Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

131 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Johnny T.

User Experience of StarWind Virtual SAN

  • November 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like the reliability of StarWind, the products never fail on our virtual host storage enviroment
What do you dislike about the product?
no at all to the funtionality, but if it can scale from the nodes number would be great, for example, 3-5nodes
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
To enable VM storage across different clusters, a dedicated hardware and redundancy solution is typically required. However, StarWind Virtual SAN provides an alternative by allowing me to achieve this through a software approach. This minimizes the need for additional hardware and optimizes the utilization of each server.


    Bruno S.

A Seamless, Cost-effective, and Reliable Storage Solution

  • October 31, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I find StarWind Virtual SAN to be a user-friendly solution, with a straightforward installation process that's made even smoother thanks to the support provided.
The cost-effectiveness of this solution is a big plus, particularly for small businesses operating on limited IT budgets, as it doesn't require any expensive hardware.
What caught my attention was its hyperconverged approach, enhancing data recovery options, and providing efficient storage and backup solutions. I appreciate the customizable Software Defined Storage (SDS) and turnkey solutions offered to optimize storage capacity, ensure fault tolerance, and bolster infrastructure resilience.

The professionalism and reliability of the StarWind team are commendable, with stellar support that's always there when needed.

I value the high uptime, fault tolerance, and low latency ensured by this solution, making it a great fit for high-availability clusters without any complex setups. The positive ratings for integration and deployment further reflect a satisfactory overall experience with StarWind Virtual SAN, showcasing its reliable and effective solutions in managing storage and ensuring data recovery.
What do you dislike about the product?
There's a specific point about the vendor not recommending the use of broadcom network adapters which might be a limitation for some setups and for smaller organizations, the licensing costs can be prohibitive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind Virtual SAN has been a game changer for my organization, addressing our storage and data recovery concerns efficiently. Its hyperconverged approach simplifies managing our IT infrastructure, enhancing data recovery options and optimizing storage capacity.


    Information Technology and Services

Great product and nice and reliable team behind! Very professional

  • October 20, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The team was very reliable and helpful to answer an RFP and design a solution for our customer. They gave good hints how the network design should be done and what network adapters are not recommended. Very experienced! Clear pricing structure!
The deployment and maintenance is very easy and the scalability of the SAN is great!
What do you dislike about the product?
Only one point is not so nice. The vendor does not recommend to use broadcom network adapters. We currently cannot find other negative points.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind Virtual SAN improved our organization by giving us data backup and recovery options with their Virtual SAN Hyperconverged approach. We deployed the virtual appliance on our existing hardware and connected it with SFP+ Supermicro network adapters in a highly redundant scenario. We are convinced by Starwind so we are offering this to our customers as well. It improves our customers organizations as well. The product is highly scalable and can be enhanced anytime by adding more servers to the design.


    Ted D.

Starwind Virtual SAN - Reliable and Affordable!

  • September 27, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The sales side is knowledgeable about their products. The technical support side is outstanding.
What do you dislike about the product?
Some of the documentation could be improved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
After virtualizing all of our systems (except for those with custom hardware) we needed to improve reliability. Moving to clustered virtual hosts was the logical next step. We reviewed hardware based shared storage solutions, and concluded that we could not afford them. We the reviewed software based shared storage solutions, and after evaluating several candidates, we settled on Starwind Software Virtual SAN. Factors that weighed heavily included longevity of the company, cost of the solution, availability of support, and reviews by technical personnel supporting the solution.


    Anthony R.

Remarkable vSAN on a budget with extreme performance

  • September 25, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Easy to setup, configure, integrate and administrate in a short time. The customer support was quick and knowledgeable.
What do you dislike about the product?
I have not found any lack in the product, at least for a small environment like us.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I needed a SAN with many features at a budget cost.


    Leone A.

Intuitive and fast software

  • September 13, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN is truly exceptional. Its user-friendliness and storage virtualization efficiency are impressive. The redundancy and scalability provided ensure high availability, while the straightforward management simplifies administration. A reliable investment for any virtual environment.
What do you dislike about the product?
StarWind Virtual SAN has its drawbacks. While it offers good performance, the initial setup can be complex, requiring significant technical expertise. Licensing costs can also be prohibitive for smaller organizations. Additionally, the lack of certain advanced features may limit its suitability for some enterprise-level applications.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Principalmente ao converter máquinas virtuais. Sua interface intuitiva e ferramentas fáceis de usar permitem uma migração perfeita entre vários formatos de VM. Com apenas alguns cliques, você pode adaptar e transferir VMs para diferentes ambientes, tornando o processo de conversão rápido e descomplicado.


    Farming

Stable, Performant, Great Support

  • August 19, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I like that it is stable, performant, and Starwind provides great support
What do you dislike about the product?
The UI could look nicer if I'm nitpicking
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our primary use for StarWind Virtual SAN is to ensure exceptional performance and unwavering availability within our Hyper-V/Failover Cluster environment. This robust solution optimizes performance by reducing latency and improving productivity, essential for running concurrent virtualized workloads efficiently. Moreover, it guarantees near-zero downtime through a failover cluster configuration, enhancing our operational reliability and solidifying our reputation for delivering consistent, uninterrupted services. Our primary use for StarWind Virtual SAN is to ensure exceptional performance and unwavering availability within our Hyper-V/Failover Cluster environment. This robust solution optimizes performance by reducing latency and improving productivity, essential for running concurrent virtualized workloads efficiently. Moreover, it guarantees near-zero downtime through a failover cluster configuration, enhancing our operational reliability and solidifying our reputation for delivering consistent, uninterrupted services.


    Raffi J.

An easy to use Hyper-converged Cluster in a Box

  • August 17, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
StarWind provides a standard based way to set up clusters on commodtiy servers using the tools you already know like HyperV and VMware. On top of that their support is steller. They proactively alert and assist you all along the way. StarWind also
What do you dislike about the product?
My only gripe with StarWind is that they are reliant on certain commodity hardware products like Dell servers and their controllers. Sometimes those are hard to get due to supply chain issues. Not really a complaint, just something you need to be aware of
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We were using very complex hardware solutions that were difficult to support and manage. StarWind allows us to use the tools we know like HyperV and easily manage our managed server clusters. The other problem problem was support with other products that were coming from different places. StarWind gave us great support before, during and after the sale.


    Seth W.

True 2-node VSAN, perfect for SMB!

  • August 14, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I appreciate StarWind's ease of use in deployment and expansion and also its capabilities.

StarWind offers a true 2-node VSAN setup, where you only need 2 hypervisors to spin up a VSAN between them and it syncs in real-time on 10Gbps links between them. The user interface is pretty easy to use (once you get used to the lingo) and it's dead simple to increase the size of virtual disks.

Performance-wise, pretty wicked fast. You don't really notice the syncing performance when both hosts are up (obviously because it does it in the background), but if you take a host down for a few minutes then bring it back up, in the StarWind Console you can watch the virtual disk images on the downed host start syncing from the other host and watch it complete it, and it's pretty darn fast!

In VMware vSphere, too, you can use one of the 10Gbps links for VM migration, which is insanely speedy! Going from 1Gbps to 10Gbps links for VM migration was a dream come true for me.
What do you dislike about the product?
The only real gripe I've found with StarWind is that the official documentation for setup can be a bit lackluster, and sometimes you'd get confused by what it's showing (for VMware, at least) versus what you're seeing on your setup.

Regardless of that frustration, you can (and should) reach out to their support and they'll walk you through it and answer any questions. At the time of writing, they include 1 year of support upon license purchase, so they'll help you with your deployment process.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We're a Visiting Nurse Association so it's pretty critical that we keep our infrastructure up, especially during the workday. Thus, we've had a physical SAN for years with RAID arrays to allow redundancy with our storage and, to pair with that, we had 2 physical hypervisors to run the workload.

StarWind offered me a true 2-node Virtual SAN solution to replace my aging SAN appliance and, in addition to that, offered higher performance storage for our agency. All this together allows us to boost our productivity with performance improvements, further disaster-proof our infrastructure with better redundancy, and provides us even more room for expansion.

After about 9 months of using StarWind, I'm very happy I went with their product for my storage needs.


    Danny R.

Starwind vSAN HCI Cluster is the way to go

  • August 09, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We used this as a 3 node cluster setup for 2 reasons. Prevent downtime during hardware failure or upgrades and to allow to easily expand storage as needed. Customer support is amazing too
What do you dislike about the product?
Starwind missed 2 features we wanted but did not require, which was encrtion and also deduplication. Another feature that would be nice later on is the avbility to handle high latency stretched DR so we dont need to use a 3rd part ysoftware.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Starwind solves the issue of having downtime when a node fails, when you want to upgrade a node or add storage. Normally when a node was full you would need to power down and add drives and hope there is now issue expanding the array. Problem solved with vsan