Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CentOS 8 Baseline with OS Patches

Kurian | CentOS 8.5 20211229

Linux/Unix, CentOS 8.3 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

313 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

CentOs - Run your enterprise workloads!

  • June 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's highly reliable and stable , a free variant of popular RHEL distribution!
An apt OS for the web hosting and running development/production workloads.
It's user friendly and easy to adapt for newbies!

A secured OS with an efficient package managementused for applications installation.
What do you dislike?
It's not very easy to get support from user forums , lacks a strong user community base) .
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We have used CentOs for performing devops related work and hosted databases on it.


    Ravish S.

Centos 7 Review

  • June 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Highly Reliable.
It is you can say a free variant of RHEL.
Installation of yum files is quite easy.
What do you dislike?
Updates are not that frequent.
Moreover, most of the users have been shifted to Ubuntu, thus its community is small
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It supports the installation of various development and testing tools such as,

Python,
Jenkins,
Java.

One can easily use this Linux Distribution for their POC work.


    Vaibhav W.

CentOS Review

  • June 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Centos is best to use for development work, very handy.
What do you dislike?
Hard to remember the commands each time while working.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
being a open source gives a good control to the developers while developing a software.


    Adedamola T.

CentOS is a very stable Linux distro

  • June 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is open-source and alternative to RedHat
What do you dislike?
CentOS has a smaller user based community
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
CentOS is very reliable and stable for enterprise use


    Sohail M.

Best distribution so far

  • May 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Everything, Flexibility, stability, repositories, and security overall experience of mine with CentOS is too good. Open-source community integration makes this product more interesting.
What do you dislike?
it's not too old the way CentOS converted now to streamline projects from IBM, I cannot complain because if they will do the mirror distribution between Redhat and CentOS this will set a bad impact on Red Hat Enterprise Server. But so far I don't see any complaints about the Stream project as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Well, it's helping me to cut costs for the enterprise operating system cost as well as helping me to replace the user end licensing cost for Microsoft Windows licensing. It's all win-win for me
Recommendations to others considering the product:
That is the best Linux distribution after enterprise Linux in fact it's the beta project for Red Hat enterprise right now.


    Dan O.

The former Gold Standard in Red Hat compatible Linux distributions

  • May 20, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It used to be a free copy Red Hat Enterprise Edition, but without the support contract or the big license fee. Now, it's more like a pre-release test version.
What do you dislike?
The lack of official help desk support from Red Hat. But when it comes to CentOS troubleshooting, Google is your friend.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This product used to allow me to deploy a large number of Linux systems globally without incurring a huge license fee.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a look at the LTS versions of Ubuntu as well.


    Computer Software

CentOS

  • May 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I am working with centos for the last couple of years and the best part of centOS is

It and open source and easy to install.
Awsome GUI experience.
Easily get documentation on the internet for centOS.
What do you dislike?
To be honest, I didn't find anything odd in centOS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used CentOS as a server in our production environment, I can easily deploy applications on centOS as it's highly secure.


    Zhuye C.

Easy to use for small business website

  • May 09, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
All the commands are same or very similar to Debian, I can use it easily if you were a previous Debian user.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the package manager yum is not up to date. Also there was a time, a version mismatch issue happened when I tried to install application
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I set up several small websites using CentOs for students for education purposes.


    Online Media

Great OS, sad to see support discontinued

  • April 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It has the Red Hat Linux Enterprise features and functionality with a stable server release.
What do you dislike?
Support has been discontinued and they are shifting course to CentOS Stream which is not meant for production servers but test builds which are less stable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It used to have a long lifecycle of 10 years which provided a stable release without having to do any major upgrades.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Since support for CentOS has been discontinued, I'd research an alternative to meet your needs.


    Swarup A.

A Candid CentOS Review

  • April 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
As an enterprise-grade Operating system, Centos is truly a phenomenal experience for engineers and developers. I have been actively using it as part of software projects
What do you dislike?
Can be made more user-friendly for users who are not from a technical background. The configuration and performance metrics can be improvised by at least 20% so that they can be scaled for a wider user base.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Semiconductors deployment, IoT and AI-based solutions. Innovating use-cases on cloud computing, SAAS applications and edge computing. In summary, serving needs for compute, storage and networking.