Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian 10 (ARM) (Debian Buster) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210405

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

75 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Hospitality

Debian rocks

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's easy to install, has a smaller footprint for lightweight applications, easy to administer. A
What do you dislike?
In my experience, you do need a little more low level knowledge of Linux, but that's not too bad.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it for a POS kiosk I developed. It does everything that Windows does with a much lower cost of acquisition.


    Arham T.

Debian gives you complete control over usage

  • November 11, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its scalability
Its security
Comprehensive installer
Largest number of packages installed
Its install with only free software
Customize
Large community support
Debian is stable and secure
Debian is desktop agnostic
Debian is one of the best Linux distros around
You want to be close to the source
What do you dislike?
Debian software not always up to date
No standard edition
Limited market shares
Difficult to troubleshoot
Unsupported hardware
It is extremely popular os for hackers
Hard learning curve
No hibernation
Poor support for games
No unified installer
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I switched to the fastest repository
Add contrib and non free repository
Install micro code
Install build essential
Install synaptic
Easily install software my simply typing one or two command
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Debian provide configuration for every package as well as regular security updates during the packages it is easy to keey operating system upgrade, you can install newer software version by using the testing or unstable release also Debian is ideal for servers, Rolling release option is available debian also support many of the pc architecture it don't require strong internet connection


    Oil & Energy

Debian is my favorite Linux Distribution

  • November 09, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that the distribution releases come out when they are ready which makes them more stable and dependable for longer periods of time. Also, Debian works as simple desktop OS all the way up to Server-level platforms. In general, it's the most flexible Linux distribution I've ever used.
What do you dislike?
On the other hand, the slower release schedule means that some components can be out of date, and depending upon how mission criticial a particular host needs to be, this can be a problem. There are, of course, other options to updating modules when necessary.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I worked in a large Data Center with literally thousands of compute and storage nodes. The fact that Debian is free and flexible enough to customize for every type of host we had was by far the most significant benefit from both a cost basis as well as ease of System Administration.


    Ahmed S.

Debian Os

  • October 30, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Memory Management is very good in Debian and it's easy to use.
Security with ufw or firewalld to secure your server.
Process management is great you can easily manage it.
Installation is very easy and you can configure everything manual or automatic.
What do you dislike?
Resources Utilisation is not good and you need to take care of it .
You can only install free software in debian.
Updates are not the best thing in debian.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Security , I was searching about secure os to install it in servera and I used it.


    Aman R.

Debian: A CLI Based OS

  • October 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the most it is open source and is free for all.
What do you dislike?
There is no GUI which makes sometimes simple things really hard.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used Debian as a backed computer for my website.


    Brandon K.

Linux Distro as Windows Alternative

  • September 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
This is a great and free linux distro for those times you want to use linux instead of windows but do not want to Ubuntu
What do you dislike?
Not able to easily run Windows software without some kind of app
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
This used as an free alternative to Windows OS and is great for computers that are running older hardware for donation computers to help families one computer at a time.


    Ushan Sameera W.

An Ubuntu OS that consume low power

  • September 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The Upgradability. It can upgrade to newest version with bug fixed versions.
What do you dislike?
This OS is not always up-to-date. Thus you have to only install free-ware (open source free softwares)
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Power consumption significantly reduced while compared with other Operating Systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a better OS with low power consumption while compared with other Operating Systems.


    Phil C.

Software depends on community and the other way around

  • September 08, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Community model validated over years, it's here to stay
What do you dislike?
Contribution procedures can be longer than they should...
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Debian is a good platform to build long-term products on, because of its security policy. It can be used also on servers or desktop but I believe it's obvious.
The platform itself is a good trade-off between customization and general purposes functionalities.
Architectures support make it a good reference platform to be used as reference and validate some features too.
Note to mention that Debian core is used in many other derivative projects like Ubuntu, RaspberrypiOS, but it can be also used for point of convergence of downstream contributions.
My latest achievement with Debian is a DIY pinball simulator as explained at https://purl.org/rzr/pinball
I've been contributing to some packages too : https://qa.debian.org/developer.php?login=rzr@users.sf.net
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to contribute as soon as you can it will be a good investment, start by joining a team for instance


    Mani K.

The best universal Free and Open Source OS

  • September 04, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the simplicity and ease of use of a Debian system. Debian organization is highly committed to FOSS and has strict policies governing its usage. It is essential from a software developer's point of view as we tend to use software that gives complete control over its usage. Debian OS is also highly committed to stability and security.
What do you dislike?
The initial learning curve required to understand the Debian OS is high. I had spent a significant amount of time knowing how to use a Debian system. Diagnosing issues with the package installations and system upgrades were absolute hell.
But with time and effort to learn and understand the Debian OS and its software components has made it easy, and now I am fluent with Debian system usage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Debian OS for my system and also with my work laptop. It is easy and convenient to work with software that comes with Debian OS. I am a professional software developer, so all the tools required, such as a C and C++ compiler, diff, git, valgrind, etc., are easily available in my Debian system. It is easy to install, remove and upgrade packages in Debian using the APT tool.


    Damián V.

Incredible OS

  • August 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Security and stability offered by the system.
What do you dislike?
Difficult to setup by newbies in the area.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using the system in almost all of my servers. Stability is incredible.