Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Joomla for Ubuntu 20.04 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 3.9.24 20210812

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

332 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Publishing

Good solution for massive websites (journalism, publishing)

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Very efficient (probably more so than WordPress) for managing large websites with 1,000+ pages and lots of pieces of content.
What do you dislike?
The WYSIWYG editor leaves a lot to be desired.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Publishing a large website with 15,000+ pages of content, Joomla allows for a nice structure/categorization and the internal search function is excellent.


    Arsalan K.

Pretty good CMS for small businesses

  • August 13, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Based on PHP, MySQL
Lightweight and easy to understand
Massive library of plugins for customization
What do you dislike?
The older versions of Joomla were prone to hackers using the SQL injection and other minor tricks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I create a small website with Joomla for my video editing group. We use to maintain that easily. Frequent updating of the content/articles.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
WordPress and Magento are a pretty good alternatives to Joomla.


    Primary/Secondary Education

Great website designer for beginners

  • July 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's relatively easy and a great stepping stone for beginners interested in creating a website
What do you dislike?
The layouts are limited and sometimes clunky - you have to manipulate the code for the design to change.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Cost-effective and straightforward website design


    brindha e.

A Proficient Web-Based Platform for Publishing Content on the Internet

  • July 24, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature of Joomla is the flexibility it offers to alter the website based on changing needs of the owners and the setup is simple to configure in no time. Another attractive feature is the multilingual support with enhanced translation to create a website without any language limitations. Many inbuilt extensions are available on this platform to improve the website.
What do you dislike?
Security breaches and lack of compatibility are the two drawbacks I have experienced in Joomla.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Joomla is open-source e-commerce oriented software and hence I find it more accessible to publish the desired content of my website via the tool. The other benefits I have realized with this adept tool are its super-fast performance and easy menu generation feature. The plethora of extensions within this tool makes it easy for developers to exhibit the functionalities in an interactive way.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking to build a power-packed website then I would definitely recommend trying Joomla as it offers multiple features with the best support.


    Carmen C.

An effective support for the creation of excellent web sites in a short period of time.

  • July 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most remarkable thing about this tool, or what I liked the most, is the minimal difficulty it generates when creating different web pages and how customizable it is. It is easy to use and takes very little time to develop sites and web, puts users' fingertips everything they need, has a good customer service and online there are many illustrated and explained tutorials of its functions.
What do you dislike?
It is not difficult to use once you get used to its interface and functions, but I must admit that at the beginning, it took us a bit of work to get familiar with the software, mainly because its interface is not the most intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
By using Joomla, we have started building excellent websites and web applications for different purposes within my organization. It takes little time to understand how it works and has been essential to get several projects up and running on the web in a short time. Its features, templates, and more make everything easier for our entire team to work with.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It is a simple and intuitive software with few applications that support web development; it also has extraordinary ease; I recommend it; you will have the opportunity to create excellent web applications in short periods. Joomla is worth it.


    Education Management

Joomla is a good websites application

  • July 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to build websites and many useful template.
What do you dislike?
None. https://extensions.joomla.org/othing
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Easy to build a website and maintain. Beautiful appearance webpages.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes, easy to use and free for practice.


    Rob c.

Joomla for CMS for the last 10+ years.

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is a great CMS alternative to Wordpess, in that it gives more significant and more flexible customization across the board. Joomla is very mature and has just as large of a community as Wordpress. Extending functionality with plugins enables one to build any type of site or platform.
What do you dislike?
There is not much I dislike about Joomla. The only thing it really lacks out of the box without plugins would be the Form system. The Form system is pretty basic and could be a lot more elaborate. It will get the job done, but it's almost better to role your own or utilize a third-party plugin. Thos is surely not a dealbreaker, though.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Joomla helps us solve more than just having a website. It solves the problem of requiring a service for Events. We have been able to build our own event system directly into our website, which handles collecting attendee information as well as providing them with calendar reminders both on the site and from emails sent from the same system. This is a significant cost-saver.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would highly consider Joomla over some of the other Open-Source CMS systems.


    Ryan W.

Joomla is the professional content manager's CMS

  • June 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is a robust content management platform that allows me the ability to customize all aspects of my website, gives me comprehensive controls over the backend, and provides me with all of the tools necessary to run a competitive product.
What do you dislike?
Joomla has an extensive network of professionals that support the platform, but over time, many of those professionals have moved onto other projects. I do miss the early 2010s when Joomla was more widely used and supported.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Joomla allows me complete control over my website, its content and the product I am prodving to my customers. The customization is massive compared to similar platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Don't be fooled into believing you only have a single option when it comes to your content management system platform. Do a bit of research and see for yourself!


    Roland M.

I've been using Joomla for some time now ... and here's what I know

  • June 25, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
There are a lot of CMS out there. And I'm sure that everyone uses theirs for a specific reason. My reasons for using Joomla are simple. It's an easy-to-understand backend that is not just intuitive, but also easy to configure to the needs of various clients. Blogging? Easily set up for that. Online store? Yep, that's covered too. The malleability of this platform, coupled with extensive offerings by third-party vendors make this a very attractive platform to consider for your CMS needs.
What do you dislike?
While it is more of a third-party vendor issue, sometimes the update functionality leaves a little to be desired.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Typically, at the Rescue Mission I currently work at, we are deploying Joomla as an integrated property for many of our needs. Not just funneling for donations and guest needs, but also from a communications standpoint, backend office components, etc. It's made us much more nimble as an organization.


    Marketing and Advertising

Joomla review

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It gives a professional,upscale look to websites.
What do you dislike?
There can be a lot of steps involved in something as simple as formatting or changing fonts
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it primarily for an entertainment website and it works quickly and efficiently.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Must have some knowledge before using to really make full use of product