Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 10 for SUSE Linux Enterprise 15

Kurian | 10.0.2

Linux/Unix, SUSE 15 SP2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

90 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Tomcat

  • November 03, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is very simpe and light weight java server. Due to this it is very frequently used in microservice architecture.
Using Maven and spring DI we can get everything in Tomcat, which is there in application servers.
What do you dislike?
Not much to dislike but some times if we do redeployment again and again then catch (work) folder didn't clear.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Following problems we solving using Tomcat:
1. Deploying Java applications.
2. Breaking monolithic application into small java applications.
3. dockerizing those application for microservice architecture.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very simple to use and light weight java server for J2EE applications.


    SREE VISWENDRA NATH G.

Best server program to deploy java servlets and jsp pages

  • October 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The server is implemented efficiently to cope up with the high request rate. It is used to deploy java servlets and JSP pages which are implemented in most powerful language JAVA. We can integrate this server with eclipse software which provides a ton of features for developers when working with large scale projects. Tomcat server is absolutely free of cost and open-source software.
What do you dislike?
The performance, ease of access and maintaining the server is very handy. The machine slows down a bit when working with huge request rate.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I learned to host my website via the tomcat server using the best object-oriented language JAVA. This is very easy to integrate with the Eclipse software which operates very well for a developer.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good server solution when it comes to managing a web application.


    Education Management

Excellent server to work with java applications.....

  • October 04, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this application because it is very easy to install and run.This application is very useful to run your java enterprise applications which specifies java Servlets, JSP and so on.This is very easy to create a dynamic web project and run by server.it also supports to Eclipse application.It is very useful as it is free of cost.you can easily start the server and run your html pages in chrome.
What do you dislike?
I would like almost every feature given in this application but sometimes it may be difficult to open our project from the files which we have created for different projects.It is not much supportive to to run a large web based application.sometimes it faces performance issues also.sometimes the documentations provided may not be easy to understand but it helps a lot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is very useful and it is free of cost,this server is very effective to work with.by integrating this application with eclipse we can develop our own projects.but every time we modify a file in our project the server should be restarted and it is not simple for big projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this application to all other java developers to use this tomcat server and run your applications successfully.as it is an open source it is totally free of cost.I would say it is very useful to students who develops enterprise applications.it is very simple to use and the interface is very good.


    Dinusha S.

Apache Tomcat is best

  • September 23, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is incredibly lightweight. And we do not need to spend more time and effort to install it, because it just needs to simply download and run. Also, it is a very flexible and open source. Therefore, we can make simple changes according to our requirements. Then, another advantage I identified is, we can have multiple applications running too in parallel with Tomcat. Also, it has good community support too.
What do you dislike?
However, when we run a large web-based application with Tomcat, its performances are not in that standard which I mentioned above. Actually, Tomcat is not suitable to run large web-based java applications. And I propose that the security features of Tomcat should be enhanced furthermore. It is also a problem work with a development group because Tomcat allows anyone to do the modification in the configuration.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache Tomcat is a server to run Java-based applications. My experience with Tomcat is very positive and I have used it for 5 years or more. And also it is one of the most popular sever for running java applications according to statistics.Because it is open-source and very easy to use and configure when deploying any Java web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend this software for who are developing Java web applications.


    Will H.

Good open-source web application server

  • September 19, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat is an open-source and simple tool to configure webserver. It is an extremely lightweight and highly flexible tool. Tomcat usually takes 3-4 mins for a server to start a fully-fledged website. This helps us to allocate unnecessary elements of the system. One of the great advantages is that We can have multiple applications running too in parallel. Apache Tomcat is very stable and also it has good community support.
What do you dislike?
Documentation about Tomcat should be improved and structured more to learn beginners. Sometimes, Apache tomcat crashes unexpectedly and taking a long time to begin services.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Tomcat to deploy our web applications.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can deploy your web application with tomcat very easily if you know JAVA language very well. Install and use integrated with cloud and VM environments.


    Information Technology and Services

Tomcat in prod

  • August 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
i like the lightweight of tomcat and performance in containers
What do you dislike?
i dont like the its configuration , it could be sometimes not straighforward
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
serving our web app in cloud, the benfits of HA web server


    yash A.

Apache server

  • July 31, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and open source software.
It is use for load the java code on server.
What do you dislike?
I am much familiar with this software,and till now i did not face any problem
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Jsp,servlet,java EE all are work on tomcat apache,from starting to till now i am using this software.


    Quang Hung V.

Excelled server for java web based applications.

  • July 09, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is easy to use, it does not require any installation or configuration to get started and simple to deploy your war file. Tomcat is lightweight but it supports almost feature you need for a web application server including datasource configuration, connection pool, mutual auth, https enforce and thread pool.
we could setup Tomcat as the cluster in the produciton environment or embed into almost IDE in the development environment.
Tomcat provides a rich API set, allow us to deploy and configure our application from the command line
What do you dislike?
Tomcat support for the cluster is limit and its default log just have a limit feature
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Tomcat as our Application server in our project, we embed Tomcat into Eclipse so our developer could quickly verify their code and our DevOps pipeline is integrated with Tomcat to automate deploy new code to Test/UAT environment
Our production environment use the Tomcat server which configured with Connection Pool, Mutual Auth and https to provide high performance and security
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is the best choice for Java Web application in middle or small size but if your application is complex you need to look to other servers which have strong support for cluster


    Hung V.

Lightweight and effective J2EE server

  • April 29, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat is lightweight and easy to configure, it does not any installation, just download and run, It could be embedded in almost IDE such as Eclipse, IntelliJ...
Tomcat provides a list of APIs which allow triggering to stop, start, deploy ... the command from the command line or build tool Maven or Ant
What do you dislike?
Tomcat only support Jar and War format, it do no support EJB container. Tomcat UI is quite poor and lack feature
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use Tomcat as our Application server in our application on all environment, from dev, test to production, we also integrate Tomcat with Maven and Jenkins which allow CICD pipeline to build.
Our application with Java, Eclipse, MySQL, Maven and Spring using Tomcat and it able to embedded Tomcat in Eclipse, configure Database connection pool, enforce HTTPS and configure Log configuration.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is excellent for small or middle size application which only needs servlet container if you want EJB container you should look to other option


    Adolfo R.

Server to deploy enterprise JAVA applications

  • April 18, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It allows the deployment of Rest Full applications and services and I like it because it is multiplatform
What do you dislike?
The configuration of JVM memory since not properly configure the applications can fall
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Implementation of web services Rest Full
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Perform local implementation of Tomcat, also validate another option such as Glassfish before deploying the application server in real environment