Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ownCloud - File Sync and Share Server on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

166 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Consumer Goods

I like ownCloud, self hosted on my own server.

  • June 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's fast, simple to use, and easy to install.
What do you dislike?
nothing, everything works fine, the dashboard is clearly arranged.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've got my own cloud, on my own server, and I could save my files on my personal system.


    Computer Networking

Owncloud perfect inhouse cloud

  • May 31, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
No license costs, easy to install. on premise use
What do you dislike?
Updatefrequency is very slow, not a good publich support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Distribution of large files
Recommendations to others considering the product:
look for a partner


    Sunil V.

A superb unit for secured content Sharing

  • May 29, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature that this is secure and you can run it on your intranet.
What do you dislike?
GUI should be more user-friendly. more improvements towards the android app also required. spreadsheet & PowerPoint presentation support should be there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Intranet-based content sharing is more secure and also cost-effective .you can assign user based quota. if your intranet is inside the secure zone and behind the DMZ zone i.e. people are not allowed to use the internet-based application, Owncloud can remove your sharing and collaboration restrictions.
More of a file-sharing without restriction and without compromising security.


    Mihir M.

own cloud is futuritic cloud computing software for discerning customer

  • May 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
cloud computing features memory storage speed efficiancy and downloads on the cloud
What do you dislike?
nothing needs to improve storage space and speedy downloads
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
using cloud storage for company needs very effectively and efficiently and my client has benifited most over last 3 years


    Hannah B.

Owncloud is an efficient way to transfer documents

  • April 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's simple, and allows users to create as many categories and subfolders as is necessary to keep things organized. It was also pretty fast, and the upload speed was consistent. I appreciated that it was pretty instant.
What do you dislike?
There were several instances where files didn't save correctly, were deleted, or were lost inadvertently. This was frustrating, but not a big deal in the big picture.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My team and I are able to share large amounts of files (in the 1000's) with another team overseas pretty flawlessly. It's been particularly helpful in this time of the pandemic.


    Aashish P.

Great tool for sharing files

  • April 17, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is best to synchronize files, contacts, and calendars. We can easily share the files in few seconds. It is a browser-based application with rich features. It is open-source, and we do not need an external hosting service.
What do you dislike?
The UI is a little outdated now. The usage on server seemed quite large compared to others.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use OwnCloud to share work with clients. Using OwnCloud meant we could host the files on our own server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's ideally suited for companies where customers and clients are constantly sharing files.


    Roswall R.

Share data

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) Open source platform
2) Share confidential, encrypted data
3) Digital collaboration
4) Amazon S3 warehouse
What do you dislike?
1) Integrate cloud access
2) Customize
3) Third-party software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GNU Linux Server system, JavaScript, and PHP. Encrypted file sharing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Data control, system and file access


    Abhishek D.

Use it once and you will forget Dropbox. ;)

  • April 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simply everything.
I love the External storage option available in the App, where we can mount storages from Amazon S3, Dropbox, MS Sharepoint etc and access them from one single platform instead of accessing from their respective platforms.
Another feature I like is the Virtual File Feature which cuts the cost by a good chunk.
The other things I like are Encryption and the AntiVirus features available in the app making my files extremely safe and secure.
What do you dislike?
The lack of knowledge base that is available on the web is what I dislike.
Whenever I have some custom requirement I have to contact the support team and get it done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. File Sharing.
2. Saving up on Disk utilization on loca hard drives.
3. Since the files are on ownCloud they are accessible universally.
4. Cheaper as compared to other Cloud base storage providers in market.


    Legal Services

A useful tool

  • April 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It provides a convenient way to create a private cloud with some interesting features like carddav and caldav.
What do you dislike?
Maintenance and a smooth installation of the software is not easy for people without technical background. It requires some knowledge on the functioning of the server (which might not be easy in a shared hosting).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My main driver was to setup a carddav server that would not need to rely on any third parties.
I also like the chance to have a small, private cloud to use with certain applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider the time required to manage a self-owned-cloud.


    Игорь .

ownCloud - a great solution for free & convenient fileserver

  • March 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux origin, free & cross platforming solution, support of JavaScript, PHP, Open ID & LDAP. For example, using the free OwnCloud project, the user through the web browser interface can then perform: creating accounts with different user rights; adding, moving or deleting files in your storage; perform file access control, including distribution over the network; convenient web interface & support of mobile clients; API; streaming music; work with the calendar, contacts, bookmarks; possibility to create several hyperlinks on the flight, and even to the same files with different rights. Support of encryption & different protocols (webDAV, CalDav, sshfs etc.)
What do you dislike?
During the usage of this software at the different systems we have faced with the following issues:
for XFCE users on Linux mint we have seen periodical problems with Cyrillic symbols in folder names,
if this solution is used with VPN there are several potential issues, such as problem of synchronizing the contacts & calendars. When automatically synchronizing files to the cloud, I do not like the fact that every new directory with a file found is suggested to be added to the synchronization. You cannot ask one and no longer ask about others.
As it is a free solution - there is certainly not the same level of support as in the paid solutions)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were managed to make a network file share server for the customers , partners and internal users. Our partners were able to get the newest versions of necessary files automatically distributed online. Our customers were able to share their documents in a quick & convenient way, and out customers obtained an addition source for getting necessary files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good solution if you have time and skills or a responsible person to maintain & support it.