Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

24 AWS reviews

External reviews

468 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Michael H.

MongoDB and itds new cool features!

  • February 23, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
There are many new cool features which came with MongoDB 3.4. Here are my favorites:
* Native Graph Processing - special purpose graph databases do a good job at storing and querying graph data. But often you want traverse graph data directly in the database. With MongoDB you can process, query, and analyze in real time, without the complexity of duplicating data across two separate databases.
* Improvements for Visualizing MongoDB Data - The complete connector has been reworked and offers now improvements in performance and scalability.


And there will be exiting news of the upcoming version 3.6:
For increasing performance:
- Wire Protocol Compression
- OP_MSG

Introduction of Session:
- Retryable Writes (this is my favorite)
- Causally Consistent Reads
- Notification API
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes I struggle over the javascript syntax which is intensely used and some time a little bit unhandy.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I deal with huge databases, especially the connection to Spark and the new BI Connector in combination with the new aggregation functions helped me already to get things done faster than in the past.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Get ready to understand the concepts of noSQL databases first.
Understand to "Think in documents". If not you may have a rough start.


    Dror Asaf

DBaaS to the rescue

  • February 23, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

First, let's start with why hosted DB and not to manage it yourself, the pain the agony and the resources wasted on maintenance is enormous, leading to a world full of SaaS.

After we removed that obstacle, we just need to choose the hosting environment we want.

Every hosting environment has different features, but only Atlas, has most features and is one click from production usage, include:
1. dynamic scaling
2. per hours pricing
3. Encryption at rest - extremely important to save your IP/Data
4. sharding support - when your business is that sucessful


    Vlad V.

Somewhere between SQL and NoSQL

  • February 15, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Free to add or change fields
Fast performance
Compression (starting with WT)
What do you dislike about the product?
w=0, default handling in earlier versions
in earlier versions, the disk usage was quite high (about 10x the actual size)
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Storing session data
Analytics
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Store everything in one object, do not use the SQL split into different tables paradigm, because Mongo only in the latest versions has added support for queries with JOIN. ($lookup)


    Tomasz T.

Lifesaver or at least product-saver

  • February 13, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB is very easy to learn and the BSON format make is super clear to read and interact with.
The most important for us was the sharding feature and the fact we could take advantage of atomic operations.
What do you dislike about the product?
It's not a general purpose DB and you need to plan heavily before creating new db schema.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were have a lot of performance problems with our write-heavy application and MongoDB helped us save all those problems. The installation and maintenance was also very straight-forward and we were able to pick it up with ease from the online documentation.


    Mohammed Arshad A.

Not a silver bullet, but definitely bronze

  • February 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easiest document database with real querying capabilities with map and reduce built in.
What do you dislike about the product?
Update queries get really slow and database performance starts falling linearly with the size of database
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Workflow management with jobs and task tracking. Product catalog with the evolving schema of products.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It would be wise to design the db in a way that makes optimization of queries or database writes possible. Since it is a nosql document store it is easy to design badly and therefore needs special attention from early on


    Arnold D.

Most mature open source NoSQL database

  • February 07, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
MongoDB is a versatile NoSQL database, that requires limited training to get started. Querying the database doesn't involve writing complex code, but simply sending a JSON filter.
What do you dislike about the product?
Setting up a production system can be rather expensive for small systems. Setup and maintenance can also be rather complicated without paid tools.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
MongoDB has a dynamic schema. This give flexibility to the application, making it possible to easily create backward- and forward compatible versions. The schema does allow the creation of indexes, to increase performance.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
MongoDB can be tricky to setup and maintain. I recommend taking a course and/or using a SAAS product.


    AWS Noob

Everything as advertised...but beware AWS costs

  • February 03, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

So, granted, much of this can be attributed to my inexperience with AWS and their billing, but Atlas makes it so easy to setup, perhaps a warning of:
1) both the cost of Atlas service itself;
2) the cost of the AWS servers Atlas needs to run on;
is warranted when calculating the total expected bill.

So, 5 stars for Atlas. Ding on the cost calculator and unexpected high bill from AWS.


    Chris Witko

The best solutions for pro db

  • February 03, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Totally recommend MongoDB Atlas! Very easy to setup fully pro version on MongoDB, with replicas or sharding. Price is optimal vs quality.


    Taus

Incredibly good

  • February 03, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

It's very easy to setup.
The price is affordable.
They offer good support.

The only things I miss are:
Manual backup button (to make a backup right now)
Web query interface


    Routes Direct Ltd

MongoDB Atlas - a life savour!

  • February 03, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

MongoDB Atlas has been fundamental for my company in the last few months. It enabled us to have a painless and affordable MongoDB service, extremely reliable and secure. With MongoDB Atlas you can scale the database according to your needs - it's absolutely fantastic! Try it out - you won't regret it!