Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

iRedMail (IMAP, SMTP, POP3) Email Server on Ubuntu 20.04 LTS

Tidal Media Inc | 1.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

40 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Bari P.

Ubuntu is an excellent unix based operating system, fun to work with.

  • August 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is very easy to download. The most recent version is available as an open source version online. With a few clicks and a bunch of straightforward steps to follow, the installation is quite easy. Post-installation steps are quite easy to execute. Any package that needs to be installed could be easily taken care of using a 'pip install' command. The user of this server becomes the default administrator and is able to carry out any operations of admin interest with ease. Ubuntu recent version is ver. 20.04 which supports most of the application downloads with ease. It's one of the most easy operating systems to work with if you are a Unix savvy.
What do you dislike?
At times, not all the required packages are installed by default. You will need to perform your due diligence in locating the missing packages. At times, the nature of errors encountered could be a bit daunting. Not everytime, you will be able to find information about these errors online. There could be times when it might take a few days figuring out the solution. The packages of your interest may be distributed across several different sub packages and it's vital that you figure out the exact names of these sub packages for successfully installing the packages on a holistic front.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ubuntu has all the packages needed for ETL including some of the core languages like Python, Databases and SQL based operations. The ability of Ubuntu to interface with several applications is one of the salient features. Using Ubuntu, a successful configuration of Apache Airflow was carried out. All the config files, dependent files, folders including the image files for containers were successfully installed and implemented in Ubuntu. Docker and kubernetes cluster set up could also be successfully implemented in Ubuntu. Ubuntu necessarily supported all the mandated packages and tools needed to carry out the end to end ETL operations in my organization and was one of the relaible servers to depend upon.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu server could be considered as your premium choice if you are good in unix and looking to create a platform to carry out operations on a fact paced note. Owing to its open source feature, the server is easy to locate and install. The operations to be carried out could at times be a bit tricky for first time users but they will get a hang of it in a few days. Definitely worth a try!!!


    Information Technology and Services

Ubuntu server review

  • August 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What i like most about ubuntu server is its ui generally unix platform based os in the market doesnot have much flexibility in terms of user interface and usability. Atleast when you are switching from windows server to unix server.
What do you dislike?
Main constaraint of ubuntu server is its compatiability with other software which we are using in daily basis may be for personal use or for professional purpose.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The benefits os ubuntu is its kernal structure which is quite safe in terms of any security attack.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Other user who are considering unix server as an option always shall recomend to go for ubuntu as comparing to other available os its user friendliness is quite better.


    Lakshman K.

best open source server

  • August 04, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We deployed the ubuntu server in our organization mainly for different services, we are using this for services like DHCP, DNS, and Syslog server, and the time is taken for configuring these services is very minimal. till now they are working and serving perfectly.
What do you dislike?
Nothing more to dislike. I like the ubuntu server very well because it is open source and used for several purposes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We solved the problems like DHCP, DNS, and Syslog servers and they are working well. Other than this, there are more documents available on the internet for configuring different services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
very well recommended to network administrators


    Neeraj S.

Ubuntu Server Review

  • August 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the best part of ubuntu is it's freely available and it's more secure than windows server, the processing is better than other os
What do you dislike?
for some of applications, we are facing too many issues to install into the machine
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
at my end, GIS data processing on a windows machine was a big challenge which was get resolved with the combination of GDAL and ubuntu server


    Purvesh C.

Fast and secure

  • August 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is the first OS which I learned and used in my college. This is the best OS to start journey in IT industry. It is fast as well as secure, also it is the best OS for programmers. It becomes very easy to share the files as it's speed is very fast. Also it just take 40GB space in hard disk for installation of OS. I am currecly using duol boot PC with windows and Ubuntu. It's UI is best and it does not hang just like other OS.
What do you dislike?
One thing which I am expecting from Ubuntu is that it should support more applications as I can not install required applications on Ubuntu. So I have to switch between windows and ubuntu very often due to unavailability of features. Otherwise if I will get all my favorite under one Ubuntu OS, I will permanently shift to Ubuntu.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am using Ubuntu for programming purpose. Also it is very easy to write scripts and run it. As all the file opener applications are inbuild, there is no efforts required to donwload extra softwares for opening files.


    Vinod K.

Ubuntu_linux

  • July 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and user experience for finding out file structure and copy methods are exteremely useful
What do you dislike?
Root method and sometimes unable to go to root server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Python scripting and file transfer mecahanism


    Cassandra W.

It is a great server! Easy to use once installed!

  • May 18, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Process in Ubuntu Linux can be controlled and customized.
Applications that are deployed run fast and are easily scalable.
It is open source which I really like. It is also user friendly. It is very versatile, as a lot of free and open-source software. We find it extremely reliable as a desktop and server OS.
What do you dislike?
Not as much support for apps as Windows, so its reach should be widened.
No dedicated support to contact through if anyone need it.
Not much suitable for beginners on the instal
In my opinion. One downside is that if you are not familiar with Ubuntu Linux, it can be very confusing; however, once you have a grasp of the concepts and fundamentals, it is a breeze to manage. Linux is more of a do it yourself OS
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I see for Ubuntu to help manage cloud applications. It is easy to implement on Linux based systems and is more safe and reliable in case of process management.
It also addresses. Problems on windows machines. Flexibility. It is easy to add and remove services. As our business needs change, so can our Ubuntu Linux system
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu Server setups are great for most server solutions. Security is good enough and usability is off the charts compared with other alternatives. The most common use for Ubuntu Linux is probably for web-based applications.


    Cris S.

Powerful and lightweight

  • March 23, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most is the facility of installation, the installer is guided step by step and I could follow anyone. Another crucial aspect when talking about an operating system for servers is Robustez, usually do not produce problems with this aspect.
Another of the great advantages is the large application base available. In addition Ubuntu Server is a very popular operating system, so there are manuals of all kinds.
What do you dislike?
At the moment I have not found any considerable disadvantage.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Although many people do not like, Ubuntu Server is very good as a production server. I think it is ideal for deploying services such as mail, cloud storage or web server of a small business.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a good choice for the ease of starting.


    Mental Health Care

Free alternative to replace some costly MS or other manufacturers solutions

  • January 26, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's absolutely free! No cost, which is great in a non-profit organization.
What do you dislike?
You will have to teach yourself. But there is a lot of support out there on the web.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Solved issues with proxys, LMS, monitoring, intranet sites, and more
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Put the time in to learn it


    Martino Nauli R.

robust, secure, user-friendly linux based server

  • January 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- easy installation,
there is no doubt that ubuntu-server installation step is so simple, although it's in text-based but it show short and clear information about installation steps.

- patching kernel without restarting server
through livepatch service, you can receive patch or hot-fix to ubuntu's linux kernel, and apply them on-the-fly without restarting the whole server, this service is very helpfull if you have heavy-duty server that can't have any down-time

- well documented user-guide
ubuntu also provide detailed documentation about server's usage, how to install and configure them.

- community support
if official documentation is not enough, you can obtain help from community, usualy problem you encountered already been solved somewhere else.

- easy to customized for your need
if you didn't comfort with CLI (Command Line Interface) you can add many desktop environment you like such as gnome, kde etc
What do you dislike?
until now, there'is nothing I dislike from ubuntu-server
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
same like ubuntu-desktop, ubuntu server give me many solution that I need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
free to use linux based server operating system that very easy to use