Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Unreal Engine 4

Epic Games | 3.1.2

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base 1809 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

130 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Varun C.

Unreal Engine is really Unreal

  • November 15, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's perfect for AAA games. The blueprint system saves a lot of time for developers and is very easy to learn and implement.
What do you dislike about the product?
Compared to other Engines in the market, like Unity, Unreal needs a bot of practice to understand. There are documentation but I think it can be even better. Also, the plugins available on Unreal Engine is comparably lesser than Unity Engine or any other game engine.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I used Unreal Engine to design and develop a AAA quality game for PC, Mobile and other platforms.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I certainly recommend Unreal Engine for AAA game makers. It has everything that you'd want to work with.


    Computer Games

Ideal for pushing the boundaries of 3D performance and networking

  • August 30, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
ONBOARDING:
First of all, the in-editor introduction combined with the current level of documentation and available tutorials made an excellent first impression on me.

WORKFLOW:
Hotloading, data inheritance, asset redirectors + fixups, graceful handling of missing classes/properties/objects, MapError checking hooks, separate map layers that can be checked out independently, Lightmass+Swarm agents, and debug viewing of blueprints and behavior trees during in-editor testing. As many have already said, the tools are 80% of what an engine is about and these tools have benefited from the 10+ years of iterations. Option to "Play from here" when testing within the editor.

BATTLE-TESTED MATURE FEATURE SET WITH SOURCE CODE INCLUDED:
Huge benefits of Epic actually using their own dogfood to ship games on the platforms with TRC/Cert requirements! Localization, Input support, Top tier animation pipeline (AnimGraphs/Blends/Sockets) with fine root motion toggleability and easy playing of animation montages from sources outside the character's SkeletalMeshComponent, Sequencer, post-processing/physics/audio volumes, audio occlusion, MovementModes already supporting crouch/swimming/flying, DamageTypes/TakeDamage, Camera, Multiplayer out of the box (able to set numplayers in editor) with easy 3rd person mirroring for 1st person characters, UI, Behavior Trees that support the ability to swap out BehaviorTreeData objects during runtime, faction-aware Perception system, Blackboard, and Blueprints that scale from letting you spaghetti yourself in the foot to using them merely as archetypes that do not handle tick events.

C++ with engine/editor source code that includes comments and well-named functions/variables, no interpreted script layer that allows full use of Visual Studio’s debugging toolset such as “setting the instruction pointer while stepping”, Seamless integration with editor blueprint/animgraph access, Reflection, inheritance-based architecture that makes it possible to create gameside systems without engine mods, asynchronous (multithreaded?) raycasts/shapecasts/sweeps, self-adjusting TArrays that make every effort to maintain contiguous address spaces while accommodating dynamic growth, fundamental Pawn/Controller separation, well-designed component system, and overall a lot of smart microdecisions I’ve noticed within the architecture such as flyweight design pattern for behavior trees. Last but not least, I appreciate that the engine code does not define its own FSM template because I prefer to use my own home-grown deferred FSM for managing things like body, high-level AI, and global game states. Same with generic object pools.

Basically, what this all comes down to is us being way ahead of the initial schedule that I originally planned based on estimates from previous engine experiences, including Unreal 3.
What do you dislike about the product?
This engine is overkill for 2D and mobile games due to its very large performance/RAM/storage footprint. Beginners to game development and programming may have trouble with the complexity of this engine. It does sell itself as one size fits all, but honestly, you are better off with Unity if you are making a simple game on lower end platforms.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We intend to use the engine to mitigate technical risk by having it replace the need for a 10-person core tech team.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best if you already have a C++ engineer on your team. You can still make product with pure Blueprint visual scripting, but it will be difficult to get exactly what you need.


    Roberto T.

Super Game Engine

  • May 11, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
unreal is a very powerful game engine, which comes for free.
As artist, I enjoy the light quality of the engine and the possiblity that blueprints give me: even though I am not able to code, I can create mechanics, rules, materials...by using blueprint nodes.
Also, the Interface is pretty easy (especially if you have experience with other game engine and/or 3D modeling softwares).
What do you dislike about the product?
Until now, I appreciate any side of this software.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Video game development, both 2D, 3D and for VR.


    Motion Pictures and Film

the best thing that ever happened

  • January 10, 2017
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
unreal is just a great software. it's amazing how versatile and powerful it is.
What do you dislike about the product?
i really have almost no complaints about unreal. it's an amazing software.if i had one wish it would be a more robust system for dynamic slicing and dismemberment of skeletal meshes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
i have been able to create games with the help of just one other artist, drastically reducing teh costs usually associated with game design.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
i couldn't possibly recommend a better software than unreal


    Samuel S.

An EPIC Game Engine

  • January 05, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Leading the field in real time rendering and fast iteration for gameplay, the unreal engine or UE4 is a very powerful workhorse. It is by far the best in terms of community when one has issues and scalability for working with a large distributed team. It's ability to export to multiple platforms is second to none, and you'd be hard pressed to find something else that can integrate with other technology as easily.
What do you dislike about the product?
I very much dislike how heavy the executables are for debugging. Also the integrations with Perforce can at times be very buggy. On top of this the crash reporting is not sent in a way we can receive, so we had to set up our own solution. Much of the issues seen on the Engine can be fixed though as everyone has full source access so it's very easy to fix.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In order to make a game you must build an engine to play the game on. Engines are very technically challenging to build and cost a lot in terms of time and money. UE4 offers a cost effective alternative.


    Maxim L.

UE4 Review

  • December 13, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
What I like best about working with Unreal Engine 4 is that the possibilities are endless. This engine is made for designers and engineers alike where each one can be very productive with the game engine. You can easily go in an create a game without writing a line of code but for a programmer like myself you can write all the C++ code you want for all functionality. The full C++ source is also available to you so you can literally tweak the engine itself! The pricing model and the tutorials online are also exceptional.
What do you dislike about the product?
This game engine has a high learning curve just because the engine is very immersive and has so many features and features within features. But I don't really see this as something I dislike. The more you use it the better grasp for the tools you will have.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
UE4 provides many benefits for any type of game on any type of platform (Similar to Unity). UE4 also is amazing for simulations, architectural walk troughs, and any sort of project not exactly considered a game. It is a technical sandbox of your dreams.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Only use UE4 if you have a true passion for game development and are willing to spend a good amount of time learning the features. Start with the tutorials online. Or complete the C++ Udemy Class.


    Billy S.

Unreal Game Development

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The blueprint system in the new Unreal Engine is the most powerful and useful tool in the Unreal Engine. It allows users to build a game with little to know knowledge of programming. The Unreal Engine interface is easy to navigate especially if you have experience with other 3D environments or even just playing games on a pc. The render engine is also another strong point of the Unreal Engine. The level of detail and quality of the real time rendering that can be obtained is unbeatable by other engines. The ability to test your level or game inside the engine is also a huge plus. I am fairly new to this type of development, but transitioning into the Unreal Engine was quite easy. The Unreal Engine even supports developing for several platforms. It is possible to develop a PC game, and turn that into a mobile app with just a few clicks.
What do you dislike about the product?
I don't have anything that comes to mind that bothers me about the Unreal Engine. It does everything that I would expect a game engine to do, and more.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are currently building interactive content and games to be used with our products. We are also doing some experimental stuff with the engine that we think will give our clients and edge above other similar systems. I can't go into detail about what we are doing, but what I can say is that before the Unreal Engine the things we are trying couldn't be done before.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
The Unreal Engine is free to start developing on. So you don't need to waste resources until you are actually up and running and generating revenue. You only need to pay, once you actually start making money. So there is no risk to jump in and start learning and developing. Also you don't have to know any programming to start using the Unreal Engine. They have a system in place that generates all the code for you. There are a ton of resources available on the net so if you get stuck or have a question, there is a chance someone else has tried what you are doing and the answer can be found.


    Computer Games

Game Prototyping

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
This really is an amazing tool! My favourite feature by far is the blueprint scripting! With visual scripting you can have another way to approach coding! Personally to me, that feature alone enabled me to get into game design!
What do you dislike about the product?
There really isn't anything I dislike about this program. There's only been a handful of times that the engine has crashed, a few of which were because I was testing to see how far I could push it. And personally for me, recording in game footage can be a bit of a laggy mess...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The biggest advantage of this program is that it's easier to have all members of your team be able to see and get what's going on with the coding! The coding is easiest to follow for artists on the project than just walls of text. And having the chance to use the engine for free is amazing!!
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Great way to get into game design! Definitely follow the tutorials that Unreal posts on their own YouTube channel!


    Kielse N.

Making games with great performance

  • October 24, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Unreal Engine is one of the most amazing systems to create any kind of games. You can prototype a game really fast using several (ready to use) options to create a new game.
What do you dislike about the product?
There is nothing that I dislike, however Unity 3D came to stay and day-by-day Indie game developers are choosing to build their games with Unity. So hard to find good professionals for a low budget project if you are planning to use Unreal. You will pay more, but probably the game will be really good. Unity developers also can create great games, but sometimes they don't have the experience to avoid some problems.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Building a game for Oculus Rift. At first Unity started really well the battle for VR, but Today Unreal has everything that you need.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are a programmer go for it that you will find several tutorials to help you start. If code is not your best skill, don't worry, search for Blueprint tutorials, you will see that you can create your games too.


    Sinan H.

The best out there

  • August 28, 2016
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Unreal engine is perfect for creating games in any genre, 2D or 3D. As an artist, It's really easy for me to work with Unreal Engine. I came from Source Engine and I was blown away by how great the work flow is. It is easy to understand and I can transfer my assets into the engine seamlessly and fast.

If you know a little bit of programming, you can create magic with Blueprints. I personally had no knowledge about coding but this was incredibly easy to work with. Probably the strongest tool in this engine.

Unreals particle editor Cascade a very advanced editor is really easy to work with. There are a great amount of parameters you can choose to create advanced particle systems. One of the best features is the GPU particle option. You can create visually stunning particles with a very minimal hit on fps.
What do you dislike about the product?
Unreal engine can get really complicated because it is really advantaged and powerful. I was so confused when I first switched to this engine. Learning it was a bit difficult but after I got the hang of it, things went smooth and seamlessly. You really need to dedicate a great time to start getting good results.

Sadly it works horribly on lower end pcs. You really do need a beast to make products with great visuals.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We can now stream levels seamlessly instead of putting loading screens in between. The limits are almost non existent compared to the previous engine we used. We can also optimize our game easily with the in engine tools and get detailed reports. It solved almost all of our problems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely try this. Unreal Engine is one of the best in the market right now. You can easily find documentation. and the forums are active. It's also free and open source!