Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Nextcloud with Pre-configured Stack by Terracloudx

terracloudx | NextCloud 20.0.2

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux Linux/Unix, Red Hat 8 Enterprise Linux 8.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

54 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

Private cloud solution for small businesses

  • January 24, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and maintain, excellent OS integration. Nice selection of apps such as chat, realtime document editing and calendaring. Rock solid file sharing solution with peace of mind that big tech won't delete or turn over documents to authorities on the flimsiest of pretexts.
What do you dislike?
Encryption can be difficult to setup, especially after using Nextcloud for some time.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Secure sharing of documents and assets amongst developers and clients on devices of all types while not relying on big tech. Pay just the server hosting fees, no per-user licenses as required for OneDrive or Google Drive. Storage easily and cheaply expanded by attaching additional disks, NAS or even AWS S3.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Buy a bunch of disks, toss them in a server, install Linux and Nextcloud, and you're golden - this doesn't require tons of skill to do. Or search for a suitable NAS that has a Nextcloud server built-in, stuff that full of disks, and you're good to go. In both cases, use either 7200RPM disks or better yet SSDs. Remember that you can also expand storage by adding additional disks or Amazon Web Services S3 Remember to backup - Amazon Glacier is a suitable offsite backup solution and not expensive for long-term rarely-access backups.


    Abhishek K.

Amazing Service

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
its fast , i am using this from last 5 months. and i am doing great work with Nextcloud
What do you dislike?
its costly, to compare others and i thik it shoud be nigosiate the price
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
i dont have any problems with nextcloud


    Michael S.

Useful for work from home

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It was very useful when my company switched to work from home so I can access files remotely.
What do you dislike?
Connection issues sometimes. It required some technical knowledge from our IT team to troubleshoot.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
IT has made working from home much easier, as i have access to all my files wherever I am.


    Information Technology and Services

NextCloud Review

  • January 11, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the best on-premises cloud storage platforms. However, it does more than store your data online. You can send and receive mail securely, manage calendars, etc.
What do you dislike?
If you want to host Nextcloud yourself, you need your server to do the setup and the knowledge of server management. For someone who is not from a technical background, it would be difficult to do the setup or troubleshoot the errors while doing setup.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We mainly use Nextcloud to sync the files with the local device and store the files on the NextCloud platform. Easy to access files anytime and from anywhere.Easy to share the files with other team members.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's an Open source, provides capabilities for both mobile and desktop clients.
If you want to get a feel for Nextcloud before making a purchase, you can try the company’s live demo.


    Medical Practice

Nextcloud is a good solution for group collaboration

  • January 08, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I really like that Nextcloud grew out of an already-decent project (Owncloud) and built on the success of the previous version. So there's a wider level of acceptance in the user and it's more like what people are expecting than just striking out on its own in a totally different direction. I like the mobile app, I like how Nextcloud integrates seamlessly all the other tasks like mail and calendaring, and how easy it makes group work. I am actually surprised at how well the app works, it's not often that an open source android app really delivers, in my experience.
What do you dislike?
I really wish that it had a decent video chat and screen sharing system built into it. The lack of that really makes it just a bit less than what would be perfectly ideal.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have groups of people split out amongst several different time zones and locations. With Nextcloud, and especially with the native mobile app, it makes it so someone in one place can make a document or snap a picture, and have it almost immediately available back in Nextcloud for the rest of the group to work on. We are using the nextcloud app primarily for sync'ing the remote users' files & photos with their nextcloud account, and then sharing those amongst the group. The end users also edit documents and sync them to the nextcloud storage so that the other users can reference them.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Definitely consider it. There are other options out there, and if screen-sharing/video conferencing is a deal-breaker, then try something else, but otherwise you'll probably get a lot of mileage out ofit.


    anna k.

Excellent App For File Sharing and Storage

  • January 07, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I was at first dazzled with how Nextcloud keeps every one of my PCs matched up with far less struggle documents than anything more I'd utilized. Be that as it may, the applications - gracious the applications! Presently I've come to depend on Nextcloud as the center point for dealing with my customer projects. We can share and match up work documents effectively, however Dash, Calendar, and different apparatuses introduced with it makes an unquestionable requirement have for little improvement shops like mine. Also extra focuses that I can tailor the marking with my organization logo. Customers love it, I love it, and my partners are getting use to hearing me go wild with regards to it.
What do you dislike?
It comes up short on the help of virtual records in the sync customer. As far as anyone is concerned, there is no information on what the bottleneck in the framework is. It would have been great assuming there was an instrument that could give a sign of decisions in the framework that are slow. Presently I have tried myself to see which programming or equipment has been excessively lethargic.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Use it as an auto offsite reinforcement with synchronization customer, remote working - access records any place I am, documents or organizers imparting to any outsider that doesn't must have Nextcloud account. Extraordinary for online video or voice gathering over work areas or cell phones.


    Melvin J.

The easy-to-use private cloud drive

  • January 04, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
For open-source solutions like Nextcloud, another link is their development community. With the contributions of the development community, this type of platform can operate smoothly.
What do you dislike?
What I don't like is that I haven't encountered complicated problems in use so far—the best Open-source cloud server ever with the best functionalities. Continue to add better and more convenient cloud functions.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
NextCloud has all the essential functions from self-hosted cloud storage services, including full-text search, workflow management, server monitoring. Because the collaborative operation function allows business information to be quickly reflected, the business service quality of the company's projects has also continued to grow.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
NextCloud expands its services and adds more new features. In addition, the activity of the Nextcloud development community has contributed to the improvement of the platform. The above points have repeatedly shown that Nextcloud is a promising cloud hosting solution.


    Monalisa J.

Nextcloud is easy to install. It is for the home users as well. You can store your photos, documents

  • January 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Eady to install, easily available as it is open source. A safe home for all data storage. I would highly recommend.
What do you dislike?
Online editing of the microsoft office is limitrd. Mobile app doesn't always sync automatically.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do sync mobile app manually


    Anteneh G.

Commendable app for file sharing and storage

  • December 22, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
More than anything else file sharing is the best function from the next cloud. The app is also easy to use even for tech savvy people and works on mobile and desktop operating systems.
What do you dislike?
As the app is busy and crashes sometimes, it is difficult to work simultaneously online with different people on the same document.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Sharing big files and working on the same document such as progress reports/ proposals simultaneously online without a need to wait for one to finish. Besides, I also use nextcloud to share my personal and organizational key documents.


    Francesco S.

A great self-hosted cloud service

  • December 21, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
With Nextcloud I can manage a full network of collaborators by sharing documents, calendars, maps, notes, todos and even by videoconferencing, all from within my private server.
Nextcloud is a full fledged replacement for Google Drive and Docs, Dropbox, Box, Evernote and the likes.
It is free and can be easily deployed on your own server or shared hosting.
Nextcloud also offers apps for Android and iOS/iPadOS, as well as native sync clients for the most widespread platforms.
Some plug-ins allow for temporary guest access.
What do you dislike?
Not all the services are still bug less, but the developers work very hard to constantly improve the quality of the different Nextcloud applications.
However a Nextcloud setup is typically composed by a core system with lots of plug-ins. It is then possible to isolate the bugged component and wait for a new release without losing the functionality of the core and the other plug ins.
The greatest drawback is that the security of your data is all left to the Nextcloud administrator. On the other side, this means that none can access the Nextcloud files without being part of the organisation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I can finally keep all my data in my own environment, without risking that changes in policies, like those recently introduced by Evernote and Dropbox, reduce the number of devices or quotas I originally had.