Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

OpenSSH FTP Server for CentOS 8 with support by Kurian

Kurian | 1.0 20210606

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

38 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Massimiliano A.

The definitive way to administer servers

  • September 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH is secure and powerful. authentication by a public/private key pair with different cyphers and has lots of configuration options.
It integrates a secure FTP client/server which should be preferred to other traditional dedicated FTP server solutions.
Although it is mostly a command-line interface to a system, can also be used to establish a secure encrypted tunnel to other services running on a server, for instance to RDP, Windows shares (Samba on Linux).
What do you dislike?
Sometimes, communication with the server could be quite slow especially if there are multiple hops to reach it.
Some errors (such as when configuring passwordless login through public/private key pairs) are not clear to understand and debugging such situations can prove to be rather difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using OpenSSH to administer several servers remotely in the cloud.
This way, I can manage the whole infrastructure of my clients through smart working, without being physically present in the datacenters.
I also use it to perform remote backups, by chaining it to RSync and RSnapshot ensuring an encrypted communication between servers.
Through SSH I'm also creating secure RDP connections to Windows servers passing through a middle server.
I used it on Windows server too, although it is more complicate to install and can require half a day to find out the proper way to set it up (which is different depending on the version of Windows).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try to implement it on a Linux server because it is already integrated in the system.
If installing it on recent version of Windows, go to "optional features" and you'll find the most recent version supported by Microsoft. On older versions, you might quite easily install it through Chocolatey. Do not try the Cygwin route because rather outdated.


    Charlie B.

OpenSSH gets the job done.

  • September 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Clean file based architecture and excellent privilege separation.
What do you dislike?
The Microsoft port of OpenSSH is functional, but lags behind the full capabilities of the BSD/Linux packages, and does not have as clean of a user interface.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
OpenSSH is a good tool for managing co-ordination between multiple systems in a secure, scalable and easily upgraded fashion. It can trivially convert legacy processes based on less secure systems (such as telnet, FTP and the Berkeley R-protocols) and is the basis for remote control software such as Ansible and hardlink backup systems. Updates are timely and operational problems are virtually non-existent; OpenSSH is highly reliable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
There is an initial learning curve to any system using public/private keypairs that can be hard to surmount. OpenSSH is one of the easier paths to mastering such systems, but it can still be daunting at first. Stick with it and you will get all your time back in the long run!


    Defense & Space

Unusable examples

  • September 08, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Not convinced by the libraries. The putty libraries worked without issues.
What do you dislike?
Example code wouldn’t connect to test ssh servers whereas putty did. This was enough to convince me the libraries would be more trouble than they’re worth.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
None. Openssh was the problem.


    Gregory C.

OpenSSH review 9/2/20

  • September 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The inherent security the product offers as well as the excellent support provided by the community.
What do you dislike?
The lack of a native GUI makes it more challenging to use for novice users and administrators.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have met a requirement regarding multifactor authentication leveraging OpenSSH passing tokens residing on the users machine as part of the authentication process.


    indravadan j.

OpenSSH is backbone for remote access

  • August 28, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is most useful to access Linux servers and Computers to access remotely and sort out the problems of users.
What do you dislike?
Noting special that dislike but it should be by default installed in all linux systems.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am sorting problem with openssh are patch updating, installation of software, download, lamp server problem, etc.


    Charles E. K.

Windows OpenSSH provides enhanced management.

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH provides a universal peer-to-peer communications channel among all Operating Systems. Using OpenSSH service on Windows 2012 servers I was able to develop scripts running on Linux to extract information from Windows.
What do you dislike?
Scripting some commands can be a challenge when operating between Linux & Windows. There are some situations which could require upwards to 8 sets of quotations to issue a Windows command from Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
True peer connectivity between Linux & Windows. I designed an automated inventory system running on Linux with a MySQL database.
Pearl scripts would issue Windows WMI commands to retrieve hardware inventory information to update the database. I always had a 100% accurate database for my on-line systems.


    Online Media

OpenSSH is trusted by community, It is used by almost every person who manages servers

  • August 24, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Speed, Native, And simplicity.,It has every thing needed
What do you dislike?
UI could have been better. It should basically have its own client.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
remote login to AWS machine.


    John b.

Basic required service on all new machines

  • August 15, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
simple to use, ease of install, cross system authentication easy for new users.
What do you dislike?
Single vendor/developer issue for security reasons.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
remote maintenance of machines, and all general secure communication for machine to machine.


    Security and Investigations

Very secure way of accessing the remote server

  • August 10, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
You can access using encryption key and simple to manage it
What do you dislike?
Passphrase need to enhanced in terms recovery of the passphrase if someone forget.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It's greatly help in automation, like deployment of application
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Key management system need to be in place


    Swapnil h.

Best method to connect remote machine

  • August 09, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
OpenSSH works in realtime. After login it didn't even feel that we are working on remote machine.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes connection gets disconnected if we leave it on idle. OpenSSH should keep the connection alive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
As I am currently working from home OpenSSH is helping me connect all my office machines from my Linux machine at home. I am able to connect multiple machines in multiple tabs of Linux terminal.