intend to explore in the near future.
What do you dislike?
i have yet to find any reasons to dislike MariaDB
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We upgraded from MySQL so to improve the speed and reliability of our MRP, We were having some problems with crashing and slow access which has now been sorted out.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a better implementation of MySQL than the Oracle version, more stable, more redundantcy options.


    Stan P.

replaced informix and mysql with mariadb 4 years ago

  • April 15, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
drop in replacement for mysql (storage engines renamed but there); new aria storage engine. back to being open source after mysql/oracle purchase- original engineers and new contributors should succeed to match/pass mysql installations. gradually replacing mysql in popular linux distributions
What do you dislike?
aria still seems to need more work. overall probably still playing catch-up to postgres but can get there
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
worked on a project in past job as both developer and administrator, to migrate from informix to mysql, then to mariadb under linux. This saved thousands of dollars on licensing fees for informix and unix and eventually resulted in a more stable database for the business application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are familiar with mysql, switching to mariadb should be quite easy. If it doesn't quite match your needs the source is available and you can modify things as needed. I was already familiar with the sources under mysql; mysys, sql, myisam, etc., and the work done there mapped across quite nicely to maria (none would have been needed if I had used the handler interface, but I had used the myisam storage engine directly)