Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

MariaDB 10 With CentOS Stream

Cognosys Inc. | 21.09.24

Linux/Unix, CentOS 21.09.24 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

180 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jorge S.

Great database to use for java developers

  • July 03, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's free and open source so I don't have to worry about licenses or legal troubles for me or my company when I build a java app with this database integrated as a data backend. It's 99% like MySQL except for little details and that is not owned by Oracle.
What do you dislike?
It's 99% like MySQL but that little 1% sometimes causes compatibility issues when migrating from MySQL to MariaDB.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Bundling the server side of the applications I build with MariaDB is an easy and safe way to make sure everything will work as intended.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Migrating from MySQL is easy in almost all instances and it's worth it 100% of the time


    Computer Networking

Used to run a mysql server on raspberrypi servers.

  • July 02, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open software readily available and easy to install. Quick setup and allows work to progress quickly and efficiently with minimal waiting/downtime.
What do you dislike?
Must be installed in a linux terminal. Lacks GUI interface as far as I'm aware to install in desktop linux environment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Quick database that integrates easily with a popular database schema.


    Computer Software

MariaDB - Review

  • June 27, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is a very simple and efficient database for any size of organizations. It's backups are very easy to handle.
What do you dislike?
The only problem with MariaDB is it's configuration. But there is well defined documentation for
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MariaDB offers stable and useful services for managing data. It uses simple SQL queries.


    Nina B.

Easy to use sql database

  • June 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the support AWS provides for it and that it’s hosted in the cloud vs my server. Easy to integrate with other aws services.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really, it’s been a great experience
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting SQL databases on ec2
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do a demo


    Conor C.

Very stable with excellent docs and legacy support

  • June 26, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The online docs are excellent, far better than mySQL.
What do you dislike?
Nothing, when compared to mysql. It is rather retro compared to other RDMS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Multi-tenant hosting without difficulty.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Switching from mysql is a good idea


    Juan F.

MariaDB is guaranteed solidity

  • June 24, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB offers stability and is open source, which minimizes costs. The important thing is that it is supported on a large platform of users who frequently publish very useful solutions. As for its configuration, it is very basic and does not need a lot of computer resources. I like the modification in terms of the structure of the table in reference to MySQL.
What do you dislike?
I think the debugging tool fails sometimes, because it does not analyze the missing indexes. I also found some flaws in the replication of the database.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I think MariaDB has given us security, because security patches are obtained frequently. Migration has never been so easy and usually has a good performance. Previously we used MySQL and the security versions were slow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a great project and is supported in a large community of users. It is fast and works perfectly with a large amount of data. Also security is guaranteed.


    Deepika R.

It is one of the most poweful database server made by the original developers of sql

  • June 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It helps in turning out data into structured information in a wide array of applications ranging from banking to the websites
What do you dislike?
Unlike dislikes, it plays a greater role in enhancing drop in replacement of my SQL
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It posses the benefits of fast usage also scalable and robust with the rich ecosystem
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is an open source software and a relational database which provides SQL interface for accessing data


    Medical Devices

Senior Software engineer

  • May 28, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility of connection pools with shared memory or sockets. I also like the fact that MariaDB follows closely behind MySQL.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I dislike. I like all of it. It is free, and open source. What is not to like?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This is a great relational database that can be used for anything where data relates to it. It is fast, user friendly, and has a large amount of use and followers. The documentation is great.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Look at the advantages and disadvantages between this and other databases to see if it works for your organization.


    Eleazar G.

More intuitive and effective than MySQL

  • May 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
MariaDB is a great solution for partitioning, as implementation feels solid and fluid. Something I really like is that it always stays updated, as new releases for security patches are launched monthly, keeping MariaDB always on top in security matters. MariaDB definitely has some advantages over MySQL. The one I highlight the most are the Alert Table queries, as in MariaDB you’re able to check the progress in a process list, so you can always keep a visual track in the advances. This can’t be done with MySQL.
What do you dislike?
In order to run MariaDB properly, you must a have a decent hardware, otherwise, writes may be effected and you may experience some troubles. Also, the compatibility with MySQL isn’t always happening, as the newer versions of MySQL don’t integrate well with MariaDB. You have to make some internal work in order to make this integration possible.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
MariaDB is used by our company internally for many applications. The infrastructure team is in charge of using the database for setting up some management tools. This data helps when it comes to report to our customers, as well as keeping some metadata for analytical purposes. The integration with Galera gives this solution a great spot in availability.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MariaDB is a great option for companies or personals wanting to work with open source software that demands active clusters. If you are a MySQL user, MariaDB integrates with MySQL so you can export your database from one to another. Adaption from one platform to another will be easy, as MySQL and MariaDB share similar interfaces, libraries, APIs and commands. However, consider you must have a great hardware in order to run MariaDB.


    Andrew F.

MariaDB is a great MySQL alternitve intergated well with Debian

  • May 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The fact that it is interrogated with the lamp server package group on the Debian install is great! I can spin up a new server in a about and hour and my customers love it! It works almost perfectly like MySQL and is very easy to backup and maintain.
What do you dislike?
There is not much to dislike about MariaDB. There's nearly no learning curve from MySQL.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is just a great alternative to MySQL
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use PhPMyAdmin for a great experence