Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

External reviews

425 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Ahmed A.

My favorite NoSQL database especially with Node.JS.

  • August 03, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very flexible, homogeneous with Node.sj, very high speed, good utility functions, and easy powerful queries.
What do you dislike?
Establishing relations between collections needs to be done manually and a bit error-prone.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Designing databases for websites and mobile application development.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
You should go for it if especially if you want to develop with Node.js framework.


    Information Technology and Services

perfect DB platform for Big data analytics scaleout in the cloud!

  • June 17, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Flexibility and scalability...Clearly the perfect DB platform for agile, fast speed to market development while dealing with scale based on commodity, redundant hardware is fantastic!
What do you dislike?
A bit too open and immature (as compared to the RDBMS vendors) at times. If your developers are adult-like, Mongo is an awesome tool to support Agile/iterative development. If you struggle with rigors in the app-tier on data model consistency and enforcement, mongo won't help you much (until latest version).
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Internet of things data collection and big data scalability
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Make sure your developers are adult-like...otherwise go with a more seasoned veteran RDBMS like Oracle or MSSQL


    Michelle W.

MongoDB Review

  • June 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mongo is very easy to get up and running. I also enjoy working with the dynamic non-relational JSON collections. It is quick and easy to work with which makes it great for rapid prototyping. The database is also entirely free.

Another aspect I enjoyed about using Mongo was the availability of free educational resources. I enrolled in MongoDB for .NET developers which quickly got me up to speed and I was able to quickly start working efficiently with Mongo at work.
What do you dislike?
The collections used in Mongo don't have support for joins, so if you're working with very large sets of data where you need multiple joins, you may be better off with a relational schema.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I currently use Mongo as a document storage repository and it has been great thus far. Since I am only working with documents, and not multiple large sets of data, the dynnamic JSON collection structure works very well for this.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend Mongo to any developer. It is very quick and easy to pick up with only a small learning curve. Also great for rapid prototyping and for putting together a proof of concept. Mongo is also great for scalability with the concept of automatic sharding as the amount of data in your database continues to increase.


    Hamed Z.

It's great if you're using JSON objects.

  • May 19, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's very interesting for me when I was developing an application based on Node.js. In our application, everything was in JSON and was extremely easy and efficient to use MongoDB to store JSON objects.
What do you dislike?
I didn't like the errors that produced by MongoDB. They were not sometimes understandable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
A web-based graph-based search engine.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you like to have a very easy-to-use database management system that can handle JSON objects, I highly recommend MongoDB.


    Computer Software

best nosql product out there

  • May 16, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
excellent commercial support and documentation.
What do you dislike?
UI admin tool can be improved a lot. better automation tools.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
document storage. low latency inserts and reads. cost effective solution for unstructured data.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i recommend it for right use case.


    Samer B.

Fast, scalable and easy to use

  • May 02, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of use , simplicity, and blazing speed
What do you dislike?
It cannot be used for mission-critical application where data is very sensitive, as the mongodb developers recommend against doing that.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Store a huge set of user data. It has helped me scale up my business in ways that aren't possible with traditional DBMS


    Ewen F.

Lightening fast development and easy scalability

  • April 29, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
MongoDB offers a fast development model over the traditional relational / SQL systems.
What do you dislike?
The lack of good instrumentation to understand the internal state
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Startups development is all about experimentation, both in terms of business model and technical implementation. Using MongoDB it is possible to very rapidly construct and test ideas.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure you need to experiment, else go with proven solutions.


    João B.

Simple, performatic and robust

  • April 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's simple query language and drivers make it easy to learn for adopters while still delivering the necessary power needed for complex analysis.
As a platform, it can handle almost instataneous queries over large datasets and still not give up on write performance.
Some of our scenarios analysis and use cases couldn't be performed on real time on a traditional RDMS and MongoDB empower us to do this.
What do you dislike?
If you take into account the CAP theorem* MongoDB is clearly positioned as CP solution, and while some solutions such as Cassandra can be tuned to allow the developer to change it's priorities using read or write concerns, MongoDB will never let you write to secondaries, this way you cannot favour Availability over consistency, so for any application that requires instantaneous failover it is not recommendable.


*https://dzone.com/articles/better-explaining-cap-theorem
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our latest product to be delivered with MongoDB works on enforcing call center workers schedule and monitoring all possible events on the operations, the real and alerts could not be done on the traditional platforms without a massive work on optimization and the performance we have today would be unachievable.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Take a time to rethink your concepts on data modeling and accessing before implementing your application on MongoDB, the main idea of document storage is to model the dataset based on your application's data access patterns while most companies are used to the RDMS third form pattern that tries to do the opposite, so a mindset change is desirable when adopting MongoDB


    Poe B.

Fast, easy to use and scalable

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Mongo is the best option for web based apps and can be used with other databases too. Is a perfect match for applications made on Node.js - and more, his scalabity and speed are amazing, making this database the first choice for startups and other bussiness with core on inovation.
What do you dislike?
The database need some improvements like unique keys, but in general he is perfect! :)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
My tear are making some integrations with websites and mobile apps and using Mongo DB we can get fast response using sharding and others features. This DB is amazing fast and flexible!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you need a fast and flexible DB, with a lot of native support for fast lanes, this is your DB. But, you'll need a lot of team organization and documentation on your tasks - if you have a Agile Team, it's is a perfect match! :)


    Robert M.

Fantastic DB for all aspects of the technical lifecycle

  • April 26, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Quick and easy setup for prototyping applications without overly worrying about data structures, strong integration with high quality frameworks like NodeJS and Meteor, great to use when your using Javascript within your stack. The latest version that allows for joins within the aggregation pipeline has been fantastic.
What do you dislike?
How much flack MongoDB (and most NoSQL DBs) get when people try to use them without understanding their benefits
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Working heavily with the MeteorJS framework which is tied directly to MongoDB, not only do we use it in our production app we also use it for all of data analysis DB
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ensure it meets your requirements, which I guess can be said of any technology, mainly that whatever framework your using integrates well with MongoDB and has all the functionality you need it to have. In particular, how important are lots and lots of joins?