Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

CouchDB by Intuz

Intuz | 3.1.1

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 20.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

57 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Manu V.

Simple NoSQLDatabase

  • February 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
What I like most about CouchDB is we can host it on our private server. I use CouchDB as part of my client project, and it allows me to store different types of data as a document. It supports rest API calls and provides various features to filter data from databases using API calls.
What do you dislike?
CouchDB community support is not promising at all. There are not many public response forms to discuss the functionalities. Even in StackOverflow, there is not much response to developers' questions. I feel there is much needed to develop a community like MongoDB.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I use CouchDB as part of a client project. As per my experience using CouchDB, not much impressed with the data filters offered by CouchDB. But It supports Rest API calls, making it easy for me to fetch corresponding data from DB. It provides hosting options on any server that allows scalability to my projects.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will not recommend CouchDB to all customers. But developers can try out CouchDB and check whether it met their project requirements. It comes up with value for money features, and if it matches your project requirement, then you can go for it because it is less expensive compared to other NoSQL databases.


    Sharique K.

High Availability Cluster DB Solution of Choice

  • April 07, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since by design Couch DB is made for high availability its enables us to create highly reliable services and a great API provides seamless integration with the rest of the ecosystem.

The replication mechanism is the best and highly configurable so as for different customers different configurations can be enabled. Remote monitoring is also a highlight which helps to diagnose problems in advance and take corrective actions as needed
What do you dislike?
The general availability of skilled engineers with CouchDB skillset is a persistent problem. This results in a long ramp up for the joined and it takes time for them to develop their skillset and be up to speed
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Provide high availability data storage solution for critical processes. The solution must be fault-tolerant and highly scaleable
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Setup a good training plan in case there is a lack of a skilled workforce. A step up step training plan in this technology will go a long way to increase productivity for the team


    Insurance

yes,couchdb is a nice nosql database which has comes up with user friendly manner

  • July 14, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
in couchdb we can store any kind of data like json ,html ,etc.
What do you dislike?
it is somehow how seems little slow than RDBMS
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we can use different kind of data using couchDB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
it is a nice database who feels to use NoSql.


    Susmit S.

Couch DB The best DB I have used, made my life easy as a developer

  • July 08, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Pros of CouchDB are:-

CouchDB enable replication of itself easily which lead to data sharing among different devices.
CouchDB allow flexible data structure, means any type of data can be stored together.
CouchDB uses HTTP API for easy communication among database.
ReduceMap allow optimize combining of data
Document oriented database management! This alone is worth it: being able to describe your record in a JSON document, and then index it is HUGE.
You're able to store the SAME document in multiple database instances, and due to CouchDB's engine, it is not a problem.
FAST: Accessing JSON is programmatically easy to parse, and therefore makes it to choose
It can replicate and sync with web browsers via PouchDB. This lets you keep a synced copy of your database on the client-side, which offers much faster data access than continuous HTTP requests would allow, and enables offline usage.
Simple Map/Reduce support. The M/R system lets you process terabytes of documents in parallel, save the results, and only need to reprocess documents that have changed on subsequent updates. While not as powerful as Hadoop, it is an easy to use query system that's hard to screw up.
Sharding and Clustering support. As of CouchDB 2.0, it supports clustering and sharding of documents between instances without needing a load balancer to determine where requests should go.
Master to Master replication lets you clone, continuously backup, and listen for changes through the replication protocol, even over unreliable WAN links.
What do you dislike?
Cons of CouchDB are:-

CouchDB takes extra space for overhead, which is a major disadvantage as compare to other database.
Creating random queries, which do not have any view are expensive.
No built in full text search

Although there are ways: couchdb-lucene, elasticsearch
plus some more:

It doesn't support transactions
It means that enforcing uniqueness of one field across all documents is not safe, for example, enforcing that a username is unique. Another consequence of CouchDB's inability to support the typical notion of a transaction is that things like inc/decrementing a value and saving it back are also dangerous. There aren't many instances that we would want to simply inc/decrement some value where we couldn't just store the individual documents separately and aggregate them with a view.

Relational data
If the data makes a lot of sense to be in 3rd normal form, and we try to follow that form in CouchDB, we are going to run into a lot of trouble. A possible way to solve this problem is with view collations, but we might constantly going to be fighting with the system. If the data can be reformatted to be much more denormalized, then CouchDB will work fine.

Data warehouse
The problem with this is that temporary views in CouchDB on large datasets are really slow. Using CouchDB and permanent views could work quite well. However, in most of cases, a Column-Oriented Database of some sort is a much better tool for the data warehousing job.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
NoSQL databases represent a shift away from traditional relational databases and can offer many benefits (and their own challenges) as well. CouchDB offers us these features:
Easy replication of a database across multiple server instances
Fast indexing and retrieval
REST-like interface for document insertion, updates, retrieval and deletion
JSON-based document format (easily translatable across different languages)
Multiple libraries for your language of choice (show some of the popular language choices)
Subscribable data updates on the _changes feed
Availability
Consistency
Partition Tolerance
CouchDB fell into the AP camp (Availability and Partition Tolerance), which was what we were looking for for our own data concerns (not to mention the ability to replicate data on either a continuous or ad-hoc basis).
Recommendations to others considering the product:
CouchDB is particularly suitable for storing unstructured or semi-structured data that does not require strict fields and data types. JSON document with RESTful HTTP API for operation is highly desirable to be stored as a serialized object for Web and Mobile applications. However, NoSQL and Map-Reduce paradigm might be a significant hurdle to integrate with SQL-RDBMS system.Pros and cons found by me:
Serialized objects can be stored as unstructured data in JSON formatted documents highly desirable for Web and Mobile Applications.
RESTful HTTP API provides flexible and seamless database operations.
Scalable distributed high availability solution with replication capability for redundant data storage.
NoSQL DB can become a challenge for seasoned RDBMS users.
The map-reduce paradigm can be very demanding for first-time users.
JSON format documents with Key-Value pairs are somewhat verbose and consume more storage.


    Ahamed R.

Its very much easy to work with NoSQL databases, and CouuchDB worth the work

  • July 07, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
First of all CouchDB is a NoSQL database, since I am a full stack developer I have worked with SQL and NoSQL databases what make me more comfortable and more easier to manage feeling is always can be get via NoSQL database. thats the best part in CouchDB and couchDB is offline friendly when we compare this with other competitor NoSLQ databases as per my experience and knowledge Google firebase also provide this feature in a different way. but when it comes to deployment we relay on a different server but in CouchDB its not like that we can deploy it in our own server! and last but not least the cost is lower than Firebase and it's a open source project by Apache so even I can be a part of it.
What do you dislike?
What I felt as a drawback or a disadvantage is its basically do not have a built in full stack search and since its a JSON typed single node might be the load is pretty high.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Couch DB makes the offline rendering more easier and more convenient, I can store my data in my own server.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I have went through the recent releases and updated I have got to know that we can even run SQL queries in couchDB and there are some limitations also I would recommend to fill those limitations with more features.


    Nishanthan M.

CouchDB :Quick documented database management system

  • July 06, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Light weight NoSql data store very easy to install and can host on own server.

Save data in document based on JSON structures and accessing JSON is programmatically easy to parse and therefore makes it fast to query and view.

Additional drivers are no need to work with CouchDB. The Rest API is enough to read data.
What do you dislike?
It is not widely used or if it is, not a lot of people are admitting to it! This may be a concern if you are looking for people that have CouchDB experience to work on your project.

Documentation is always helpful but it took time to understand how indexing and views worked.

CouchDB software adapters are limited so mainly have a couch-rest library for rails app.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am using CouchDB as the main NoSQL information database server for our product, a globally used network testing and security product. CouchDB helps us save and access thousands of documents of crucial information representing the data points and meta data of the product activities.


    Sumantra D.

CouchDB : Relaxed or Ruffled ? A developer's take on CouchDB

  • July 04, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best for offline usage.
Replication.
If the availability of data is the main motivation than consistency. Content-based sites where you want to show movies, music, images and their metadata. Where the transaction is not important.

The replication happens from higher revision id documents to lower revision Id Documents. A simple and effective way to manage.
What do you dislike?
The conflict resolution of documents.
Very slow in querying large data sets.
Not suitable for payment and analytics operation. The whole replication process stops when there is a single conflict in the document.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Availability of data to users. Whatever the situation technically user should always able to see information onscreen. Availability takes precedence over consistency.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Choose if you are looking for availability over the consistency of data.


    Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

CouchDB was very dependable and straightforward to use.

  • July 03, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it's built on Erlang system and thus its fault tolerant
What do you dislike?
JSON model is a little more complicated to create model for compared to MongoDB.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
CouchDB provides good sync and real-time capabilities as it can be connected with PouchDB


    Kamran S.

CouchDB

  • July 02, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
CouchDB is schema-free, support easy replication, have simple API, eventually consistent, and can handle huge amounts of data (big data). The architectural design of CouchDB makes it extremely adaptable when partitioning databases and scaling data onto multiple nodes. CouchDB supports both horizontal partitioning and replication to create an easily managed solution for balancing both read and write loads during a database deployment.
What do you dislike?
In-place updates require server-side logic (update handlers).
Temporary views on large datasets are very slow.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Easy replication of a database across multiple server instances.


    Jayagopal V.

Optimum solution for highly designed applications

  • June 29, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to attain solutions at ground level. We analyzed various NoSQL solutions for our project and finalizd CouchDB as Persistancy. That made us the finest solution for our project owned. CouchDB offered to easy integration with web services and connection pools. One important aspect we liked more is its GUI and their capabilities. The awesome GUI gives more enhanced accessbility from beginners to professionals. CouchDB logging system is giving a way to easy the process of error handlings and runtime blockers. It is a handy to figure out production and live issues on products. Another kudos goes to CouchDB documentations. The structured documents give a clear understanding of the idea and solutions CouchDB matters. That helped us to grip the soultion with our implementation. CouchDB's replication handlers play a vital feature of solution. When we approached the soultion with our implementation, we have not faced any hinderance with services. Obvious the CouchDB's querying systems sense a much plain keywords and meaningful. This makes a readable plain complex query to attain different set of models and data feeds. More over CouchDB is a proving solution as an application package and delights developers to stick with their services than inner complexities.
What do you dislike?
More discussions would like to happen at public forum.
Reach more online platforms.
Annouce more bounty program in online portals.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Scaling with pool connections. It is really helped us to attain the services at least time on data connections pool than various other NoSQL products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Awesome product for highly designed solutions, easy approach

Fine product for professionals

Well structured and detailed documentation