Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

StarWind Virtual SAN on Windows Server 2019

StarWind | 8.0.0.14398

Windows, Windows Server 2019 Base Windows Server 2019 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

32 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Claude H.

Think you cannot afford a SAN? Call StarWind.

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Price and hardware requirments flexibility.
Support, incredible fast response to support requests such as size increase of VSAN or assistance connecting to a new VMware device. If your skills are not perfect with the product StarWind support does not care and always comes through with a succesful outcome.
Speed of implementation.
Security, simple windows server to host the StarWind software, easy to secure.
Reliability, have had zero failures of the product because of the product itself. It just runs like a never stopping clock. Perfection.
What do you dislike?
I do not have a dislike. I am not kidding the software was installed and just works. Whats not to like?
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
My company was in desperate need of a SAN for our VCSA VMware environment. I was going to purchase VMware's VSAN but the price of the new up hardware was making the purchase approval by managment an issue.
With StarWind I was able to get an ultra-reliable VSAN running on gen8 HPE hardware with no problem.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Price, you can get into a small sized redundant VSAN sub 5k with used equipment.
Support, you do not need to be an expert on the setup. Starwind does everything, guiding you on each step if its a physical step or logged in remote to do it themselves.


    Chris P.

Starwind VSAN proves on-premise IT is alive and well!

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Very easy to configure and manage. Starwind support is with you every step of the way. The product delivers on its promises, allowing less hardware needed to maintain in the server room.
What do you dislike?
There are a few configuration settings that are kind of vague as explained in the documentation. The defaults worked out for us but at least they are there for certain environments that could need tweaking.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We needed a shared nothing storage environment for a Hyper-V 2 node Failover Cluster using two off the shelf Dell Powerdge T440 servers and a couple 10Gb dual nics. We love solving problems virtually with software instead of using more hardware.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try out their free fully functional trial to see if it will meet your needs to cost effectively simplify IT while improving uptime.


    Grzegorz M.

Good performance and stability in relative low price

  • December 20, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
StarWind Virtual SAN is for me easy to underatsnd, to configure and to use.
What do you dislike?
In path Server/Configuration/Event Notifications/Action we could configure an e-mail address. But unfortunately there was no place to write login and password of sender. So this only colud be use in internal company e-mail server. All public e-mail servers require that the sender logs in.
But in last update this problem is solved and now I can use public e-mail addresses. so now there is nothing to dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Our company exists since 1991.
Among others we also run a business of alarm monitoring central station.
Because of this alarm monitoring central station we need fully redundant system of data collecting and processing. Even a single minutes of interruption in signal receiving and/or processing could cause very big problem.

Several years ago we used cluster of 2 windows servers with shared storage system on a single SAN. On theme was working clustered SQL server with database mirroring. Every part of system was redundant except of SAN.
It was almost satisfying.
This time we did not use VMs except for testing purpose.

Everey cluster server system we know needs shared storage system. Cluster server system could be fully redundant, but this redundancy is worth nothing without redundant storage system. (Actually I heard newest windows server supports solution similar to starwind, but I’m not sure).
We had a single SAN system. As a single, SAN was not redundant. But we needed redundant storage system. We always were afraid that once upon a time our SAN will stop to work…
We off course had backups, but it was not enough.
What we needed was the system with no data loss in case of issue and with no interruption (or only several seconds of interruption) in data processing.
We were looking for relative simple and not very expensive solution.
Actually I don’t know why StarWind. I was looking for solution using Google. StarWind was first system I found that gave me a hope. When I did some tests with StarWind I stopped to look for anything more.
Now we have redundant storage system, so our cluster system is fully redundant.
As we bought two 2-nodes Starwind V-san licenses (one for Electronics Box and other one for Monitoring Łódzki) we have now 2 clusters of two nodes Windows Hyper-V servers with StarWind V-san working as hosts.
Both clusters are in different locations (same city but couple of miles far one to another). Both locations are connected with rented 100 Mb/s optical fiber connection.
On the host clusters are running several clustered VMs. Among VMs we have 2 nodes SQL cluster with Always On High Availability.
As disaster recovery VMs running on one of locations are replicated on another one.


    Jeff T.

Hyper-V high availability without the SAN price tag

  • December 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
After implementation, we haven't had to touch it. It's rock solid and saved us a ton of money.
What do you dislike?
It would be helpful if StarWind provided clearer and more detailed documentation with explanations of how it can be configured in various scenarios, including advantages and disadvantages of each.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We retired an old standalone VMware server with a highly available Hyper-V cluster for a low price.


    Nick C.

Reduced Operation Cost with StarWind VSAN

  • December 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Support is great. The solution was shipped, preconfigured. All I had to do was unbox it, plug it in, turn it on, and move the vm's over after hours. Since then, it has been wonderful. Support has always been able to help with any issues that have arisen.
What do you dislike?
There is nothing I really dislike. The only thing I can think of is that it is pretty a pretty complex system. I was able to manage it more myself, but at the same time, their support staff is so knowledgeable, it frees my time up to do other things. It is nice to trust that they will be able to help with everything I need.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I have found a cost-effective solution to provide high availability for all my vm's. I have improved my DR plan/useability. I can now do maintenance on either host, during the day, without the users ever knowing.


    Greg F.

Starwind Virtual SAN provides robust SAN features using existing hardware

  • November 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The biggest plus was that it allowed us to implement SAN services on a reduced hardware budget. We configured a pair of matched servers with vendor supplied disk drives and created a fully redundant storage array between the servers. The VMware hosts are providing high availability failover if either host fails. Not needing to spend a huge amount for a dedicated solutions was a big benefit and the system is easily expandable if we need to add storage. Their support team has been excellent in helping us throughout the project process.
What do you dislike?
The only difficulty we ran into was with the documentation. While deploying the solution in our test environment, we encountered several areas of the documentation that were unclear to us. Starwind provided excellent pre-sales support and scheduled several meetings between our IT staff and their team to review the configuration and answer questions. This support helped in deploying the software in our test environment and improved our understanding of the product. Support was always willing to help with any issues that we were confused over and continued to follow up with us after the project went into production.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The biggest benefit we received is that it allowed us to build SAN services on a reduced hardware budget. We deployed a pair of matched servers with vendor sourced hard drives and created a fully redundant storage array between the servers. Our VM hosts will now provide high availability failover to protect against hardware failure. Eliminating the need for dedicated SAN hardware was great and the system is easily expandable if we need to make changes. Their support team has been excellent in helping us throughout the project process.


    Higher Education

StarWind virtual SAN - huge bang for the buck

  • October 19, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It is simple and runs on standard hardware. It is reliable and has great support. It does what it is supposed to do without the angst I felt with the previous EMC solution when it wouldn't work properly and support had a hard time figuring out why.
What do you dislike?
No real downsides for my environment. For large environments, its use of standard server hardware might not be sufficient. Ours runs on Windows, although there is now a Linux version
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have three Starwind SANs which are providing shared storage for our VMWare ESXi hosts. We switched from FC to iSCSI with their install and are seeing great cost savings from not having to support FC anymore.


    Pusker G.

Solif product for cost

  • October 01, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its a Solid Product. Easy to use and they have a good support team.
What do you dislike?
Not that i can think of. Overall we are very happy with the purchase
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
High avaibility.


    Chemicals

StarWind vSAN Post-Install Review

  • September 23, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Great customer service before purchase, during setup, and after purchase. The system is very easy to use, it just takes a little time to understand how the system works if you come from a NAS or SAN setup. Performance is good, customizability of hardware is great (and great guidance from the StarWind staff), reliability and resiliency to failures has been perfect, and there is very little maintenance.
What do you dislike?
Some of the documentation could be clearer (how the software is designed, power loss graceful shutdown, and testing).
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We were going through a hardware refresh for running vSphere. We wanted a system with higher performance and reduced single points of failure. Starwind vSAN provides us with reduced hardware (only server nodes, no separate storage or storage switches needed) reducing racking complexity (i.e.: running wiring), reduced single points of failure (no more single SAN as a failure point), better performance by providing storage in a "Direct Attached" method, and easier maintenance since there is no longer any storage or storage related networking to deal with.


    Shawn D.

Great product, great support

  • August 10, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of installation. Starwind engineers take care of the operation from start to finish. They know what they are doing and work quickly. The technology is great; it's very aware of itself and can alert when there is an issue.
What do you dislike?
I haven't come across anything yet. We have been using the software for almost a year, and it has been very reliable.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The problem solved is creating a cluster without having to use a SAN. The benefit is using existing hardware to maximize its potential.