Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Joomla for CentOS 8 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 3.9.24 20210606

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

332 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jarrod R.

Good for lightweight applications but requires a lot of maintenance.

  • January 05, 2015
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the open source community and extension library. It is also easy to navigate the file structure via FTP.
What do you dislike?
Extensions and products require ongoing updated. I have found using other open source CMS options are better and more reliable. Like anything else it requires updates or else you will expose yourself to security issues.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sites have been easy to move and migration. The databases can get heavy but this is dependent on extensions being used.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Although Joomla has had history of being difficult to update it is getting a lot better with automatic updates.


    Melissa R.

Joomla -- Mostly User Friendly, a Bit Clunky

  • December 11, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I used Joomla to manage a website for a small business, and I will say that for a CMS newbie, Joomla is extremely user friendly. The interface is very easy to manage and I was able to manage content better than I ever had on other platforms -- with a bit of training about how to navigate the back-end. We didn't have as much content as, say, larger websites, but if we had expanded our site, I knew that the system was well-suited to manage a bulk of content easily and effectively.
What do you dislike?
Even though it is user-friendly once you get used to it, the interface could use an upgrade. Parts of the site were just...clunky. Sometimes I feel like it took a lot of steps to get to the menu or the module that I needed. It's interesting to see the differences between Joomla and Wordpress now that I've gone to a Wordpress site for my personal business -- there's a better functionality in Wordpress, but I feel l like there's more style options in Joomla.

The other thing that's difficult about Joomla is that the SEO capabilities just aren't as strong as other content management systems, especially when comparing it to Wordpress. I felt like all off the SEO efforts I tried weren't as strong as they could have been, although I'm now aware that there are extensions for that, which is something that I wasn't aware of at the time I started using Joomla.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The learning curve is shorter than other CMS systems, which is huge when you're a one-person marketing/digital department at your job (like I was) and you had limited experience with content management systems. That benefit alone has been worth it!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the time to watch webinars, read tutorials, and really think about the type/size of website you'd like to create. Joomla is great for smaller, self-managed sites.


    Eric P.

The ONLY CMS I use - Joomla ROCKS!

  • September 26, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility, ease of use and many great extensions.
What do you dislike?
Built in SEO is lacking, but there are extensions that compensate for that
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creation of websites for clients that should be easy to maintain, easy to create - flexible and not have each website look like a cookie cutter.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Much more flexible than wordpress. If you've never used Joomla before... try it - takes a few hours to get used to... but then you'll never look back.


    Sandra A.

One of the Most Flexible CMS

  • June 24, 2014
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The flexibility that Joomla has to manage your web content is one of the highlights of this CMS. We are able to organize the content in different ways, create pre-defines models to apply to each webpage. One of the key points that made us to decide for Joomla, it was the capability to support a multi-language backoffice and frontoffice, mobile support and Responsive Webdesign. It's also an open source CMS, so we were able to reduce support costs.
What do you dislike?
Some sections of Joomla are not so user-friendly, specially when we want to create new menus or modules, but once you get the hang of things and understand Joomla's logic it get's easy to use. If you are not a Joomla expert and want a more professional website, maybe you need to hire one to help you set-up the CMS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were using before a custom CMS and if we needed to do any changes in the structure of our website, it wasn't easy and cheap. With Joomla we created a flexible structure where we are able to make changes in our website with less fuss.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's very important to think ahead how you want to organize the information on your wesite, but at the same time plan for the future, so you don't create a rigid content organisation structure. Joomla gives you the flexibility to create a functional website, but it's up to you if you want to make it more or less user-friendly. Joomla has also a vast community of users and developers, so you can take advantage of this community to learn about the best practices for using this CMS.


    Daniel J.

A Good CMS

  • July 31, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is one of the better CMS's out there. It is flexible and fast for building custom websites. It has a great user community that makes the service stronger by adding lots of great support and help when you need it. You can really do a lot of great things with Joomla if you're new to CMS's or if you're advanced.
What do you dislike?
Joomla can be a little hard to get used too and its interface can be a little clunky. I would personally prefer WordPress since it seems to be updated more often and has more third-party support with plugins and things.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Joomla is a great alternative to WordPress, but I would personally go with WordPress. If you don't like WordPress, give Joomla a shot.


    Ben B.

Bit of a learning curve, but well worth it!

  • July 29, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Joomla is a powerful content management system. It's powerful because it's flexible, has a great community (and thus a ton of stellar plugins), and has a slew of excellent template theme clubs out there. I've built over 20 websites on Joomla, and have been pleased each time around.
What do you dislike?
Not as easy to update as Wordpress. Not as easily navigable as wordpress. Backend UI still isn't on par with WordPress.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
So, why not just use WordPress? Joomla is better at handling static sites that are less blog layout and more modular layout. Joomla definitely has it's place.


    Alejandro C.

Once setup, it gets everything you need done, done.

  • June 18, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to use for users and admins. Even though it took me some time to set it up, it wasn't difficult to just set the content areas and the sections I wanted, or even modify a template. I managed a site entirely on my own without the help of any admin, programmer or designer. It is a very good option for those who don't want their sites to look like a blog.
What do you dislike?
Set-up is not that easy. It did take me some time to just go through the installation and setup, and I had to ask for some help out of the Joomla community. Good news is it worked out just fine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Easy to use, just try it!


    User in Marketing and Advertising

Not terribly intuitive

  • April 30, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Once I learned the few basics that my job required me to know, I was able to use Joomla for that... But for the most part I was constantly needing help from our support people who had to do a LOT of it for me.
What do you dislike?
Not terribly intuitive (but perhaps that could have been the way that our team set it up?). Very confusing.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a class!


    Tom L.

Excellent CMS

  • March 26, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's a free, open source content management system and there's an extremely large development community with an amazing amount of support. Joomla is also very easy to set up and configure and can be used to design professional looking sites in (literally) minutes.
What do you dislike?
I've been using Joomla for several years and it seems like there used to be a lot more free add-ons and templates available for earlier versions. There are just as many available now but more and more of them are commercial, which can drive costs up. Support for third party add-ons can be hit or miss as well.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
During the installation process, Joomla has an option to install test data in addition to the standard CMS components. If you're using Joomla for the first time, set up a sandbox site with all of the test data installed and you'll be able to use it as a reference when adding new features to your live site.


    Michael Scott M.

Fantastic CMS system.

  • February 14, 2013
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free! The community of users is available to answer questions. There are good books written about it. It is well documented.
What do you dislike?
There is little that I do not like about it.. Older versions required a advanced user to migrate from version 1.5 to 2.5 due to major overhaul of the system core. that is the only thing I could say that I disliked about it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Check with your hosting service to make sure you meet the requirements to load and run this system. Download and install only from Joomla.Org site. After you get your site installed using the default theme then the next component you want to install is akeeba backup. system. Then pick your theme and determin the add ons that your going to use.