Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ownCloud - File Sync and Share Server on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

179 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Martin M.

Powerful open-source document server / sharing platform that gets better with each release

  • April 08, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's open source, you can install the community version on your own server or VPS without any payment and manage it by yourself, or pay the commercial version with professional support. The main feature is saving files, sharing with others in the ownCloud and outside, similar to Dropbox or GoogleDrive. The sync client got massive improvements recently so now on Windows sharing via ownCloud can be performed from Windows Explorer easily, multiple accounts can be synced simultaneously, and selective sync can be enabled. Files are easily accessible also through a mobile apps on Android or iOS. The additional features of photo gallery, CalDAV calendars and CardDAV contacts are nice and can be synced with Mozilla Thunderbird/Lightning, iPhone etc.
What do you dislike?
In the past the server and client had several bugs some of them critical (data corruption / loss). The user does not care that some of these critical bugs were due to upstream libraries such as Qt, when data corruption/loss occurs it's a reason to migrate to a completely different solution that is more reliable. The reliability seem to improve much recently but still I feel as the admin that there are rough edges and each update of client and server could trigger a new bug or regression that was not discovered before release.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our whole company migrated to ownCloud file saving, sharing across devices and users from no system before (just plain email attachments). Implementing ownCloud and sharing folders such as graphics files, documents etc was therefore a huge improvement. THe collaboration by having up-to-date files improved a lot.
The ability to add dozens of users such as external and part-time workers without the need to pay for each user some license gradually compensates for the high initial installation and implementation costs, as well as debugging and communication with the developers when the critical bugs were triggered and had had to be resolved quickly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider other commercial options, don't go to ownCloud blindly. ownCloud is not "free", you have to spend some hours setting it up and educatiing users how to use it, and do troubleshooting when something does not work as expected.

Configure the server you run ownCloud on proplerly beforehand, check errors in logs, warnings in owncloud administration, install proper caching packages, etc.
Install only plugins you really need and that are stable enough. Consider how to deploy clients on client computers. If using other systems consider using ownCloud linked to LDAP / AD / other single-sign on. Be very careful before upgrading ownCloud server to a new major version, if using VPS consider creating a clone of the VPS and test whole upgrade process beforehand on a testing environment forked from your real installation. If using community edition subscribe to mailing lists of ownCloud and watch issues (bugs) on GitHub for new major versions before considering the upgrade.


    Online Media

Stability and easy access

  • March 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apps, you can develop an apps or install it easily.
At the same time there are many integration to other services and mobile and os support natively.
Respect to google or dropbox use standard protocol like webdav, caldav and carddav that are supported in many software without install anything else.
What do you dislike?
The changelog is available lately, they announce a new version without a changelog.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cloud in my agency with an hosting not expensive you can have everything by owncloud and self managed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose a good hosting and check all the apps that you need


    Carlos F.

Robust and efficient

  • February 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is a good software to have a online repository to your own files
What do you dislike?
The possibility to block some clients to delete or update the files
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use it to see online the company files. Also We backup the owncloud files in another server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be careful if someone dele a file. It is better to preserve a daily backup in another server


    Vinicius L.

Excellent solution to storage and share files and build your private environment

  • February 05, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface has an excelent usability. The software is very easy to install and to update. You can really deploy in a few minutes. Is also possible to use several storage strategies, such as FTP, local storage, NFS, etc.
The documentation is very helpful and detailed, since installing till managing. There is also an owncloud community to help, solve doubts and to contribute to open source projects.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there are some problems with file uploads, mainly if is a big file. If you have slow connection, you can also have some problems when listing files.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
File storage for final users and content sharing among internal and external users.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When installing, you need to do a lot of tests to make sure that file uploads are working correctly using the web interface or client apps.


    Aryan B.

Useful for small business and groups

  • January 21, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You could add plugin to check mail or add note. It is beautiful and easy to use.
What do you dislike?
All request are ajax and when you use it over slow internet it cause to a lot of problems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
File cloud storage for small business.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Configure other storage as ownCloud and set quota limit for all users.


    Etienne B.

Works well, but isn't fast

  • January 16, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to setup, and has a client for Linux and Android (and more, but I just use these).
Has a lot of plugins.
Desktop-client is not noticeably slow.
What do you dislike?
Vagueness between Community Edition and Enterprise Edition.
The (web-)interface is very slow (and I have put serious efforts into making it faster). This is in the order of 5-10 seconds for the fully loading of a single page. (a page with only 3 folders in it)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Synchronizing data between devices, and sharing between multiple accounts.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ask yourself: is my server powerful enough to run ownCloud? If it's ARM-powered, than the answer is often "no".


    Blagovest P.

I've been using it from the beginning of the project

  • December 10, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
My favorite feature is the possibility to share my files across all of the machines I use and my own hosted server.
What do you dislike?
The stability and security are sometimes problematic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My biggest OwnCloud instance is with about 500+ users. The consumers are really satisfied. Especially these which are working in remote/home offices.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Owncloud is a perfect software but keep one thing in mind - It's in PHP. So, update it regularly.


    Eric V.

Simple to manage, does what I need

  • October 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simple to install and to admin. Installed in minutes
What do you dislike?
I would like to have ported on Informix to have great stability
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I travel a lot. I need to access my docs from anywhere at anytime.
With Owncloud, I choose where I store my data and I can access it from anywhere


    Cole M.

Great service for some specific needs

  • April 18, 2013
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
You have complete control. You host it on your own server (or can pay them to host as well) and control every aspect of access to your data. You can create more users, change permissions, add new apps to extend functionality, really anything you can think of - they have an app for.
What do you dislike?
Some of it seems a little clunky. I am used to Dropbox and ownCloud's UI isn't as polished. The built in music streaming is an amazing feature - but it is a bit slow/clunky interface.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to have a bunch of people to have access with different levels of access to files and data - this is the best option. Really fast to setup, even on a command-line Linux server.