Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Varnish Enterprise 6 Developer Edition (Red Hat)

Varnish Software Inc | 6.0.12r6 20240214-1112

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 8.9 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

96 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vincent B.

Refinitiv Reverse Proxy

  • November 13, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
the performence, the flexibility of configuration vith VCL, testing with VTC, the vmods
What do you dislike about the product?
TLS not supported on the backend side in the opensource version.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Reverse Proxy used as a gateway to 100s of background services. This lead to a huge vcl configuration with 1000s of routing rules...
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take the Varnish Plus.


    Chris M.

Advance content handling software

  • September 20, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This tool has helped me to market my products by providing me a platform which not only provides me the authenticity of my generated content and also helps to secure it. This software provides a global platform which is providing me quality services for the content rendering to network edge. Now I am capable of approaching the large audience and make sure them the availability of my content and Varnish assures me that it is latency-free content. Overall its performance is amazing.
What do you dislike about the product?
One of the main things which concern me is that no notifications are provided if in any case there is some security threat to my content. In addition its pricing policy needs to be negotiated because it is limited in its features.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Now I am not at all worried about the latency in the content, as it has empowered me to control the availability of the content to my audience. It is optimized software with no need of any CDNs dues to which I feel more confident in competitive delivery of the content to my customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This tool really needs the technical knowledge to utilize it to the fullest. I highly recommend this tool, if you are a content managing agency then it will help you in the continuous supply of it to your customers.


    David B.

The best content management tool

  • September 16, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Varnish ahs opened new doors for me to manage my financial status that was associated with the content budget and through this software I am no more worried about the down time processes. Varnish has empowered me by giving the authority to control the memory usage and I have found new ways to secure the origin server. Now I am relaying on it for the better engagement with my audience as I am providing them the quality content along with quality services which are only possible through varnish which has made easier for me to control the traffic on my websites so that the content access becomes fast.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have found it a costly solution and the pricing policy need to be revised further its purchasing and installment is a time consuming process. A lot of times I face the issue in content upload and contacted the customer support team, the response was very delay. I still feel there is much room for the betterment regarding the interface of the software and about the features too.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Through varnish I stay online and manage the PoPs. Varnish is very user friendly application, once you get to know it, you will easily handle the workload. For me this tool has become very useful and beneficial.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
This tool will help you to tackle your content in much effect way and will help you to deliver more precise results to your customers. I will surely recommend this tool to entire business sector.


    Broadcast Media

Essential website architecture component

  • September 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Stable and resilient, amazing speedy HTTP answers
What do you dislike about the product?
HTTPS is not "out of the box" supported. Currently HTTPS is a must have for any website, the hitch implementation should be varnish embedded

Lack of complexed and current VCL examples
Some modules seem pretty new and need a lot of work to be used (like WAF, API protection, ...)

Varnish application enhancements and new functionnalities and module are hidden in sub minors updates (like new resolver module in 6.0.6-R8 ?!?!?! headerplus in 6.0.6-R6 ?! why not a 6.X ?)

Documentation is shared between the opensource project, varnish software blogs, and varnish software release notes varnish software wiki and varnish software documentation. Infrequent update of the varnish book.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Accelerating website
Protecting backend and application architecture
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Start with the basics : a varnish training..
Don't use pretty old code you may find on github or stack-exchange


    Olivia K.

Powerful tool but customer support needs improvement

  • September 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The implementation of this software in my organization has helped me to control my budget as it has enabled me to control the costs by taking over bulk traffic and by ending the downtime events. It keeps me update protect the origin servers and helps to reduce the memory usage, which ultimately provides me enough time to better engage with my audience. It provides me a free hand for the location of the PoPs and helps to configure the CDN to exact requirements.
What do you dislike about the product?
I am a frequent user of this program this is really working in professional way but its customer support is not professional like it should be. And also I have faced some problems while discussing the issues with its customer support because they were not giving right information and were not giving proper response.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Varnish has increase the speed of or website and by controlling the traffic and ensure up to date content which attract and appeal my customers in addition it is the most advanced tool which help me to replace stack with a single powerful tool. In short it helps me to stay online and responsive.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I would recommend this tool just because of its outstanding performance. Moreover their customer support is not so responsive and in case you any issue you real get stuck. There is much room for the improvement many other similar application are far better then it.


    Jake W.

Easy to use eCDN Software

  • September 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This tool has ensured the availability of our quality content globally along with the secure upload. Due to this tool I am capable of making better decisions regarding the content rendering to network edge Varnish has allowed me to reduce the latency and easily I can target the large audience for the better delivery of the latency-free content. Now, I can control the back end server load and easily configure the software for the optimal performance. Varnish has provided me full control over the content delivery.
What do you dislike about the product?
It is very much technical tool to utilize and without the proper knowledge you cannot achieve the goals. Further they use your Newsletter which enhances the risk of data leakage. Moreover it is very much costly solution which eventually restricts its usage so the pricing policy needs to be revised.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have got rid of public CDNs and I feel more confident about the usage of this software due to its pre-optimized origin protection and edge-caching components, that has ensured the competitive delivery of the content. Since its usage I have created more satisfied customers.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will not recommend this tool on the whole to any particular organization. It is a very technical tool and requires a steep learning curve so you have to first train your team before implementing this tool.


    Diego S.

The absolute reference for web caching

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The flexibility that VCL language brings
What do you dislike about the product?
Could improve some things in the media and vod caching.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We did our own custom CDN using Varnish and Varnish Enterprise products.


    Samir A.

Varnish review 2022

  • August 31, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The support is really good, very quick response on the main website (the chat). I got a response in less one minute.
The help and information provided was very clear.
I also got a phone call with an engineer so I can detail some architectural and technical concepts.
Otherwise, Varnish features are stable, no major problem and bug.
We received vulnerability fix and workaround with detailed step by step
What do you dislike about the product?
Nothing wrong as everything is working as expected since the deployment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are using Varnish for caching on our main websites which allow us to get accelerated clients access. It's improving users experience and reducing infrastructure bottleneck during high traffic
Currently we use Drupal 8.0 as cms (front), and connect Varnish via a plugin which is available on the marketplace.
The Varnish has been deployed as container which is working very fine
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You can have a trial to evaluate the product and also a very good assistance on the website. Actually Varnish have a very good compatibility with CMS (Drupal, Wordpress, ...).


    Accounting

Delivery digital content

  • August 29, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
You can take control of how, when, where and to whom you deliver your digital content while reducing traffic load on the backend. We always looking the optimal performance. You can also have with this software websites much faster and with super-fast page loads in all conditions, improve the requests per second because they provides the speed and stability required by high-traffic websites to deliver excellent web experiences for large audiences.
What do you dislike about the product?
You need an experienced developer to install and development the best performance of this software. You have to think about the cost benefit of this type of tool, in addition to the needs you are looking for.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I really like that they are serious awareness about the security that others need with the information share. And it's good that included a dashboard to keep in touch on what is doing the software.


    Information Technology and Services

Drupal Portal

  • August 26, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
speed of the application once integrated with Varnish
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish we have a clear documentation on implementation based on technology like Drupal default configuration or any other CMS related technologies . we spend good amount of time to integrate and unable to use all the great features because of clear documentation
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance issues and speed of our application