Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Joomla for Ubuntu 16.04 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 3.9.24

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 16.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

353 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Construction

Joomla is great

  • November 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like how easy it is to navigate and upload content. I also like how it is constantly updated.
What do you dislike?
I disliked how steep the learning curve was when coming from other platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used Joomla as our main CMS for our website to attract new business.


    Design

Joomla is very comparable with WordPress or Ingeniux

  • November 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to navigate, update content, structure is similar to other CMSs. I was able to customize it without any help or support. Pretty self explanatory.
What do you dislike?
When we were moving with upgrade, many pages were simply broken, so, I had manually re-built them, took about a week to finish.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The site was built for a small theater. Worked great for event advertising, booking, selling tixx.


    E-Learning

Overall - decent foundation for website

  • August 24, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the fact that there are many developers who know this platform. Being a small business, I can't afford to hire my own full-time staff. It is good to know if for some reason something happens to the development team I am using that there are others that can pick up where they left off without it being fully proprietary. It is also nice to know there are many apps pre-written that can help address most any requirement.
What do you dislike?
The performance at times can seem a bit sluggish. Not sure if it is Joomla or our implementation of it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Wanted to create a learning management platform to host an online curriculum to teach folks the job search process.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Do your homework on the apps and who will be helping you develop your website.


    Andreas B.

Vast amount of extensions and broad community

  • August 12, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is a stable and transparent Content Management System - as any open-source product ought to be. It offers free and commercial extension for almost any need you require. Thus it is versatile and flexible, and yet easy to install and maintain. The Joomla policy of using GNU license is helpful if you are owner of several Joomla domains, as a license for extension can usually be used on several domains (support might be limited in that case, or subject to further fees).
Last but not least it has become quite secure. If security problems are found, there usually are patches available rather quickly.
What do you dislike?
Major version updates from Joomla - at least in the past - have created considerable headaches with migration of sites. There is a trend for relatively frequent upgrades.
Too big and resource hungry for very small websites or blogs.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We host various domains, like major directories, e-learning platform, e-commerce platform, church website, private website, event website, non-profit organizations. If you don't have time to waste and are not a programmer or network admin, choose one CMS and stick with it. We chose Joomla because it is the best compromise in terms of layout/design (Typo3 might be better), usability (Wordpress is supposed to be the lead) and programming flexibility (if you need more, use Drupal).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You do need a basic understanding of PHP and MySQL setup to install and maintain Joomla - if you don't, there are plenty of services to assist you. Some internet service providers offer pre-installed Joomla ready to use.


    Higher Education

Strikes a good balance between flexibility and usability

  • July 31, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is easy to implement, use and customize. There are enough extensions available to create the right website for your needs, and you don't need a background in web development to do it. Like Drupal, it's open source with a vast community of users, so if there's a feature you're missing, chances are good that someone else is working on a content extension to fill that need.
What do you dislike?
It's not quite as customizable as Drupal, nor is it as user-friendly as WordPress. It's a middle-of-the-road CMS, which makes it difficult to get too excited about.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In addition to Joomla, I've used WordPress and Drupal. Personally, I prefer Drupal of the three, due to its robust security and extensibility. However, Joomla has a lot of the same benefits. Its user community is very active, and it has plenty of feature extensions (and more are always on the way). In my view, Joomla is a great solution for smaller organizations that want the flexibility of Drupal but don't have a developer on staff.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Generally speaking, I would recommend Joomla above WordPress. Comparing it to Drupal is a bit more difficult. If you have a background in coding and customizability is important to you, then Drupal may be the better choice. However, if you want something that has a gentler learning curve but is still highly extensible, Joomla is a perfectly solid CMS.


    Insurance

Great user interface

  • July 22, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I had used it a few years ago and then just recently signed up for a trial at my new company to review it as a potential CMS for all website projects.They have really advanced the user interface over the last couple of years, making it much easier for site content specialists to understand and use it.
What do you dislike?
The only thing that could be considered a dislike is that it's open source. However, I feel that Joomla has a large enough user base that it should be easy enough to get support through user forums, experts, etc.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Joomla will help us to produce websites in a much more controlled way, as well as help to manage digital assets.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it and you'll love it. They offer a free 90-day demo account so you can really get in and dig around.


    Philip W.

Joomla is a user friendly CMS

  • January 09, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla offers a flexible cloud based framework which is easy to build on. It allows novice developers to create basic websites and allows advanced developers to create more intricate, fine tuned websites. While many will argue Wordpress, Drupal or Sitecore are better options, the seasoned developer will realize the range of development options built into Joomla.
What do you dislike?
Many of the best plugins, templates and themes tend to go to Wordpress first, Drupal second then Joomla and/or Sitecore third. Also, as the third development platform, it can be a little harder to find Joomla experts who can do the same type of implementation as in Wordpress or Drupal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
A good social and sales platform. Quite user friendly and customer friendly. There are some very nice UI interfaces that make it easy to present any idea, business or venture.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install the software and click around a bit. Especially if you have worked in other CMS, it will be pretty easy to pick up. For finer tuning for new web users, consider a training video or two for help.


    Justin N.

Deploying Joomla as your Enterprises CMS

  • January 08, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Allowing non-techincal/ Marketing Users to make and update content without IT involvement or deep html and css knowledge.
What do you dislike?
Upgrading after customization can be a major pain. Especially if more than one developer is customizing the code. Staying away from the internal code base will mitigate a lot of headaches.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing a website that marketing users could deploy content without IT help at a very low price. Compare this to Sitecore or Ektron and the costs aren't even on the same planet.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For a small site, intranet or small business site(>30 Million annually) Joomla is your site. For a large enterprise site consider Sitecore. I use Joomla for all my personal websites. I also was the Joomla web dev and admin for my previous company. Joomla was extreemly stable, we ran it on a hosted redhat linux box and had up time of 500+ days before needing to patch the kernel which required a server reboot.


    Bharath P.

best for large amount of articles, overkill for a few pages with fewer content changes

  • January 08, 2015
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
the admin page has a lot of functionality
best layout of the admin page
very good support form the forums
high user base
out of the box plugins for many functions
seamless integration into e-commerce
What do you dislike?
- for a simple cms need (sites with few pages and fewer changes of content over period of time), Joomla gets too complicated.
- some of the plugins /extensions have become so huge that I once wrote an extension for an extension
- a bit bulky if you use so many plugins - their interoperability might become an issue
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
-Used Joomla to transfer from dontNetNuke site.
-This was a site+forum+e-commerce site and Joomla fit in there very well
-Interface with other web services (commerce plugins, bulletin board) was seamless
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would choose Joomla when:
-I need a CMS to handle a huge collection of changing articles
-I need a lot of customization (most customizations are available as already built plugins)
- Integrations into e-commerce and bulletin boards etc (with various plugins offering APIs and seamless integrations with may popular tools)

I will probably not use Joomla if:
- the site has lesser dynamic content and not more than a few items to sell (e-commerce)
- any site that does not require heavy integration of other web services.
- any site primarily is a web service accumulator


    Miles B.

Flexible and Extensible CMS with massive community

  • January 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Core publishing system is intuitive to me.

The Menu System + Core Content Component offers flexibility in how to display content aggregated by different attributes. The quantity and variety of extensions available for Joomla is awe inspiring.

So too is the vibrant community of template developers (like Joomlart, Rockettheme and more) helping even beginners quickly produce a site with professional level features.
What do you dislike?
Not as intuitive for everyone else means it can be tricky to convert people from Wordpress. I personally find the SEO plugin for Wordpress by Yoast to be superior to the options available for Joomla. Also, Joomla is sometimes perceived to be inferior by many Sharepoint and Drupal-heads, which dredges up ugly holy wars that no one needs to rehash and only serves to prevent the completion of actual work.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As the digital marketing manager, Joomla gives me a system to develop multiple marketing, support & internal websites using consistent styling and modern techniques like responsive templates and sophisticated script libraries easily.

The CMS gives non-coders a way to add content to our marketing websites.

Joomla allows our training customers to register for classes online.

Our Human Resources department can publish employee policies, documentation, forms, staff directory and company announcements with only modest technical skills.

Our Software Support team can add, edit and update our 1000s of self-help and training articles for our 3 software products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
HubSpot
Wordpress
Drupal
Umbraco
Confluence