Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nextcloud Enterprise Ready with Support from HOSSTED

Linnovate - Open Source Innovation | 1.1.0

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

45 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Sandesh M.

Nextcloud : An opensource alternative to dropbox

  • November 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and open-source that you can install on your server.
What do you dislike?
Everything is good, but the user interface could be better.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use it mainly for file backups and file sharing with my team.


    Information Technology and Services

Affordable Cloud Collaboration Platform

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Affordable and many great productive apps, especially files app, talk app, activity app and its easy to use synchronization client. Big price difference with other cloud storage providers
What do you dislike?
Have to separately set up Collabora online to have online preview and editing of MS files, i.e. Word, Excel and etc, via browser for desktop access. It would be great if online preview and editing features could be readily available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it as an auto offsite backup with synchronization client, remote working - access files wherever I am, files or folders sharing with any third party that doesn't have to have Nextcloud account. Great for online video or voice conference over desktops or mobile devices.


    Ryan B.

Excellent Open Source Alternative for your File Sharing and Collaboration

  • November 13, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The best feature of Nextcloud is the easy sharing functionality and controls. Documents are shared internally or externally with strict controls over who can see the file and for how long. I worry less about my documents getting into the wrong hand.
What do you dislike?
I have to go to the browser to share and set permissions for a document. It would be nice to create a quick public share link from the right click menu much like Dropbox.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our Nextcloud install is on our network so, while we do have to maintain the software, it has allowed our team to get away from additional subscriptions for other services.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The release schedule for desktop and mobile apps is quite frequent so you'll need to make sure your IT team is committed to keeping the server software up to date. If not, you'll constantly get error messages on the app saying the software needs to be updated.


    Oleksii P.

Local cloud for anyone

  • October 20, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very convenient to use from whether both web and mobile versions.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the search was working incorrectly.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company needed a local and free cloud for sharing files. Nextcloud was fit the best.


    Health, Wellness and Fitness

I recommend this software to everybody

  • October 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It can be accesos thru Mobile,desktop ir web application
What do you dislike?
It does not surpport Office 365 and Office online and have an high costo for additional service
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Getting rid of huge thumbnails, and the benefit i get from it is You can accesos your data anytime


    Akshat B.

Best alternative to google drive

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
NextCloud is the personal cloud solution I found after I was fed up with Google Drive's pricing and terms of service. It's basically an open source alternative to Google Drive that you can install on your own server at home or at a hosting provider. It's 100% compatible with all major browsers and has desktop and mobile apps for easy access. The interface is very easy to use and the app bundle comes with useful apps like chat, document editing, and calendaring.
What do you dislike?
No dislike as off now despite using since 4 years.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was fed up with google drive, I deleted my google drive and installed nextcloud. I can't believe how easy it was to get started. I had my OS set up in less than an hour, and then I was able to install the android app and get started. I created my own cloud storage platform that is totally under my control. I have my own personal cloud, which I can access from my computer, smartphone, or tablet. It's fast, reliable, and easy to use.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Nextcloud offers a simple, secure and affordable alternative to on-premise file hosting. Easy to install and maintain, excellent OS integration. Nice selection of apps such as chat, realtime document editing and calendaring. It also integrates a lot of the features of a typical office suite. I used a previous version of it for about a year and a half and loved it.


    Consumer Services

NextCloud Usage Experience!

  • August 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
NextCloud is a simple and easy-to-use app, that has helped in solved issue of file sharing, document sharing or any other images easily. It has come handy to me when we had to share projects with our coworkers, we could easily drop in the folder and being easily accessible, the projects were shared.
What do you dislike?
NextCloud is less popular than the other cloud storage apps. No issue so far with it, but yes sometimes I have faced the bugs with the app in the cases where I kept uploading a larger file and it just doesn't reflect in the cloud storage. Hence, making it tideous for us to repeat the same task again and again. This app should be brought up with frequent updates.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It has eliminated the need of expensive purchase of physical storage devices with larger memories. We can easily use this app to share our files and store our files with our friends or colleagues.


    Chemicals

My Thoughts On Nextcloud

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I Like How I Can Store Documents On Projects That I'm Working On And Send Them To Employees Fast
What do you dislike?
So Far There Isn't Anything I Don't Like About NextCloud
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Nextcloud Helps Me to Move Faster On My Projects Its Stores All My Photos And Documents, And I Only USe One App Instead Of 3 Different Apps


    Information Technology and Services

Private cloud solution for small businesses

  • July 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and maintain, excellent OS integration. Nice selection of apps such as chat, realtime document editing and calendaring. Rock solid file sharing solution with peace of mind that big tech won't delete or turn over documents to authorities on the flimsiest of pretexts.
What do you dislike?
Encryption can be difficult to setup, especially after using Nextcloud for some time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure sharing of documents and assets amongst developers and clients on devices of all types while not relying on big tech. Pay just the server hosting fees, no per-user licenses as required for OneDrive or Google Drive. Storage easily and cheaply expanded by attaching additional disks, NAS or even AWS S3.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy a bunch of disks, toss them in a server, install Linux and Nextcloud, and you're golden - this doesn't require tons of skill to do. Or search for a suitable NAS that has a Nextcloud server built-in, stuff that full of disks, and you're good to go. In both cases, use either 7200RPM disks or better yet SSDs. Remember that you can also expand storage by adding additional disks or Amazon Web Services S3 Remember to backup - Amazon Glacier is a suitable offsite backup solution and not expensive for long-term rarely-access backups.


    Hammy H.

Good, but not perfect yet

  • June 22, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Open-source, works on all major platforms.
What do you dislike?
Bugs, performance issues relating to sync, lack of P2P support unlike Resilio.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Decentralized collaboration with everybody working remotely.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
As with most open-source solutions, you'll need a decent grasp of configuring and running a server, and of course a lot of patience to deal with problems that will inevitably emerge.