Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Support for Nextcloud - The self-hosted productivity platform

Linnovate - Open Source Innovation | 1.0.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

37 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Private cloud solution for small businesses

  • July 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and maintain, excellent OS integration. Nice selection of apps such as chat, realtime document editing and calendaring. Rock solid file sharing solution with peace of mind that big tech won't delete or turn over documents to authorities on the flimsiest of pretexts.
What do you dislike?
Encryption can be difficult to setup, especially after using Nextcloud for some time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure sharing of documents and assets amongst developers and clients on devices of all types while not relying on big tech. Pay just the server hosting fees, no per-user licenses as required for OneDrive or Google Drive. Storage easily and cheaply expanded by attaching additional disks, NAS or even AWS S3.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy a bunch of disks, toss them in a server, install Linux and Nextcloud, and you're golden - this doesn't require tons of skill to do. Or search for a suitable NAS that has a Nextcloud server built-in, stuff that full of disks, and you're good to go. In both cases, use either 7200RPM disks or better yet SSDs. Remember that you can also expand storage by adding additional disks or Amazon Web Services S3 Remember to backup - Amazon Glacier is a suitable offsite backup solution and not expensive for long-term rarely-access backups.


    Hammy H.

Good, but not perfect yet

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source, works on all major platforms.
What do you dislike?
Bugs, performance issues relating to sync, lack of P2P support unlike Resilio.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Decentralized collaboration with everybody working remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As with most open-source solutions, you'll need a decent grasp of configuring and running a server, and of course a lot of patience to deal with problems that will inevitably emerge.


    Francesco T.

Multipurpose collaboration solution

  • June 01, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Many many plugins, webdav filesharing and easy to mange. fully customizable. brandable layout.
What do you dislike?
some issue to make it work with old OS version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
easy collaboration for company users and fast and safe sharing with external users
decks plugin is amazing for organization
Recommendations to others considering the product:
fast solid and very versatile


    Mohamed Taieb B.

Nextcloud Université de Lille

  • May 27, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Safety and quick upload/download rate are available with this service
What do you dislike?
To be honest, as long as I used this service for almost 3 years long, there is nothing unsatisfying. Nextcloud is good and professional
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The use of hard drives and loss of data especially.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You just have to try it and you'll be satisfied


    Aritra M.

Nextcloud Review

  • May 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
1. It understands and corrects incorrectly spelled words, helping improve capture of features and avoiding loss of context
2. Context is also captured while defining objectives for sentiments.
What do you dislike?
SKU breadcrumbs crawled through the e-com website is a bit difficult.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Link-sharing
File-storage
Documentation
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Cost-effective, easy integration with unlimited storage. A perfect combination for file-sharing.


    Arnav T.

Best file hosting service

  • April 18, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is an open-source and self-hosted service. It offers us a private cloud solution. It can easily sync files from desktop and mobile devices. We can effortlessly share the files and integrate them with other storage platforms.
What do you dislike?
I have no issues with the NextCloud it is an excellent file hosting service.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I'm using Nextcloud to share and access data with colleagues, partners, and customers securely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nextcloud is a fully-featured file hosting cloud-based service, and it also works great with other storage platforms.


    Francois A.

No hassle cloud sharing deployment

  • April 15, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
This is the best solution we have found to manage our data internally and stil be able to share it with clients or collaborators without depending on Google or Microsoft to store our data. We can put as much security as we wish and give out as much space as our servers can handle. Extremely user friedly
What do you dislike?
Nothing muché There are several features that we do not use and to a certain limit, the store for add ons is limited
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sharing securely data with clients and colleagues over the cloud. Reducing costs. Making sure we are as secure as required by our professional orders - our data is hosted at our office and doesn't go in another juridiction where it could be easily accessed.


    Vitaliy S.

Best choose for company cloud storage with collaborative features.

  • March 12, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install. Easy to use. Simple.
Integration features and good community.
File sharing as expected. Actually all features as expected, all mandatory features is good in all: realization, UX, UI, expectation, performance, usage.
UX is good, there is no question like "Where? How? What's next?" while using Nextcloud.
What do you dislike?
Nothing. I got all I need. And much more.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
File sharing, file storing, all over the globe secure access problems was solved. And that is a great benefit. Also a big deal is on-premise installation.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Firstly add 2-3 users and start file sharing, storing. Add Collabora Office, archive extraction addon.


    Dario F.

Good choice for a web storage

  • February 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The service is stable, fast enough, scalable.
What do you dislike?
The service is quite heavy on a small sized VPS.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed to share confidential documents in a controlled way, and due to some geographic restrictions (China), we had no way to use common cloud storage.
Nextcloud is a really good option!


    Francesco S.

A great self-hosted cloud service

  • December 20, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Nextcloud I can manage a full network of collaborators by sharing documents, calendars, maps, notes, todos and even by videoconferencing, all from within my private server.
Nextcloud is a full fledged replacement for Google Drive and Docs, Dropbox, Box, Evernote and the likes.
It is free and can be easily deployed on your own server or shared hosting.
Nextcloud also offers apps for Android and iOS/iPadOS, as well as native sync clients for the most widespread platforms.
Some plug-ins allow for temporary guest access.
What do you dislike?
Not all the services are still bug less, but the developers work very hard to constantly improve the quality of the different Nextcloud applications.
However a Nextcloud setup is typically composed by a core system with lots of plug-ins. It is then possible to isolate the bugged component and wait for a new release without losing the functionality of the core and the other plug ins.
The greatest drawback is that the security of your data is all left to the Nextcloud administrator. On the other side, this means that none can access the Nextcloud files without being part of the organisation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can finally keep all my data in my own environment, without risking that changes in policies, like those recently introduced by Evernote and Dropbox, reduce the number of devices or quotas I originally had.