Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

ExtraHop Packet Basics (Free)

ExtraHop | 8.5.50.1561

Linux/Unix, Other 7.6.0-r2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

46 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Financial Services

Extrahop Review

  • May 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Extrahop provides a great view of all east-west traffic in an easy to manage and customizable dashboard.
What do you dislike?
Creating dashboards requires knowledge of the language format and creating new metrics to be measured, although most of the dashboards and metrics are already added.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Visibility of traffic inside of our network has enhanced signifcantly from this product.


    Jeffrey G.

Powerful capabilities - Proactively monitor your network with ease!

  • May 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ExtraHop provides an easy to use interface and powerful capabilities that can scale to any size network. Customer support is amazing. My NOC is expanding this service to our other business areas and we look forward to new features.
What do you dislike?
Honestly so far this is a great product for proactive notifications of network issues. It's only drawback is it is only as smart as you tell it to be so be prepared to update the databases appropriately.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are seeing issues in our networks that are not visible in other applications we have been using. This is valuble to our end operations for diagnosis. We can proactively alert teams to take care of incidents better with ExtraHop.


    Computer Software

ExtraHop is pretty good

  • May 17, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I like the dashboard the best. Quick glance at what is going on.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes it can be a little intimidating navigating through the webui.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Security holes and network information


    Hospital & Health Care

A tool that quickly becomes indispensible

  • May 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ExtraHop gives us insights that we simply did not have prior to its installation. We are able to determine dependencies among servers, services, devices, databases, etc. that should be well documented but sometimes aren't. We can build topographical representations of our network segments. Some of the recent unexpected benefits include identifying (and thus being able to block) log4j attacks, and determining which of our clients are attempting to access applications and services using out-of-date SSL protocols. We can easily identify performance issues due to resource overloads or depletion on our web and application servers. In addition, ExtraHop has become a critical part of our security infrastructure for detection of and protection against the plethora of threats all companies face these days.
What do you dislike?
When the tool was hosted entirely on-prem (including data), the short retention period for detailed records was an issue. I don't know if that was our policy or defined to some extent by the platform. Since moving to a cloud-based platform, this is no longer a concern. Outside of that one issue, we have found little to nothing to dislike, at least from a user perspective. I don't know what challenges the platform administrators may face - I've never heard any grumbling from the admins.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance and connectivity issues; SSL protocols used; intrusion attacks.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
ExtraHop provides insights we simply could not get from any other monitoring and diagnostic tool available in our environment. Within two weeks of installation, it was allowed us to determine the root cause of a severity 1 problem within two hours; without ExtraHop, it would have taken significantly longer, and we may have ended up only being able to mitigate the symptoms without fully understanding the core issue.

Using this tool for over three years now has left us wondering how we ever survived without it. I cannot recommend it enough.


    Jomy J.

ExtraHop-Tool

  • May 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ExtraHop tool is a game changer in isolating application issues from network perfomance. Before it was an infinite debate who is wrong, is it application or is it network
What do you dislike?
There is still room to improve false positives when it comes to NDR functionality. we still need to manually isolate the genuine security systems we use here to report falsely
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We resolved a lot of application issues which was either rooted most of the times in subcomponents like DNS, RTOs or the response time itself from the system hosting


    Arron S.

Able to see the data now

  • May 03, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
One of the things that I love about ExtraHop is the ability to go back in time to identify issues. We've all gotten that email where someone asks for help: "There was an issue on server2 last night, but it is working now. What happened?" Usually, there is a very slim chance of answering that question unless the issue happens again. With ExtraHop, I can go back to the exact time and see that the server started taking 2 seconds to return a response when it usually takes 10ms. Oh, and this happens every Tuesday night at the same time, is there a backup scheduled? When brought in to help troubleshoot an issue, I often feel like I understand an application better than the application owners because of all the visibility that I have at my fingers.
What do you dislike?
We had to get professional services to get us started with building out dashboards. Once built, we just copy-paste other applications using the same template. If there were some pre-canned dashboards to help get us started, we could have started using them much sooner.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Performance troubleshooting was the driving force behind the purchase, but the Reveal(x) platform has boosted our security team due to the historical lookback capability and real-time alerting of potential security issues. While all security products require tuning, ExtraHop seems to do a better job of filtering out the noise, which allows us to spend our time chasing down actual issues instead of using yet another tool.


    Travis S.

One of the Best Tools in the Network Visibility Space

  • February 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Extrahop does exactly what it says it will do - analyze traffic live on the wire and present that traffic in easily digested formats, broken down by various metrics. The addition of Reveal(X) to capture potentially risky traffic helps our security incident teams correlate and track down quicker.
What do you dislike?
Extrahop has an avenue it needs to deep dive into immediately, and that's inspecting, categorizing, risk scoring, and using external database data for a deep dive into IIoT/IoT devices. Currently, it can see the traffic on the wire, but the behaviors and risks behind IoT devices will overtake the standard known IT hardware in a few years. Given that these devices are already presenting significant risks to enterprises, they could become indispensable by becoming the masters of IoT devices.
Not necessarily Extrahop's fault as it is a problem with any of these solutions, but aggregating traffic in a large enterprise is not only challenging but an expensive endeavor. There are plenty of networks we want to see but cannot afford to increase the number of EDAs. As a work-around, we use packet brokers to decrease the traffic flows to those we care about to ensure we don't massively oversubscribe the devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using ExtraHop for both performance and security purposes. The developers and networking teams use ExtraHop to detect and remediate performance issues. Security teams use ExtraHop as both a correlation/evidence source and for detecting odd, insecure behaviors before they become problems. Using ExtraHop as the primary source, we have detected devices behaving badly that would never have been seen before.


    Hospital & Health Care

ExtraHop gives 360 degree visibility for enterprise network.

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Real-time threat detection, end to end hops traceability
What do you dislike?
Complex UI for new users, takes longer time to login every time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using extrahop reveal x for network analysis when we encounter any issues in our network , we basically try to trace source to destination reachability and packet level analysis


    Government Administration

Autonomous Threat Detection Realized

  • November 03, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
ExtraHop has given us visibility into the network we previously didn't have. The ability to easily identify anomalous activity has greatly assisted our efforts to protect the Town.
What do you dislike?
There isn't anything that we dislike. We have found all features to be extremely valuable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
ExtraHop has allowed us to solve an issue where we lacked visibility in both the network and security. This tool has allowed us to significantly up our security posture.


    Information Technology and Services

ExtraHop Use Cases

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The AI and ML view into our networks and cyber risk The use of AI and ML allows the sensor to get a baseline and then determine itself if something new or different coming in could be dangerous, no signature files. The tool is in a nutshell is seeing and understanding all of the environment. Most importantly though the changes are seen and ExtraHops algorithms are calculating the risk and its impact on the company.
What do you dislike?
We have run a small PoC, and now extending that PoC into other sites and use cases. The building of that enterprise model so it scales and creates appropriate drill downs can be challenging. But we are still early in our adoption and could very easily be on our side as we get more training under our belts and understand the environment better.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There are a few areas that might be challenging to have agents on devices deployed, ExtraHop gives us a view into the areas of the network that might be more dark than other areas. ExtraHop is also good with new acquisitions, where before we integrate ExtraHop would allow us to see the real risk associated with the new company.