Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 9 for Debian Linux 10

Kurian | 9.0.43

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

95 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

Intershop Development with Apache Tomcat

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use, works out of the box for most cases.
What do you dislike?
High memory usage per connection. But it can be tuned using the JVM
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Server connection backend for an Intershop based store. Being a Java technology it is easier to integrate.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ease of use, and extensibility.


    Rosemary J.

Strong web server for JavaEE

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to setup your local system and production server with it. It can be used alongside IDEs such as Eclipse and Netbeans. It is platform independent. If the web interface is installed, deploying your war file is so easy. It's free and open source.
What do you dislike?
It crashes unexpectedly without any reason and sometimes the errors displayed are not clear enough to find the real reason.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To run user experiments to gather research data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is a great option to other web servers for JavaEE, however, you need to have the basic terminal skills to help with troubleshooting at points. You have to careful with the JRE versions that you have initially used with the project.


    Computer Software

Reliable versatile application server

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Open source, very reliable, great community support and availability of developers familiar with.
What do you dislike?
A bit weak on management and troubleshooting capabilities.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Back end application server for Spring in a SaaS company.


    Sarbbottam B.

Probably the best web server for Java Servlets and its eco system.

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Simple and intuitive user interface and easy to get started. Some with knowledge of JAVA and a basic understanding of PATH would be able to get a Tomcat server up and running in a couple of minutes.
What do you dislike?
Nothing to call to explicitly, but user-friendly CLI messages would be great for new users. But one gets used to it soon.
Tomcat is servlet container and EJB support was not available, thus on few occasions, we had to use an Application server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have used Tomcat for serving Java Web Application. It's primarily a Java Servlet container if EJB support is not needed this is probably the best bet. Among the benefits of using Tomcat is it being open source software and a huge community base, there are nearly 36K questions tagged with "tomcat" in StackOverflow. Also, it is easy to report and track bug if found in the software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Apache Tomcat software is probably the best open source server for the Java Servlets. It is most well know and popular compared to its competitor, Jetty being the closest competitor.


    Gurleen S.

Apache Tomcat Review

  • May 01, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Tomcat is an open source and most easy to use and configure when deploying any Java web application.
One of the most important feature I like is Apache Tomcat can be easily upgraded without letting itself down since the requests can be transferred to different ports, ports other than the one where our main application is running. Once upgraded, we can revert to the original port.
Jenkins, one of the best continuous integration server, also runs on Apache Tomcat.
Also, being an open source, I can modify it as per the requirements too like in case any new feature is to be added which is not present out of the box, I can easily do so.
Apache Tomcat is quick when it comes to deployment of the applications and hence it can decrease time to market for the changes to be deployed over the production server.
What do you dislike?
While running large web based applications, Apache Tomcat might not be suitable as there will be quite number of the requests coming onto the server.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Performance for the web application has been increased to such large extent while using Apache Tomcat Server in the organization.
Due to highly available feature of Apache Tomcat, we are able to counter downtime during upgrade process, which in turn have saved us time and associated costs thereafter.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I highly recommend Apache Tomcat for quick and easy deployments for the Java web applications


    Jeff H.

Tomcat is solid and reliable

  • April 30, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to develop and web applications. Most customizations and integrations are well documented and easy to implement.
What do you dislike?
Configuration of a non default logging framework is not easy.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting our SaaS product in the cloud. As a developer, the simplicity of creating a development instance of tomcat is crucial. I am able to get up and running in a few minutes with no customizations. This simplicity allows me to focus on the problems my company is trying to solve, and not infrastructure.


    Hiren D.

Great for Web UI applications

  • April 25, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The greatest benefit of Tomcat is that it is Open source and very simple application server which is easy to install. Deployment of our web applications using Tomcat is achieved very efficiently.
Apache tomcat is also very fast in starting and stopping of web servers.
Since most of our apps our Java based, we use tomcat as it meets all our Java 8 run-time needs without any overhead. It also integrates efficiently with micro-service frameworks such as Spring & Spring Boot.
What do you dislike?
No real dislikes, but the various versions of tomcat available can sometimes cause confusion for the user and it is probably also not the best choice for Enterprise scale Java apps.
Some times we also run into performance issues for large scale web applications.
It is difficult to maintain tomcat across many hosts as it requires separate configuration for each virtual host.
Security could be a major concern associated with Apache web server. As it allows anyone to do modification in the configuration, it can cause serious security issues if not taken care properly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Tomcat as a service is very stable and so we are using it to support our web servers for mobile applications. We are also using Tomcat to create the full stack for the web apps.
Since it is open-source it is completely free and yet highly reliable.
Apache tomcat is easy to use and deployments are not complex.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Simple and reliable for new users (especially JAVA based applications).
Excellent software for implementing a small to mid-size web server solution.
It completely free.
Apache tomcat should definitely be considered if your application complexity is not very high and needs faster loading on restarts .


    Chachu K.

Chachu

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Good to view the dashboard.user control is very good.
What do you dislike?
Error handlingis very good in tomcat application .
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Good for application


    Varsha C.

Apache Tomcat

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use. Good documentation to get started
What do you dislike?
Slow and doesnot deploy to available ports. Faces some issues at times.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We develop and deploy applications locally.


    Saurabh C.

Tomcat was our main server. We used it both in our local machines and we ran it in our Amazon Web Se

  • April 20, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat doesn't provide the entire JEE stack and is much lighter weight to deploy and keep running.
It integrates very cleanly with Eclipse.
You can pick your own implementations of those technologies
It's supported by AWS which makes deployments very smooth.
What do you dislike?
Tomcat has less supporting software than Apache httpd.
Tomcat's web server has fewer web server features than Apache httpd.
Tomcat's fast, but not as fast as Apache httpd.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our whole applications run on tomcat server with integration of web services. The integration of various technologies is much easier.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Working on speed would be the best are to improve now