Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Tomcat 8 on CentOS Stream 8 by Neodoo

Neodoo Microsystems | centosstream_8_tomcat_8.5.75_v1.0.0

Linux/Unix, CentOS Stream 8 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

97 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Cataldo M.

Very good application server!

  • October 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I use Tomcat since a lot of time: it is one of the best solution for deploying your web applications in a real-worl scenario and in typical company use cases. I had no problems, and very good effectiveness.
What do you dislike?
Performance can be boosted. Sometimes it requires to reload or re-upload web application, but it's a very little problem.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is useful for all web applcations you want to deploy. Perfectly coupled with Java and JSP, very very good solution!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I suggest Tomcat as your primary application server! My two cents you'll love it.


    Wei M.

Free, lightweight reliable environment for Java EE

  • October 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to configure, works best with Java EE, free & open-source.
What do you dislike?
Preformance is not so good for large-scale applications.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are currently using Java EE and Tomcat for the web interface of our private cloud. Both Java EE and Tomcat are free of charge, which saved us a lot of cost. So far Tomcat works stable enough for a internal web system.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Tomcat is the best choice for small-scale Java EE web applications.


    Veronica S.

Apache Tomcat runs the web interface for our product

  • August 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Using Tomcat is pretty straightforward for us in support. We have issues with our software stability integrating with 3rd party services, but it is not the service's fault
What do you dislike?
The logo is a little ugly. I wish it was actually "a patchy tomcat".

Otherwise what we use it for at my work is just to host our web application. We also modify the settings to set up connections in the DMZ by opening specific ports so one tomcat instance can talk to the other.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Solving: I've never had any stability issues with Tomcat, only with our service we offer integrating with Tomcat but never a problem with the service itself.


Benefits: Easily displays information to both advanced and limited-knowledge users.
"Have you tried restarting Tomcat" is a funny joke in the office
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Reliable, used in the tech industry commonly. I really haven't had any issues with it.


    Computer Software

I used it as our web server

  • July 27, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to install, easy to run, not too complex to use, many resources online
What do you dislike?
Hangs sometimes when multiple concurrent sessions, but our system hardware may be also a factor.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Develop an web application. Primary web server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Good one to start with for newbies. Simple and elegant.


    Varun N.

Apache tomcat is awesome

  • May 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's the best product I've ever used. I did many projects using apache in my undergraduate. I still use this for my apps and I love it.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes I got error while using later I found out the solutions and finally it worked.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I have solved the problem of multiple access at the same time and developed the application successfully.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its very useful for doing projects and has very good operations. Its user friendly.


    Marc S.

tomcat review

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Tomcat's best feature is probably how easy it is to setup & run (i'm using various Linux distros).
It's perfect for running (big or small scale) java based web applications (any web framework), and scores bonus points for being open source & part of the Apache Foundation.
What do you dislike?
I have not tried this in quite some time, but i recall trying to integrate Tomcat with Eclipse (IDE) as a tough task. I remember having to really fine tune the Eclipse plugins/installations to get things working (which may be as much of a fault with Eclipse as it was Tomcat). I've since switched to using Jetty for debugging my apps inside of Eclipse.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
As a developer (and sometimes operations guy), finding solutions that save me time is critical...and this is one area (with Tomcat) that has proven useful. I can bake a custom AWS AMI with tomcat on it, and using a configuration management tool like Chef, i can get a new instance of my java application up and running fast.

And in the end, the less time i need to be on my application servers, the better. :)
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You'd be silly not to give it a shot for your java web application needs. Can't beat free, in my opinion (most of the time).


    Information Technology and Services

A good software to perform POC Java web based application

  • May 11, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The software is free, and the installation is very easy, no matter is it running on Linux, Mac, or Windows platform. A lot of commercial application server had the tomcat as one of its component, and added extra functionality on top of it. It is very easy to configure, compare to other commercial server. It had reached up to version 9, and it had a lot of new functionality like websocket.
What do you dislike?
Nothing really. It is very simple to setup, but one needs to read the documentation to try out different features. Even though the software is small compare to other commercial counterpart, it is still a very versatile software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Use as a prototype to build a JSP based application. Good for testing Javascript based framework with JSP technology
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try the APR runtime if you are running in Windows. It had better performance than the default configuration.