Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

External reviews

425 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Mathias F.

Best NoSQL option

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I did a great research of NoSQL document oriented databases. MongoDB was my ultimate choice and I haven't regretted it yet. I loved the online documentation, the great books, the huge community. Technically, I've been running a web application with MongoDB with 3 shards and 2 replicas for 5 months now and it's working so smoothly it scares me.
What do you dislike about the product?
Being used to work with MS SQL, I miss the Management Tool application. I found some client apps for Mongo, like Robomongo, but still haven't found the one that makes me feel completely covered and comfortable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MongoDB solves every database related problem for a modern web application. Dynamic document structure, rapid searching, ease of learning, etc.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should read a book before starting using it. There are many configuration aspects you should know from the beginning.


    Raju M.

Totally enjoying NoSQL with mongodb

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Since mongodb is schemaless, it is very flexible when working with collecting dynamic data, I use mongodb for an IOT project and it involves storing large amounts of data and performing quick aggregations on a daily basis. MongoDB does this very fast and in my opinion performing time based operations on MongoDB is much easer than on MySQL; I have worked with MySQL and there came a time that my project almost came to a halt because the data queries became so complex and there was drop in performance. That has not been the case with MongoDB.
What do you dislike about the product?
Map reduce was something that took me a lot of time to understand and I just wish there were more resources to learn this.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Providing analytics for IOT devices.

Having moved from MySql based system, where I was at my wits end trying to write proper queries, Mongodb uses plain Javascript which I understand well enough, it made my work a lot easier.

I didn't have to learn a lot to undestand how MongoDB worked because I already wrote code in Javascript and there are lots of good nodejs ORMs for MongoDb;
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want something scalable and fast, I would suggest MongoDB.


    Higher Education

MongoDB changed how I construct databases

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Very different compared to SQL but in a good way. It really makes sense to me when constructing databases.
- I love how you troubleshoot the mongdb to see if data is being populated correctly or databases are nesting.
What do you dislike about the product?
So far after using it for a few months, I don't see any negative things at the moment.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I am just creating my own personal apps using MongoDB as the back end database.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I will definitely recommend.


    Derek N.

MongoDB is Simple to Use NoSQL DB

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I've liked MongoDB from the beginning for it's ease of use. When building out a new app, it's no schema nature makes building the data layer a snap. It has very supported clients in pretty much every programming language, so I've never had an issue with Mongo support cross different environments.
What do you dislike about the product?
Mongo doesn't have native support for joins, which can bite you later when your db grows and complex queries would be better served by using a join. With that said, blindly using Mongo for a highly relational project is a reason many people give Mongo bad reviews, but it was never supposed to be used for such scenarios. Although, I admittedly sometimes still use Mongo in highly relational apps because it's ease of use makes up for some of the relational query issues I may have.

Also, mongo is password free by default, which unfortunately leads to a lot of users having public facing DBs with no password protection!

Lastly, a production environment is pretty complicated to setup properly. For the most part, I'd recommend using a service to manage this for you. So in that regard, a production environment setup could be much easier to setup.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I love using Mongo in applications where the incoming data to be stored has no implicit structure. This is where a schemaless database shines.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give MongoDB a try. It has a very low learning curve at first, so it's easy to get started. With all devs being familiar with JSON, the Mongo syntax is super easy to pickup. Just do not expect it to be a relational db, because it's not.


    Erik U.

Great database for use with your JavaScript and Node.js projects

  • April 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Native support of JSON is a great feature of MongoDB and a core requirement for my project. If you are new to MongoDB there are plenty of resources available to get you started with ease.
One of the resources I'd recommend to anyone considering MongoDB is Mongo University. Their free courses give novice MongoDB users all the essential skills to start with MongoDB.
More information is always available in MongoDB documentation.
What do you dislike about the product?
Persnally I find that maintenance of MongoDB can be tricky and might require more training and hands-on experience. One must also be comfortable with command line tools. I am still learning about proper security settings on my project.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Flexibility and GeoSpatial queries and inexing.
Full-stack development with Meteor.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Give it a try.


    Gonçalo M.

I used mongodb for small and big sites, always with mongodb

  • April 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB is great because its colelctions are in "json" and it makes it so natural to work with nodejs. I like the ease which you can protoype apps, you just have a bunch of data and throw it at mongo and then you can easily query it.
Aggregations are very powerful and I always found the right solution for complex data.
What do you dislike about the product?
There are other document databases which offer a way better integration for relations/joins. That's basically the first question that comes from a guy coming from mySQL which is difficult to explain to them how you would avoid them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had so much data around and using a database like mongo we made our data more flat, of course our DB size was very big but the performance improvements were visible. The benefit of it was that our pages were much faster to get delivered, data was all there and we did not have to go make 200 queries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you choose to move to Mongo from a "traditional" RDBMS you have to rethink the way you see "tables", collections in this case. This I guess is the most difficult part to move to mongo.
If you need good scalability mongo is a good choice, it is just easy to setup and it just works.


    Computer Games

MongoDB at scale

  • April 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB structures data into collections of JSON documents. This is the most important thing I have liked about MongoDB. Also, I can get great performance out of MongoDB, even if my entire database doesn't fit in RAM. Further, we don't need to worry about messing with system collections, local, admin or config databases directly. There are administrative commands and shell helpers for the operations we will need to perform.
What do you dislike about the product?
Real time data streaming is not very efficient with this database. Also, large query time in searching through large data sets.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Making the learning process in sales industries methodical and deploying courses for them on a large scale to make the teaching interaction smoother. MongoDB is used for the monitoring of performance of people and analyzing them.


    Military

Used MongoDB for pretty small production usage - 1,200 documents at max.

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best things in MongoDB is the schema-less db - it helps move forward rapidly in prototypes.
What do you dislike about the product?
The query language is really hard to use, I would like it to be easier to query nested structures (such deep arrays or deep properties), I want to it to be intitutive like sql for data exploration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problems I am trying to solve are simple CRUD for storing metadata on instances.


    Jony C.

Excellent Document DB

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very easy to get started, with very simple tuning you can get good performance.
Designing the data model is pretty straight forward - match the document structures to your find patterns and you'l be fine.
What do you dislike about the product?
default configurations may lead to data loss - not something you want to find out in Production.
We've had incidents were data was lost or corrupted due to the way the internal replication works.

These are real "corner-cases" but if you need 100% guaranty of your data it's an issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our product mainly uses Mongo to store "resources" - mostly things that can be fetched by IDs.
mongo is also used as a staging area due to it's flexibility and performance.

Last but not least, Mongo stores our Audit information.

Mongo did all of the above without any issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is a very simple to use yet very powerful document DB.

It's main powers are at the 2 ends:
- the very simple use cases: configuration management etc.
- the very large scale use-cases, for when a single machine is simply not good enough.

Since mongo can scale tremendously with very little effort and gives good performance it's definitely worth considering.

One thing to note here is that most developers and many DBAs are used to thinking in a relational model and might find Mongo to be lacking in features such as JOINS and might even try to implement it on the application side.
- it's not directly related to Mongo as a product but to the fact that it might take an extra effort to make the mind switch to work in a way which is more optimal to Mongo.


    😾 Jean Paul R.

Non relational database MongoDB for multiple purposes

  • April 18, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Since this is a non relational database it offers a different approach for storing data. It's a whole different world.

This db can be used for cache layers in large scalable systems. Can be used as well as an alternative database for web systems. In my personal experience I have used it and have seen it being used for large mobile apps.
What do you dislike about the product?
The transition from relational databases to non relational like mongo can be hard sometimes, but once you get used, a learning curve that lasts about 1 month you will love it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To handle large amounts of data this db is a good option.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to scale a system, or store large amounts of data, this is a good option.