Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Parse Server packaged by Bitnami

Bitnami by VMware | 5.2.1-0 on Debian 10

Linux/Unix, Debian 10 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

6 AWS reviews

External reviews

6 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Spencer

No Real Docs, Lot's of Guessing On Setup/Config

  • August 03, 2021
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

I'm a few days into trying to get this setup.

So far I feel like I've got the majority working, setup SSL cert with the included let's encrypt script and connecting over https is working fine.

The one thing I can NOT get to work no matter what I do or try is getting live queries working. The Parse log says it's started but when I try to run subscribe on a class using the client js sdk latest version I get a websocket connection to my domain using wss:// failed. Apache logs show a string of 403 errors each time the websocket tries to connect.

The few docs that are out there for this AMI are outdated and refer to a server.js file under /opt/bitnami/apps/parse but they've clearly changed the structure and how you set the config settings for Parse. They now use a config.json file which is fine but it would have been handy to have had some documentation somewhere explaining that initially.

Submitting a support request or asking for help in the bitnami community is pretty much a waste of time. The goto response there is almost always "it's a parse thing, go look at their docs" lol. Well it's not, it's a bitnami server stack issue and I'm fairly confident an issue with how the proxy in apache is configured but we'll never know I guess lol.

I'm going to beat my head against this wall until the end of the day I think, at that point I'm going to just delete the instance and start over using the beanstalk build and see if I can't get a little further with that.

1 person found this helpful

    LSC

Dashboard is Blank with floating Images and No Guide on how to Install LetsEncrypt

  • May 21, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

After logging to the platform, the dashboard is blank (White) with floating Images (red,blue and green) and No Guide on how to Install LetsEncrypt.
We have wasted 2days hoping this will work perfectly.

1 person found this helpful

    Saurabh

Unable to connect parse server to Android application

  • May 16, 2020
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

Team,

Please help how to connect Parse server with Android 3.6.0 application.I have done the SSH client setup but unable to initialise Parse connection with Android 3.6.0


    Computer Software

Backend-as-a-Service(BaaS) framework

  • April 19, 2020
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I had personally used Parse-Server in my web application development. In the web application, the most important part for the business of an application is how the application handles the user data effectively in different devices like mobile, laptop, desktop pc, and tablet, etc. And, also the most important point comes after the data handling is that user data should be synchronized effectively in all the devices without having any problem. So for this purpose, I use the Parse-Server tool and manage my application data, with the help of this on different user devices. It is very easy to use and also very easy to understand. There are lots of services provided by the Parse-Server tool for example developed apps can be hosted locally, the user decides about the file storage system and the database management, a user easily constructs queries and dashboard features.
What do you dislike?
The Parse-Server is an average tool for the shared data quickly and without writing any backend code or custom APIs.I would like to suggest some areas of improvement, for example, I find it a little difficult to maintain relationships between various classes.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Resolved data handling related issues in my web application.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend there are other available in the market which is almost provided the same feature just like this software.


    Mike

Saved Me Some Time

  • April 25, 2019
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace


Needed to quickly bring up a Parse server for some testing that I'm doing and this appeared to do the trick. As others have mentioned the documentation is a bit sparse, particularly around the configuration of the 'server.js' file but overall I felt it was quicker then trying to configure one from scratch using a standard linux distribution.

With some better documentation I could put it as a 5-star product but it's still pretty good overall and can save you some time.


    Internet

Get a mobile backend up-and-running quick!

  • November 01, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Really easy to get started
Offers a very nice dashboard to view saved data and good configuration options.
Support for adding 3rd party plugins (e.g. supporting login with different providers)
Easy to construct queries
Easy integration with mobile SDKs, you don't need to explicitly write networking code, you can just handle objects and functions.
Perfect for prototyping solutions and getting something working quickly.
What do you dislike?
From my research and what I've seen from other users, it does not scale that well to really large apps.
Javascript.
Can be tricky to maintain relationship across different classes, would require a lot of custom code in beforeSave/afterSave handlers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Create a backend for mobile & web apps
Send push notifications
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Really easy to get something working quickly and overall very convenient.
It is actively developed but it seems to be more in maintenance mode compared to other competitors.
You will need to self host, but it is very easy to setup a local environment for testing.


    Sydney E.

Parse is good for a lot of things, but it does have it's limitations

  • September 20, 2018
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It organizes our users in a very complete and conclusive way, allowing us to view our users through various lenses, that are helpful to me on the marketing side of things, to develop strategies and suggest improvements. As well as gain access to information about what might be occurring to users I communicate with about what they might be experiencing.
What do you dislike?
I dislike some of the ways that parse operates on the back end. For example, we use parse for email verification of our users. Parse sens them an email to verify, and they verify from there. However, this link has been broken in many instances since the new release of our app. It's a function we need in our app but are now searching elsewhere for because parse, in this case, is simply not as reliable as we need it to be.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Back to what I like best, it gives me a bird's eye view into what our users might be experiencing on the app, their activity, groups that they're joined in. If they're having any issues on our app interface, we have the ability to solve up this problem for them by placing them in a group they need to be in, completing a transaction, etc. It gives us so much control. When our app fails, we depend on using the Parse server to fix functions and experiences for people and provide them quick and easy customer service that keeps our customers around for the long haul.


    Wakeno

Very good on android

  • December 29, 2017
  • Review verified by AWS Marketplace

very good on mobile application, there are not a lot of documentation on how to install for computer but this is very solid !


    Internet

Review of Parse Server

  • October 11, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The different API's that were provided with good documentation,
Good Authentication
What do you dislike?
1) No Oracle database or MySQL database
2) No Python SDK's/ API's
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The project we were working on was to build a carpooling app. Parse was really easy to get started with, and most of the teams were using Parse


    Antonello P.

A real Parse experience

  • January 16, 2017
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Parse Server is the OSS version of our loved "Parse.com" service. Great piece of software but without a real business model.

Now the OSS version maintains the same quality level but with the opportunity for hosting our data and services.
What do you dislike?
The GUI is not 100% complete but we are patient and faithful.
Some paid serviced offers a better mashup of various components (server, tasks, gui, notifications) and at this moment this is the major issue.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I develop mobile apps and a Backend As A Service (BAAS) like this is veri helpful. I tried many alternatives but parse,com was always the best product. Now with the OSS version I can host this software in my clients's servers without any problem.