Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 9 for Debian Linux 10

Kurian | 9.0.43

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

95 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Its open source and ease of use with less feature as compared to Oracle Weblogic

  • January 31, 2018
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its compatibility to be used with Cloud Infrastructure such as Amazon/Google.
What do you dislike?
It's bit not user friendly as compared to Oracle Weblogic which has console for monitoring and getting real time JVM information.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to use as it is open source
Redhat Support available
Avoids licensing cost


    Banking

Since the beginning of my career.

  • December 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A good companion for any JEE applicatoin developer.
Easy to setup and deploy applications.
Light weight.
What do you dislike?
Most features like other application servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have done PoCs for all most all my projects till now for the past 15 years.
for some organizations some internal applications are still running on Apache Tomcat


    Retail

Tomcat as Application container

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
After installation and some little configuration, we forgot it for many mount, it has a very little maintenace
What do you dislike?
Graphics maintenance configuration and maintenance, could be better
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We install it in some environmet ad it is very stable an light, with some basic configuration.


    Massimo R.

Batlte-tested

  • December 13, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a standard. Lightweight and still with most of the features one needs for most tasks
What do you dislike?
The documentation is not always up to par.
Module system missing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy deployment of small/mid webapplications.


    Dan O.

The old standby... always gets the job done

  • July 28, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The platform has been around forever, and it well supported by most vendors.
What do you dislike?
It's probably not the best choice for Enterprise scale Java apps
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We use this Java app server where I work for various embedded application server projects. It also runs the web front end for our MicroStrategy server, which I've reviewed separately.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's a free download, so just give it a try!


    Roopesh Reddy A.

Wonders of apache tomcat

  • June 27, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I have been using tomcat server for long. It is the best web server platform to run Java Web Services
What do you dislike?
I feel some configurations are hard to set up
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am trying to run Java Server which would handle the business logic of my application. It provides a very good multi-threaded server archhitecture
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This is the best java server at least for development stage


    Amjad A.

Enterprise-Ready App Server for Java Apps

  • March 30, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility, small footprint and scalability
What do you dislike?
Lack of governance and access controls for IT
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Java apps made simple


    Hamza A.

Ubiquitous and powerful tool for Web Servers for Java fans

  • February 27, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Given that Tomcat has been around for a while now, the development community for this software has grown and with it the software's abilities and its robustness. It is no wonder that it's widely used in industry today. Spinning up a web server has been made very easy with its IDE integration (I used IntelliJ IDEA). Having worked for companies that have a Java-only codebase for backend, it was a no-brainer to use Apache Tomcat as a major pillar in developing the full stack of the web application. The main thing I like about Tomcat is its excellent implementation and powerful components that work together in managing various aspects of the web app from hosting Java servlets to managing load on large-scale applications.
What do you dislike?
It can take some time to wrap your head around how it works (it did a bit for me) and its documentation can seem daunting with its large size.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
For one of the companies I have worked for, we wanted to spin up a web server to emulate the equivalent functionality that we have for our mobile apps. Since our mobile app is for Android, it would make sense to carry over much of the work to the web server in Java. Creating the full stack for the web server, in addition to creating an administrative tool around it to monitor the applications, Apache Tomcat proved to be a reliable tool in our software stack.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's probably has the largest community in its field. You can't go wrong with using Apache Tomcat for your Java-based web applications. And it's free!


    Danylo H.

Works out of box

  • February 18, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- has eclipse plugin
- when developing, eclipse recompiles classes on change, and tomcat can reread .class on fly, so no need to restart tomcat on trivial changes
- have got no crashes because of tomcat
- can be multi-webapp or multi-cluster
- works on Windows
- updates regularly
- fast handling of HTTP requests
What do you dislike?
- XML configuration format, too complicated default config
- cannot rely on hot reload during production deployments because our application has memory leak
- cannot reuse apache-tribes for software needs, must monkey-patch tomcat distribution
- default logger is JULI, which isn't slf4j-based
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- running server for our mobile game
Recommendations to others considering the product:
- update regularly
- monitor the JVM
- do automatic deploys


    Praveen K.

Using Tomcat Since Last 8 years

  • January 20, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Less configuration, easy deployment process and fast deployment. I started using Tomcat server 5.0 as a web container to deploy our Java based web application, I found it very easy to learn and suitable to support mid size application. Its default configuration is good enough to support small or mid size application.
What do you dislike?
Personally I believe security feature need to be enhanced along with containerization, which supports container wise clustering. Which in turn will also enhanced support for individual session handling along multiple container.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Since start I am associated with service based companies, till date I worked for multiple domains like HealthCare, IOT, Finance(Landing Service), Ecomerce Applications, Fleet Services etc...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Please start thinking to support container clustering, which can support multiple sessions simultaneously, also if possible start support EJB based applications. If possible start thinking to provide some configuration which can stop illegal/malicious requests from different client machines. This will be really very use full and also effective to stop un-necessary hits to different applications which eventually can crash our applications server. Currently precautionary measures are being taken care by individual developers.