Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Debian 10 (ARM) (Debian Buster) with Support by Supported Images

Supported Images | 20210405

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

71 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    ranjit m.

Debian a Linux OS

  • July 30, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Most interesting thing about Debian is more stable and secured your system from malware. even it detects external devices whether they affected by virus or not. so file crashing is avoided. as in Windows affected devices may affect internal files also. Recovery doesn't take too much time once it get interrupted. due to stability and more secured function user for server handling. Not a big deal to use it. Thousand of applications are run without any bug.
What do you dislike?
graphical interface is not like Windows so its use by only official workers who are a part of something, Its not that much interesting for those who are running OS for gaming and who works with desktop packages. finding of Devloper packages gives error sometimes while using terminal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As a official task are has to be more secured which may get affected in Windows so to avoid this we are using Debian in some of our Desktop machine. working on it. with lots of applications. as a secured storage saving files on it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use it for machine with lower specification want a security from malware withuo


    Gabriel H.

Stable, safe and robust operating system.

  • July 27, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
With Debian I have a very well developed and stable Linux Operating System, I can program and adapt my projects very well with this system. Debian is the most stable system that Linux has, with a very large community of experts who constantly give updates and improvements.

Debian allows me to have many options, I can use it to control networks, servers, and personal computers, with an easy, fast and secure desktop.
What do you dislike?
Debian is a very advanced system but difficult to configure, it is difficult for new users in the Linux world to enter with this large distribution, many programs must be installed separately for proper operation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have Debian installed on my personal PC, there I can have everything in one place, create softwares, modify Debian to my needs, control networks of my work site and have server options and everything from an operating system, with its graphical interface and Desktop I can surf the internet very well and do many things with a single Operating System on my PC.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Debian to users with experience in programming and Free Software, it is a very robust system but complex in many things.
With Debian you can have a virus-free personal PC and configure networks with server programs, all from the same Operating System.


    Armando G.

Debian, Robust and safe

  • July 10, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The "Debian" operating system is robust, powerful and stable free software that guarantees the applications installed on this platform work optimally and correctly. Its documentation and the post of help are very varied on the internet and it has command like MAN that offers the syntax of all the commands of the operating system by the console .. Actually have an operating system that does not generate the concerns of its operation and freedom of viruses is a minor burden for the user that increases their productivity.

Abrir en Google Traductor
What do you dislike?
What I dislike is how difficult it is to install some applications because of the dependencies that are not installed in the system. So you spend time installing and downloading internet Internet programs and install it, where sometimes the dependencies installed depend on others and so on. Another of the negative aspects of debian is its graphic interface which is very elementary and unattractive to end users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Among the benefits of debian for the institute, is that it increased the speed of the personal computers to work with the program tools, since it does not require a powerful hardware to work with Debian. The other beneficial aspect is that with linux, computer viruses are null and this guarantees the integrity of the files and minimizes the loss of information
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If I would recommend Debian for those companies with obsolete equipment, with few resources to buy software licenses, where their technical service department is limited in number of workers and want to increase the productivity of their workers. I would also recommend it to install all the network services such as Internet Servers, Web Services, IP assignment, mail servers among others


    Yeraldin N.

Debian

  • July 06, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I love about Debian, is that the virus problem does not exist, I have more than 3 years of experience, working almost daily with Debian. I have not found a file that can not be read or manipulated even if it has a computer virus. Regardless of whether I have a virus file because I have been working on Windows, only this detail makes me want to Debian. In my case I consider myself a programmer who loves to do my processes and not use the routines already done, with debian I can program my routines and tasks for the operating system, I can modify the existing ones to adapt them to my needs
It is ideal for those who perform administration services, such as IP allocation, user license management, web services, database services, among others.
For these reasons and many more I love Debian.
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about Debian is the installation of its packages, some programs to install them must be an expert, since it has many dependency problems installed, which causes the person in charge of the installation of the programs to lose a large amount of productive time, trying to execute a program by locating each unit separately and installing it. Another aspect that I do not like is that its graphic interface is very unattractive, if I have already worked with Windows or Mac, although in the latest versions it has improved, but nowadays it is still unattractive, which makes the desktop worker feel uncomfortable Another aspect, although it could be seen as an advantage, they updated their systems and programs compatible with Debian almost daily, but this forces the technicians to update each command so that their programs are more efficient and consume productive time. work
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is to be able to efficiently use the computers of the Ministry since most of them have an outdated hardware configuration, Pentium IV, core-duo. Debian allows machines to be used to perform desktop jobs, such as working with text editors and spreadsheets efficiently and quickly.
For the administration of the operating system service, Debian makes it very easy for the people in charge of those tasks, facilitating the proper use of the Ministry's information platform.
Another aspect that generates benefits is that the software is free and there are no limits for the user to use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend it for those organizations whose computers have hardware configurations with few resources or obsolete that generate problems for users to run office programs and other installed software. Also for those companies that want to install and manage their IP allocation services, manage their web domain, control the security of their users, offer database services, among others. I would also recommend it Also for those companies that want to save money, in not buying licenses and that allows you to have no user limitations to use the operating system


    Sagar P.

Amazing all purpose operating system

  • July 04, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It runs very well and with little resource usage in all hardware and inside a VM. Amazing operating system for running all kind of scripts and simulating all kind of scenarios.
What do you dislike?
Many think that using Debian is hard, that's not true anymore, it is as easy to use as Windows or MacOSX.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I run it inside a VM to run linux programs in my macbook and in many servers to do bug simulation and troubleshooting.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's easy to use, we are not in 199x when using linux was hard, it's as easy to use as Windows or MacOSX


    Maria M.

Debian

  • June 12, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like about Debian is the security that my files do not get infected with viruses, or that the operating system is damaged, when it closes without running the process of closing the system. With the Windows 7 operating system, the machine became infected with viruses even if it had an antivirus installed, due to the speed with which it creates viruses. In Debian there is no virus and, although it can read a Pendrive file with a virus file, the operating system is not infected and its files are safe. Debian is very stable and even if the operating system is suddenly interrupted, when the machine is turned on, the system starts without any problem, without any type of system recovery.
What do you dislike?
What I do not like about Debian is its graphical interface compared to Windows or Mac, it is very rudimentary, not interesting for users who use the system to work with desktop packages and who call them interest in the graphics of games or programs. design. Other things that limit the use of debian is that although my functions are related to the technical service and the programming area, install a package, sometimes it is inconvenient for the issue of dependencies. In some cases, the installation of a program requires a lot of time and, sometimes, the software is not installed due to the dependencies that must be installed to execute the desired program.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The main benefit is the reduction of work motivated by the decrease in user requirements for the cause of computer viruses and the loss of information that causes the contamination of a data file. The percentage of formatting of the operating system and the reinstallation of software caused by the operating system damage due to failures of system shutdown or registry system defect that damage the Windows operating system also decreased. Another benefit is the increased speed of software processing compatible with debia, since the operating system does not consume as much RAM as other proprietary operating systems. They increased their processing capacity by running the different packages that are compatible with Debian.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend debian for those institutions that have computers with few processor resources and RAM, due to their ability to be faster when processing information with debian compatible packages, also for those companies that have many problems with the virus problem. I would also recommend it for its stability and excellent performance, with the presence of very few faults.


    George B.

Debian the most stable operating system based on Linux

  • May 24, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best thing about Debian is undoubtedly the philosophy of the operating system in which safety and stability prevail over all this is why developers often choose outdated versions of some applications that are considered safer and without bug known, this is why Debian is used especially in servers.

Another important aspect to choose Debian are its repositories in which we can find thousands of totally free software applications that prevent us from having to search for the software on the internet putting at risk the security of our equipment, this software available in the repositories is reviewed by a team specialized of people who collaborate with Debian.
What do you dislike?
The most important problem that most operating systems based on Linux have is that they can not use certain applications since they are only available in Windows operating systems, so in order to use it we must resort to application emulators and the configuration of these is not especially simple for ordinary users.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We chose Debian because we consider it important to work with stable and secure computers because we store sensitive information in our computers, we also looked for an operating system that would allow us to work continuously without problems of bugs in applications that would waste our time, in Debian we found the solution thanks to its application repository.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a stable operating system, free and without bugs to work Debian is undoubtedly the operating system that you must choose, it is also known to be a very safe operating system. I also recommend that before using it you can make sure that the applications you use are available in the repository.


    Louis H.

Debian, a great operating system for work

  • May 08, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
In my experience working with Debian the best thing has been its stability, while in Windows I suffer constantly problems with software that is sometimes incompatible and gives failures even reboots, in Debian I have seen the opposite.

What I like the most about Debian is how to install the applications, which do not need to be searched online, since they are installed from a repository using the command console or using the Marketplace graphically, where we can find thousands of software applications that have been tested by the community and by the Debian team to ensure that the software is free of malicious code and also works properly. I also liked that Debian is very customizable and through changes in the theme, fonts and icons we are able to obtain an operating system totally different from the one presented to us by default.
What do you dislike?
The only negative aspect that I have found in Debian is the initial learning curve that is required to make a professional use of the operating system, personally I think it takes time to be able to use this operating system professionally.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our company we use Debian mainly because we use software that only works under Linux efficiently, in Windows it is very unstable so we decided to use Debian. In my experience with Debian I have been able to verify its used not only for this software but in many other areas such as security and privacy, very important aspects in a work environment.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Debian is an operating system that I recommend mainly if you are looking for a secure environment and that is updated on a regular basis so that we have access to the latest versions of the software without risking the security of our computer and the network in which it is located.


    Education Management

Best Linux experience and performance

  • April 17, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
· A lot of Linux distributions are based on Debian (Ubuntu e.g.) so it exist a great bunch of packets perfectly suited for this distro.
· Good performance both in graphical and terminal enviroments (Lighter than Ubuntu, for example).
· Very easy to install.
What do you dislike?
· Maybe more difficult to start with than Ubuntu, because it dowsn't have "Store". Nevertheless, it is only a small effort to put all on the go.
· GUI is a bit "old fashioned" compared to Ubuntu, but easy to change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I've been using Debian as my standard testing Linux distribution for TCP/IP protocol stack behaviour and DNS, DHCP, LDAP, etc. server configuration. I realized this distro is perfectly suited for terminal usage, because all this tasks were done easily only on terminal.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If this is your first experience with Linux, maybe you should try Ubuntu first, it's easier to start with it. Well, of course you need to know if you want a Debian-based distro or a Red Hat one, but I suppose you have it chosen if you are reading this. Nowadays, from my point of view Debian is better than all of derived distros, so you won't chose badly.


    Consumer Goods

Perfect Open Source Linux Distro

  • April 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The package management system (apt) & community support is top notch
What do you dislike?
so many various Debian/ubuntu distro's but no paid support
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
free open source web server using Debian & apache
Recommendations to others considering the product:
solid community support, great package selection