Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Wind River Linux Development Environment

Wind River | LTS 21

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

11 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Automotive

It was great experience to use it.

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ease of use and the security patches are updated
What do you dislike?
I am yet to explore more to comment on it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I work on securing the product which uses Wind River


    Kanthipriya S.

Wind river Linux - stable and robust OS for embedded devices

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wind river Linux is stable for IoT development with lot of tools available.
What do you dislike?
For starters it's little difficult to use initially
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I did not face any major problems. But because of the robust feature and tools to choose from, it's beneficial for the development on embedded devices.


    Computer Software

Best OS for Embedded Devices

  • December 27, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best Linux distro for IOT device which works
What do you dislike?
Windriver tool should be advanced for Vulnerability assessment.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were using another embedded OS, But when we started using Windriver, It had straightforward integration with hardware.


    Banking

Advanced development platform

  • December 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
There are lot of tools and products to choose from.
What do you dislike?
It is little complex to use initially and security seems to be a concern.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was used to develop and build embedded systems applications.


    Alireza N.

Very robust distro and solid support

  • November 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The most important thing when you want to integrate a Linux distro in a commercial product is the support. We found Windriver support to be incredibly good. We were able to get on a call with the support and got our questions answered immediately which really helped cut down on development and increased the stability of the final product.
Windriver is very stable and has got some better performance over other distros of Linux that are commercially available.
I'm also glad that they embraced the open source software a long time ago.
VxWorks also is a great RTOS that is very stable and has great support.
What do you dislike?
The cost of the platform is high, royalties for high volume products is gets high pretty quickly. Windriver Linux distro is solid and can be integrated with minimal effort into your product.
I would expect from Windriver to have built some kernel modules already to address common customer requirements and to fix some issues with Linix kernel.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Installing new operating system on a brand new industrial¸ product. Thanks to their responsive support and amazing help we were able to cut down on the development cycle by a lot and also reduced the number of issues we could have run into after the release of the product


    Xavier R.

Linux code devices.

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Adapt to open source systems and Linux systems, known and stable core for the development of IoT and specific control app.
Virtualize app for the development of security and monitoring management.
What do you dislike?
Issues with security patches with different devices and drivers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Troubleshooting and security control in genuine development apps, adapt and test electrinca together with Software.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Intelligent development of applications for specific devices.


    Telecommunications

Using and Evaluating WrLinux for a few years/a few projects

  • August 19, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
security, compliance of 3rd party software licenses
What do you dislike?
The previous wind river Linux RTLinux is gone. So comparing with other Linux distributions, no unique feature of Wind River Linux anymore
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
security patches available on time


    Computer Software

WindRiver Linux for Embedded Device

  • August 02, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wind Rived Partnered with Red Hat to build best linux solution.
What do you dislike?
There isn't any dislike as such till now.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We used it for embedded systems, as earlier a library from normal distributions was removed, and later we were able to get it done by Wind River Linux


    Praveen K.

Using Wind River Linux for Industrial Edge Computing

  • July 29, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wind River Linux enables IoT edge computing, demonstration of an electric pump with fault detection with Seco gateway.
What do you dislike?
Its operating system found it hard to learn the layers and build files compared to other products available. And this is not for beginners.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Its operating system found hard to learn the layers and build files compared to other products, and it is suitable for embedded devices that are beneficial for us.


    Medical Devices

Wind River Linux is a great choice for medical devices requiring Linux

  • July 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Wind River Linux is a great choice for medical devices requiring Linux. It provides a stable platform which is a necessity for devices that operate under FDA regulations. You get the benefits of Linux and open-source, with the advantages of dedicated support and controlled changes. Additionally, Wind River will customize a BSP for your hardware specifics.
What do you dislike?
I don't have a particular dislike of Wind River Linux. They are the best solution in the Linux space for embedded medical device software. If anything, as with all Wind River, they are not inexpensive, but WRL is certainly inexpensive in contrast to VxWorks.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We had a legacy product with a Linux distro that was constantly changing, requiring us to manually maintain our build. There was even a case where a library we used disappeared, only to find that it was literally maintained by a teen in his basement, and he basically dropped it. Moving to Wind River Linux provided a controlled and validated platform we could use. Additionally, they provide a validation report indicating the build meets performance requirements. It's also worth noting that the Wind River VxWorks OS is an industry-standard name for safety-critical applications. They carry this knowledge into the Linux world with this product.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Utilize Wind River support. They were able to provide a custom BSP for our exact needs. They also provide documentation specific to medical devices and provide support. For every release, they provide a complete set of verification and validation documentation. Take advantage of their services.