Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Chef 10

Last Bastion Network Pty Ltd | 10.30.4*

Linux/Unix, Other BastionLinux 19.0.0 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

27 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Amar K.

Great tool for managing packages, softwares and scripts on multiple systems

  • July 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Formerly known as CHEF, it is used to manage all the slave systems, so we don't have to manually log in to each of the slave nodes or machines to be able to install software systems.
I used it when I was working in one of the previous product organization. We used CHEF to install multiple dependencies on the system by defining a cookbook and recipe.
So basically we can define a set of tasks which has to be executed on the system and CHEF automatically logs in to the system and does the software install, package install or maybe change the configuration.
In the big data world, suppose a node is required to have the software needed before it can operate. we just can run chef-client and it does everything automatically.
This is an amazing tool and works fast without any hassles.
What do you dislike?
Since it is built on top of ruby, sometimes it's hard to figure out what has caused the error.
There have been instances where the chef-client has failed, and it was pointed to an error, and late we got to know that it is related to ruby installation.
sometimes, the chef errors are hard to debug. There is no intelligent troubleshoot mechanism and does not suggest user where to look for exact errors and fixes.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mainly we used it to manage different nodes or the machine in the cluster.
Since we used to work on the big data problem, and big data requires lots of nodes, and if one node fails, we have to reinstall all the software and packages required - also creating a custom folder, installing java, python etc.
Installing it on let's say 50 systems one by one is not feasible and would kill lot of time, so CHEF comes handly. we can define cookbook and recipe and execute the chef-client in the slave systems, and all the software and packages get installed automatically.


    Retail

Chef makes managing IaaS resources easy

  • June 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Chef provides us with the ability to manage infrastructure (specifically servers or IaaS resources) in a scalable way across platforms and locations. Its ease of use and common language across operating systems give the ability to easily bridge gaps between teams and understanding, thus breaking down knowledge silos and facilitating the ownership of infrastructure code by traditional application teams.
What do you dislike?
Sometimes the learning curve can be steep for organizations that do not have an in-house subject matter expert.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Chef provides a great platform for enabling the management of on-prem or cloud virtual machines. It uses a DSL based on Ruby to make the management of these resources easy to capture, in code, in the same way regardless of platform or operating system. This is specifically useful when working to scale across a multi-platform organization because it gets everyone speaking the same language while giving automation coverage that is managed singly regardless of OS.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
When implementing Chef, it's important to remember this is not something that can be rolled out overnight. There are several pieces to the puzzle, and making sure you get it right from the start instead of rushing a production solution is key to your success with the tool.


    Lethesh M.

Chef for cooking safe security

  • June 03, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the open community with lots of resources present in the documentation and also video tutorials which help someone like me who was new to this technology pick up and complete the tasks assigned easily and effectively .
What do you dislike?
Compatibility with different programming languages such as python.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Benchmarking and compliance is a huge headache for anyone working in this sector which is minimized by chef.


    Sarthak S.

Progress Chef is an excellent tool for devops automation.

  • May 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Progress Chef is an amazing tool for devops automation. The ease with which we can configure the instructions using receipes and cookbooks are the best feature. It is implemented using Ruby language which is super easy to understand and use as well.
What do you dislike?
The chef workstation for development for cookbooks and recipes should possible be replaced by something of a UI based. Something similar to Jenkins which can provide easy configuration options.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Progress Chef to automate our server patching tasks. As part of security remediation, patching is one of the tedious task which we could automate completely thanks to Chef.


    Mike F.

Easy to learn and implement

  • May 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is easy to pick up the concepts and even easier to implement
What do you dislike?
Moving between versions can be a headache.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Compliance reporting and easier configuration management


    Nikhil B.

Chef reviews

  • April 05, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The vast variety of receipies in the community. Almost every tool installation has their own recipe. And easy management of central store for receipies.
What do you dislike?
The configuration tree for the receipe can be bit less complex.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Managing multiple organisations in a single chef server .


    sumit s.

Best server management tool

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I was in deployment department so for every software I need to configure all server manuall like supponse you have many servers that time you don't need to configure you all server just only update on workstation then it will update on all servers another thing is some times yon need to change you ENV variable so that time you can't run you dockesr image for all server instead of these just replace value by suing chef is another best part also for CI/DC part is best
What do you dislike?
Here is nothing for dislike, but If they provide us containerization with server configuration like dockers with chef that time it will really easy to handle and many people will switch on this
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We had one project in which we white label all things and deployed code on a different server for every client, so at that time, I needed to deploy code on 24 servers, and 70% of work for all servers were the same that time the first time I used chef and It reduced my working time from 2 weeks to 2 days and some time clint give updated information about his env like SMTP or third party URL so that time chef really helpfull
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you want both CI/CD and server configuration in good manner that time use chef


    Yogesh R.

Chef Review

  • October 30, 2020
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Its very good tool to setup configuration management
What do you dislike?
its a agent based tool thats why we need to install agent everytiem
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
we are doing configuration management using the chef
Recommendations to others considering the product:
yes i always recommended chef to use for CI/CD


    Retail

Easy to deploy with Chef

  • August 12, 2019
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We have build the scripts which makes it very easy to deploy with Chef.
What do you dislike?
If something goes wrong its not easy to debug
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
All our deployments are with Chef now.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Try it.


    Consumer Services

Chef Configuration Management tool

  • April 22, 2019
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of our client uses Chef to deploy new code in an automated fashion. We also use it to update existing configurations and push those changes in an automated fashion to large groups of servers. Having the ability to deploy simple or full system changes out to a large group of servers with little human interaction has been a game changer for our company allowing us to deploy at scale and grow our infrastructure as our company grows.
What do you dislike?
It is very complex tool and The Chef-client agent needs to be run on the nodes frequently to update the details of it state to master. And also to index the nodes based on tags.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Chef is really great when teams are attempting to migrate over from legacy systems. In our case, it was a switch over from AIX to Linux. Thus, it was a great opportunity to use Chef to build out deployment cookbooks that could then be used win order to set up the new servers in preparation for the upgrade.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Yes, Centralized Configuration Management; Chef really excels at that as it provides a wide range of features that are well thought of, such as data bags, encrypted data bags, roles, shared repositories, cookbooks versioning, environment locking..etc