Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398a

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

83 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Technology and Services

StarWind VSAN, Cost effective Virtual SAN solution

  • December 01, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
One of the things that I like is the ability to be deployed and used without a witness for small environments (2 hosts).
What do you dislike?
Not being promoted or showed, to be more attractive and implemented
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
there is no need for a witness in small environments,
hardware agnostic is excellent; you continue working with the one you know and love and deploy it on top.


    Stefan N.

Brilliant Virtual SAN Solution

  • November 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Since we installed StarWind Virtual SAN across two storage nodes for our Cluster Storage, we have seen a vast improvement in the replication and redundancy of data. Our previous SAN was slow to replicate data between the two nodes; if one side went down, the other side struggled to fully function or access the needed data.
What do you dislike?
So far, we haven't encountered any downsides to StarWind Virtual SAN in our environment. Their technical support team swiftly resolved any issues we had during the setup. StarWind was not the cheapest solution but definitely not the most expensive.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our previous SAN solutions were outdated and had several issues due to age.
Looking for a change, we found that all the reviews and people we spoke to about StarWinds said that the software just worked perfectly, and that is all we wanted, a system that, once it was set up, just worked. And that's exactly what we have found to be the case; StarWind's Virtual SAN has been excellent. We monitor the replication health via the software, and that's about it. No issues so far, and like each review we’ve seen, we would highly recommend StarWind Virtual SAN. We had real problems with the replication reliability between our previous SAN servers. StarWind has improved this, and now we have excellent replication, thus vastly improving out failover redundancy.


    Kevin K.

Good SAN for JBOD chassis and HyperV integration

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that it integrates well with HyperV and was convenient to use with Fiber Channel JBOD Enclosures. After the setup was finished it was running smoothly.
What do you dislike?
Requires setup with powershell scripting
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Only service I could find that was free, integrated with HyperV, fiberchannel and ensured good performance and disk failure safety.


    Jethro M.

StarWinds VSAN - SAN on a budget

  • November 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is a simple solution, and it is not very difficult to implement, but I recommend using technical support to check everything before production. It is stable, and very reliable.
What do you dislike?
The documentation on the free tier could be better, but the community is very helpful, so this evens out the documentation I guess...
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
SAN on a low budget, I had old hardware, no money to get all that I need to get a SAN and my main goal was to have HA for a few VMs, StarWinds VSAN came to the rescue !


    Adriano T.

Exelente ferramenta para auxilio na migrações e manutenção de VMs.

  • November 22, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Excelente ferrramenta recomendo a todos, usei muito nas migrações de vm para outros servidores, simples e facil de usar podem confiar.
What do you dislike?
poderia liberar a versão pro para testes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
No momento não tenho nenhum problema.


    Hospital & Health Care

Excellent value for the product, even better support

  • November 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Ability to quickly scale up or scale down storage as needed. StarWind allows you to add two or more nodes to a cluster. Other vendors usually require a physical appliance upgrade or addition to add storage.
What do you dislike?
Scaling up storage on an existing node is not straightforward and requires some configuration. If this process was better documented, it would be easier for customers to understand.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind Virtual SAN allowed us to quickly add highly redundant storage to our Hyper-V environment. This allowed us to migrate VM's from one host to another using our existing resources and didn't require extra hardware purchases.


    Juan Ignacio O.

A great product with the best support

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I can describe several points where the product stands out. On the one hand, it is a flexible product that fully adapts to our needs, with great scalability and stability. On the other hand, it is very simple to use, which makes it easy to manage with little experience. The high level of the technicians involved in the deployment and later in the support should also be highlighted. In fact, the involvement of the support team seems to me the most remarkable point of this company.
What do you dislike?
At the beginning, before contacting the company, we were doing some tests and we found some documentation faulty. This is solved when you have the collaboration of the deployment team and subsequent support.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We wanted to be able to provision a VSAN that would make it easier for us to respond to the growing needs of the company, without having to make a large investment. On the other hand, we were looking for a solution that would provide us with an answer to the needs of business continuity management (ISO 22301)


    Rami C.

Virtual San Solution compatible with Hyper-V

  • November 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy to install and configure
Easy to use with web management UI
Compatible with multiple hypervisors (Hyper-V, VMware, ... )
Compatible with almost any hardware
Great Support
What do you dislike?
Reporting Capabilities should include more information
Documentation should be enhanced to be on par with the competitors
Powershell script can include more functionalities
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It solves the problem of virtual san compatibility with other hypervisors
It benefits me by using 3 Hyper-V with failover cluster allowed the use of internal disks of these servers


    Eren C.

Great Sync Software for Hyperconverged Environments

  • November 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
We run StarWind in our HC Cluster.
- We like the reliablility of the software.
- In a cluster of 2 nodes, never a sync issue, stable heartbeat
- Fast sync syncronizes data after a node reboot, no need for full sync
- Full utilization of interfaces, in our case 2x 25GBit Fiber connection, which results in 750MB/s Fileserver VM Performance
- Fantastic forum and mail support, even without support license
What do you dislike?
- Setup with a free-license StarWind Management Console goes via PowerShell Templates but the documentation online is mainly with the licensed version. This was not like that before so StarWind changed the licensing options, which means the free version is basically only for monitoring.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
StarWind is solving our HC storage in a 2 node cluster. We mainly focus on sync performance and low latency and that's where StarWind shines. 384 days of uptime without any issues.


    Jason C.

The Best vSAN software for the money, bar none.

  • November 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The price-to-performance ratio is unmatched. The feature set you get for such a well-priced product and well-designed UI is refreshing. Normally for anything remotely easy to use, I would expect to spend ten times as much (such as products from VMWare)
What do you dislike?
There are a few kinks that need to be worked out if you are transitioning from the free product to the paid product, or vice versa, but it was nothing that customer service was not able to assist with.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The ability to share storage across multiple Virtual Hosts. StarWind allows us to quickly move virtual servers between hosts with the click of a button. Migrating used to be a lengthy task, but now its easy.