Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Proxy Server - Squid Proxy Cache Server on Ubuntu Server 20.04

Cloud Infrastructure Services | 0.0.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu Ubuntu 20.04 LTS - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

16 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Jake S.

Proxy server with cache storage.

  • March 05, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like this system because of the ease of use in Windows and Linux, I configure everything from a text file, modify all the instructions and voila, I already have a proxy server installed.
I say the use capacity I need and the IP address with the network workgroup.
In the text file in the configuration you have all possible instructions on the server.
The service starts at system startup.
It is open source and free for everyone.
What do you dislike?
I don't like it because it has no graphical interface for the configuration of the services, everything has to be done by instructions in the text file and getting an error is difficult with many instruction lines.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use this service to save all the cache of my web browsing, from a server I connect all the networks of my PC in local network to my server to save the bandwidth by simply placing the IP address and port of my server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Install this service on your PC to speed up Internet access, all browser cache is saved on your PC and mount the page immediately with a single click.


    Mario L.

Proxy and cache manager, squid is waiting for you

  • July 25, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It serves as cache server so concurrent connections to web´s sites will be much faster to the perception of users, because having stored the data that do not change on the web, the proxy does not consult these elements again and delivers to the user what is stored on your hard drive so decreases your consumption of bandwidth to the Internet. Also if what you need is to see which are the sites in which your users browse, you can generate reports and see data such as who downloaded more information, the most visited pages, among others.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it has errors in sites, for example if there is a page where my users need to connect to download a file with personal information, when a second user tries to connect to this site and download a file with similar structure, but with their data, this sometimes brings the information of the first user, becoming a real nuisance to users and service administrators.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
To have a structure that allows me to manage Internet resources and how they are used by users, to generate reports of what each user is consuming and see how they can impact the business, both positively and negatively. Apart from that with the cache we optimize the use of the Internet, by considerably reducing the requests made to a server, each time a user tries to access a portal.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The pages of financial institutions generally do not allow access when they detect that the connection comes from a proxy, so it is best to bypass the requests that come or go to the websites of financial institutions.


    Keenan M.

Reduce bandwidth with Squid-Cache

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The advantages are caching frequently-requested pages to speed up web page load times and also reducing bandwidth by not having to re-request the same page over and over again. It can also be used as a reverse proxy to accelerate web servers by serving up cached content rather than permitting continuous hits to the web server for identical content to multiple clients.
What do you dislike?
The application can require a bit of technical knowledge to setup and configure. It requires someone with knowledge with Linux.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It is an easy way to save on bandwidth, as well as provides an easy way to force authentication to be required in order to obtain outbound access to traffic


    Aviation & Aerospace

Best Proxy Server Ever

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Squid allows you to maximize your efficiency in using Internet bandwidth by creating a very flexible configuration of multiple servers and peers that can cache Internet content. It allows for both forward and reverse proxying and also supports multiple authentication mechanisms. Squid also features status pages and log files that make evaluating the effectiveness of the product quite straight-forward.
What do you dislike?
Configuration can be a bit daunting, and the configuration file is *long.* The flexibility comes with a price of complexity and time to configure. Debugging the configuration can also be challenging - it can take quite a while to work through the lengthy list of options to figure out what's causing issues and get the right options configured.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Limited Internet bandwidth and faster response times. Also used it for reverse proxying servers, which can take load off of Web Servers by providing quick access to frequently-accessed static content.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Be ready to spend some time getting it configured and tweaking options. Also, it is most efficiently used with static content - dynamic content will result in plenty of cache misses.


    Construction

Easy to use

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that is technology to use for any clients
What do you dislike?
That you can’t really customize as much as you want
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Technology website digital


    Retail

Best private proxies

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The best proxies for YouTube and marketing in social media.
What do you dislike?
So far, this is working pretty well, no issues!
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have a personal business and this helps a lot with my marketing on social media.


    Computer & Network Security

Rewiew on Squid Cashe

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like squid cache because of a good cache system and increase speed in assessing data.
What do you dislike?
I have not seen any work points so far but will be sure to give feedback if I face any setback.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work with clients who do E-commerce and forwarding their customers to a site that has an SSL certificate on their secured (HTTPS) version of your site
Recommendations to others considering the product:

For everyone out there looking for an HTTP proxy that offers them control, permissions and a good logging environment to develop their web proxy and content serving applications, I strongly advice you try out Squid Cache.


    Real Estate

Review of Squid-Cache

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great prices and reliable company, and wonderful for social media marketing.
What do you dislike?
Not top quality but also, better quality is higher priced. So really, nothing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Squid-Cache was wonderful in speeding up our web servers. Our site is secure and running smoothly.


    Marketing and Advertising

Great software

  • January 18, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great software for helping with business strategies
What do you dislike?
It Is hard to use when you are new to it
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Can be used for all types of things


    Rhymma G.

Squid Cache - Browsing at Secure Level

  • January 16, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The browsing over the network with Squid Cache is very secure and fast with reliability.
Squid Cache is very easy to use without any much troubleshooting.
It increase the network speed which effectively reaults in much time saving process.
What do you dislike?
Not much dislike to Squid cache but it can be improved at configuration levels.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In our firm we use Squid-Cache to overcome internet speed issues and maintain the constant network in a far secure way.