Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

48 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chetan Y.

A Great IAC tool

  • May 11, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform is very extensible using plugins(providers).
This extensibility ensures that it can be used to provision infrastructure across different cloud vendors, and even on-premise.
It can be easily embedded into CI pipelines.
Terraform configuration uses the HCL language which is very powerful compared to other IAC tools which use plain YAML/JSON.
Terraform also gives you the ability to review the changes it is going to apply and even estimate the cost of the infrastructure before it applies the changes.
What do you dislike?
The only nitpick I have is: Terraform stores sensitive values in plan text in state files. This can certainly be remedied using Vault - another product from the same company, but it would have been great to be able to obscure/mask these sensitive values in the free Terraform version as well.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use Terraform for provisioning Infrastructure across different Cloud vendors.
Benefits:
One tool works for different cloud vendors.
It also allows developing reusable modules and utilizing them - reducing the work of DevOps engineers across different projects.
Terraform also allows us to query remote data sources S3 buckets, even HTTP APIs etc. So Terraform can utilize different datasources when provisioning infrastructure. This ensures that the infrastructure is always in sync with those datasources.


    Naren V.

An IaC platform for all major cloud services

  • March 04, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The JSON based code structure for infrastructure management is easy to learn and implement. The many providers that are available makes it easier to manage many cloud services.
What do you dislike?
Terraform is good for working straight forward management approach, but still needs a lot of improvement in conditional management of resources, and updating providers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Infrastructure management of AWS and Azure cloud services
Recommendations to others considering the product:
For IaC requirements, without doubt go for it. It's the best available and it's open source.


    sandeep V.

Use of terraform

  • January 17, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform is the best infrastructure management tool which can automate all the environments depending on the cloud providers that we use in the current industry
What do you dislike?
Hasicorp terraform doesnot have good security features with free version. We need to have enterprise version needed in cases of best security to enable which is bit expensive
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our current environment we are using complete aws cloud and we automated everything with terraform resources like ec2 autoscaling loadbalancers postgres rds sns and all the microservices using terraform.it is one time to job to write the code and will push the code to all environments in no time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Initially it feels tough learning terraform scripting once you have good knowledge on cloud services like aws azure it will be easy to correlate thing with terraform and learn easily. I would strongly recommend to use terraform to ease your work


    Information Technology and Services

Good tool for provisioning cloud infrastructure and managing infrastructure as code

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Supports provisioning infrastructure for lots of cloud providers (AWS, GCP, Datadog, Github)
- Does an excellent job in managing cloud resources as code.
- Terraform does an excellent job in managing state management of resources.
- Speeds up deploying infrastructure to cloud.
- Diffs feature in terraform helps to easily identify differences in resource configurations.
- Feature for exporting existing resources to state files via command-line tools helps to easily migrate resource configurations to code.
- Modular approach works ideally when collaborating with different teams/projects. Allows to share code and enforce restrictions on resources created.
- Strong community support as an open-source project.
- Most of the documentation is up to date even though the cloud providers are rapidly evolving with new features
What do you dislike?
- Would be great if there is some support for development testing
- In some cases, resource creation fails even though the plan was successful (it would be great if the errors could be identified at the plan state)
- Refactoring code isn't easy (resources/modules cannot be renamed).
- Auto-Rollback on failures is not supported.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Terraform helps us provision cloud infrastructure in an easy and repeatable fashion. Managing infrastructure as code brings transparency in resource configurations. Integration with CI/CD tools helps validate resource configurations before application code changes are released to production.


    Nisarg S.

Terraform for Cloud IAC

  • January 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform makes it really easy to manage infrastructure. Having the ability to modularize code is amazing. We create modules that can be absorbed by multiple teams within the organization. Creating workspaces also allows us to manage the environments easily. You can create custom scripts to work with your IAC which is really helpful for the customization of resources.
What do you dislike?
Documentation can be improved, although they explain all the configuration settings pretty well. I have had issues with states getting messed up and it is not easy to fix that. There wasn't much to unit test initially which has been getting improved recently.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using it heavily for creating IAC. It makes it very easy to manage infrastructures. We have multiple teams using all different cloud providers and terraform makes it easy to source it in one repo.


    Anton M.

Turn days of building infrastructure into hours, with Terraform

  • December 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform dramatically simplifies IaaS by providing a solid platform on which one can build their whole infrastructure. This allows for documentation, reusability, and accountability.
What do you dislike?
It is not a perfect product and can mess up sometimes. As long as you know what you are doing, terraform is fixable.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Compliance can be a pain, and repeatability can be difficult. Terraform allows us to write, in code, a LOT of our infrastructure. Terraform makes building new environments take a couple of hours rather than days.


    Richard T.

Top IaC tool

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The speed of deploying infrastructure is amazing! The HCL language is not hard to understand which makes ramp up time super fast, as well.
What do you dislike?
I wish there was better documentation for GCP; at least on the same level as AWS or even Azure.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We deploy infrastructure on a weekly basis and have automated the deployment using Terraform. This is a fabulous product.


    Entertainment

Much needed Iaac tool

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
automate multiple cloud infrastructure using single yaml file
What do you dislike?
state corruption is much hard to resolve
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
easy management of cloud servers and load balancers


    Computer & Network Security

Terraform for cloud infrastructure provisioning

  • December 17, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Terraform is used by my team whenever we plan to add new resource on cloud. It makes the infrastructure much smoother and the best thing is in Terraform its possible to make the templates reusable which in turn saves a lot of time and energy.
What do you dislike?
One of the feature we definitely miss is the auto-rollback upon failure and adding GUI would surely make it a lot easier in terms of operations and time.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Firstly, we have really reduced manual work for our entire infrastructure management. The reusable modules and templates are definately saving a lot of time and energy managing some of the complex architectures.


    Information Technology and Services

I am DevOps/SRE engineer and i am using terraform from last 4 years

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We can automate all cloud services things that we are doing manually to
What do you dislike?
some condition based checks are not supported like if you have scenarios like if rds exist, than don't create, this is hard to manage by using terraform
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Everything like to create the whole infrastructure without login to cloud console, save my time very much