Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

External reviews

465 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Computer Software

I'm a student, iOS, and full-stack web developer.

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's fast, efficient and easy to use. It's also reliable and easily works with my favourite frameworks like Rails and Meteor. There a lot of other NoSQL solutions but MongoDB is one of the fastest growing solution.
What do you dislike about the product?
The syntax can be somewhat confusing when digging deep database problems
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm a founder of an e-commerce website.


    Michael G.

MongoDB is great for unstructured data

  • March 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease of operations, the ease of development and how well it fit into our agile IT org and our co timeous delivery model.
What do you dislike about the product?
Non-ACID compliant which has limited MongoDB use cases that might have otherwise fit.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Data from multiple sources that is slightly different, in a relational DB, the data model would become unwieldy quiet fast, but MongoDB was not o my more performant, but also allowed us to realize storage savings through compression.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure that your use case fits. Don't try to put a square peg in a round hole. Know your data, if it's relational, you should go with a relational DB, it will be better in the long run.


    Bo T.

The best document store

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The ease of use.
The ability to scale very easily.
The great datastructure and javascript query language,
What do you dislike about the product?
Greater speed compared to Postgree would be awesome.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storing large different types of data, not always structured-


    😾 Jean Paul R.

Non relational database MongoDB for multiple purposes

  • March 22, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Since this is a non relational database it offers a different approach for storing data. It's a whole different world.

This db can be used for cache layers in large scalable systems. Can be used as well as an alternative database for web systems. In my personal experience I have used it and have seen it being used for large mobile apps.
What do you dislike about the product?
The transition from relational databases to non relational like mongo can be hard sometimes, but once you get used, a learning curve that lasts about 1 month you will love it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To handle large amounts of data this db is a good option.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need to scale a system, or store large amounts of data, this is a good option.


    Jony C.

Excellent Document DB

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very easy to get started, with very simple tuning you can get good performance.
Designing the data model is pretty straight forward - match the document structures to your find patterns and you'l be fine.
What do you dislike about the product?
default configurations may lead to data loss - not something you want to find out in Production.
We've had incidents were data was lost or corrupted due to the way the internal replication works.

These are real "corner-cases" but if you need 100% guaranty of your data it's an issue.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our product mainly uses Mongo to store "resources" - mostly things that can be fetched by IDs.
mongo is also used as a staging area due to it's flexibility and performance.

Last but not least, Mongo stores our Audit information.

Mongo did all of the above without any issues.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB is a very simple to use yet very powerful document DB.

It's main powers are at the 2 ends:
- the very simple use cases: configuration management etc.
- the very large scale use-cases, for when a single machine is simply not good enough.

Since mongo can scale tremendously with very little effort and gives good performance it's definitely worth considering.

One thing to note here is that most developers and many DBAs are used to thinking in a relational model and might find Mongo to be lacking in features such as JOINS and might even try to implement it on the application side.
- it's not directly related to Mongo as a product but to the fact that it might take an extra effort to make the mind switch to work in a way which is more optimal to Mongo.


    Military

Used MongoDB for pretty small production usage - 1,200 documents at max.

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The best things in MongoDB is the schema-less db - it helps move forward rapidly in prototypes.
What do you dislike about the product?
The query language is really hard to use, I would like it to be easier to query nested structures (such deep arrays or deep properties), I want to it to be intitutive like sql for data exploration.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The problems I am trying to solve are simple CRUD for storing metadata on instances.


    Computer Games

MongoDB at scale

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB structures data into collections of JSON documents. This is the most important thing I have liked about MongoDB. Also, I can get great performance out of MongoDB, even if my entire database doesn't fit in RAM. Further, we don't need to worry about messing with system collections, local, admin or config databases directly. There are administrative commands and shell helpers for the operations we will need to perform.
What do you dislike about the product?
Real time data streaming is not very efficient with this database. Also, large query time in searching through large data sets.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Making the learning process in sales industries methodical and deploying courses for them on a large scale to make the teaching interaction smoother. MongoDB is used for the monitoring of performance of people and analyzing them.


    Gonçalo M.

I used mongodb for small and big sites, always with mongodb

  • March 21, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB is great because its colelctions are in "json" and it makes it so natural to work with nodejs. I like the ease which you can protoype apps, you just have a bunch of data and throw it at mongo and then you can easily query it.
Aggregations are very powerful and I always found the right solution for complex data.
What do you dislike about the product?
There are other document databases which offer a way better integration for relations/joins. That's basically the first question that comes from a guy coming from mySQL which is difficult to explain to them how you would avoid them.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had so much data around and using a database like mongo we made our data more flat, of course our DB size was very big but the performance improvements were visible. The benefit of it was that our pages were much faster to get delivered, data was all there and we did not have to go make 200 queries.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
if you choose to move to Mongo from a "traditional" RDBMS you have to rethink the way you see "tables", collections in this case. This I guess is the most difficult part to move to mongo.
If you need good scalability mongo is a good choice, it is just easy to setup and it just works.


    Marc Antuan E.

Ease of use

  • March 12, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
JSON like usage. Just storing/retrieving JSONs is huge for our SPA, as it just stores the objects from the front end straight to the database and back.
What do you dislike about the product?
Lack of relationships. Comming from a RDBMS world is hard to envision everything as isolated objects.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Faster response times
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Forget about relationships


    E-Learning

Great DB for start up!!!

  • March 01, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Ease of use, retrieval speed, don't use contrast colors for gui
What do you dislike about the product?
Make it more user friendly by using more gui
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Quicker retrieval