Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ownCloud - File Sync and Share Server on Ubuntu 18.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 18.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

180 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Roswall R.

Share data

  • April 14, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1) Open source platform
2) Share confidential, encrypted data
3) Digital collaboration
4) Amazon S3 warehouse
What do you dislike?
1) Integrate cloud access
2) Customize
3) Third-party software
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
GNU Linux Server system, JavaScript, and PHP. Encrypted file sharing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Data control, system and file access


    Abhishek D.

Use it once and you will forget Dropbox. ;)

  • April 07, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simply everything.
I love the External storage option available in the App, where we can mount storages from Amazon S3, Dropbox, MS Sharepoint etc and access them from one single platform instead of accessing from their respective platforms.
Another feature I like is the Virtual File Feature which cuts the cost by a good chunk.
The other things I like are Encryption and the AntiVirus features available in the app making my files extremely safe and secure.
What do you dislike?
The lack of knowledge base that is available on the web is what I dislike.
Whenever I have some custom requirement I have to contact the support team and get it done.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1. File Sharing.
2. Saving up on Disk utilization on loca hard drives.
3. Since the files are on ownCloud they are accessible universally.
4. Cheaper as compared to other Cloud base storage providers in market.


    Legal Services

A useful tool

  • April 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It provides a convenient way to create a private cloud with some interesting features like carddav and caldav.
What do you dislike?
Maintenance and a smooth installation of the software is not easy for people without technical background. It requires some knowledge on the functioning of the server (which might not be easy in a shared hosting).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My main driver was to setup a carddav server that would not need to rely on any third parties.
I also like the chance to have a small, private cloud to use with certain applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Consider the time required to manage a self-owned-cloud.


    Игорь .

ownCloud - a great solution for free & convenient fileserver

  • March 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Linux origin, free & cross platforming solution, support of JavaScript, PHP, Open ID & LDAP. For example, using the free OwnCloud project, the user through the web browser interface can then perform: creating accounts with different user rights; adding, moving or deleting files in your storage; perform file access control, including distribution over the network; convenient web interface & support of mobile clients; API; streaming music; work with the calendar, contacts, bookmarks; possibility to create several hyperlinks on the flight, and even to the same files with different rights. Support of encryption & different protocols (webDAV, CalDav, sshfs etc.)
What do you dislike?
During the usage of this software at the different systems we have faced with the following issues:
for XFCE users on Linux mint we have seen periodical problems with Cyrillic symbols in folder names,
if this solution is used with VPN there are several potential issues, such as problem of synchronizing the contacts & calendars. When automatically synchronizing files to the cloud, I do not like the fact that every new directory with a file found is suggested to be added to the synchronization. You cannot ask one and no longer ask about others.
As it is a free solution - there is certainly not the same level of support as in the paid solutions)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were managed to make a network file share server for the customers , partners and internal users. Our partners were able to get the newest versions of necessary files automatically distributed online. Our customers were able to share their documents in a quick & convenient way, and out customers obtained an addition source for getting necessary files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good solution if you have time and skills or a responsible person to maintain & support it.


    Bimalendra H.

Opensource file sharing and storage platform but not available for free

  • February 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OwnCloud has a wonderful storage mechanism where users can create various folders and subfolders to help maintain files and documents in place. Furthermore, documents can be uploaded and downloaded with incredible ease.
What do you dislike?
Since it is a self-hosted system, the overall infrastructure creation, deployment, update and security could always be an issue. The missing thing is that there is no mechanism in the interface to back up our business's essential files and documents.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OwnCloud is an ideal cloud storage and file-sharing software solution for companies like ours that want our self-hosted cloud storage. This dedicated system enables users to manage their information completely with various security features.


    Accounting

Great Cloud !

  • January 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
no error in the display of the icon on the systray
- occupies only 20-22 MB depending on the task manager "System Monitor".
What do you dislike?
Owncloud, because of its infrastructure, will always be less powerful than Seafile (but more versatile), but if you only have small folders (say <<1GB) to synchronize, the difference shouldn't be too noticeable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been using it with my own server for many months, everything is fine, even to synchronize large directories; I have 4 collections, so 4 different synchronized directories, of 17 GB, 9 GB, 3 GB and 5 MB.


    Anton T.

Secure media storage

  • December 25, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Self-hosted, easy to use, multi platform and free for unlimited users
What do you dislike?
Flexibility for client installation, need technical setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Private data storage, company file sharing
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This self-hosted media storage is secure, encrypted with modern technology, easy to use both for admins and users.


    Gaurav J.

Best cloud creation tool

  • December 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best cloud creation platform for storage and also it has amazing features plus it is open source.
What do you dislike?
No dislike as of now for the software as it fulfils all my requirements.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using it for creation of my personal storage cloud and for my company.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best self cloud creation tool.


    Gabriel P.

Good for storing your files in the cloud

  • December 01, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The interface is very intuitive and looks a lot like an operating system
What do you dislike?
sometimes i found the service unavailable and had to use other methods to access my files
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its easier when you dont need to carry a pen drive with you all the time to access your data


    Marcello L.

Perfect substitute for Dropbox, to keep your privacy and have unlimited space.

  • November 19, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that you can personalize the cloud space as you like. The available space is dependent on your server space, that makes it much more convenient and versatile than other cloud solution.
Moreover you can be sure that your data is not used by big corporation for data mining.
The client software is also available for all common platforms.
What do you dislike?
basically nothing, owncloud - both server and client - work pretty good.
I occasionally had some problems updating the software, though I do not know exactly whether it was a problem of the server (configuration) or the update was not well prepared.
The only downside is that some other software that support cloud access, do not always support owncloud. Though this is not owncloud fault, it can be a limitation for some.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I managed to have a centralized cloud system taking advantage of webserver. I can have endless users accessing the cloud and space can managed internally.
Moneywise is convenient, as I only have to pay the webserver, the owncloud software is free.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I can recommend it to everyone who need a cloud service more flexible (and cheap) than common commercial solutions.
You do need some administration skills to install and administrate the server software.