Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 20221117

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - Bionic - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,214 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Aaditya K.

Ubuntu has a good community, availability of packages and resources

  • November 29, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ability to use various packages for development and security testing. The frequency of security updates also feels safer to use the platform compared to other we use in our work space.
What do you dislike?
As a primary windows user, the missing of drivers and common functionalities makes the user experience a tad bit difficult to navigate but with the inclusion of desktop environments some of the issues might be resolved.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
In our organization, we have multiple windows environment for various purpose. Our applications are developed on the same OS, some of our security testers have migrated to windows due to the improved support of various tools. The resources available for ubuntu works great to know and solve issues we face during our day to day work.


    ajay k.

Ubuntu best for servers

  • November 28, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Super flexible and easiest to operate on local as well as servers. Open source as well as security services.
What do you dislike?
Update Repositries not work sometimes can cause in updation.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Hosting service also easiest to manage with dedicated linux vpn. Easy to maintain and configure.


    Aman K.

Developer platform OS

  • November 28, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Developer friendly OS, Fast,optimised, secure and you can access hidden files easily which helps in your learning quickly.
What do you dislike?
Some application is not runnable in this Operating system. Not good for UI/UX designers as well as hybrid application developers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Making web applications and embedded system program and this OS is very helpful as it is very fast and optimised and hidden files are easily accessible through command prompt.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are developer and love coding or playing with system software you can use it


    Nisarg S.

Highly recommend for company and students

  • November 24, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best part of ubuntu is completely free. Terminal of ubuntu is very simple, UI and File system is very clean and Simple.
What do you dislike?
Modification is very complicated and security like applock and other things are very tough to do it.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It is best free and open source os so there is no cost for purchasing license and other things.


    MUHAMMED A.

Best OS I have ever seen

  • November 22, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Firstly it is open source software, that's the best thing, we could do all the modifications that we need according to end users priority and it is very secure than windows operating system
What do you dislike?
It is less user friendly than windows operating systems, it requires commands to do certain tasks and not everyone couldn't do that. People with less technical knowledge users may have trouble
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Firstly cost effective, we can save lots of money by using Ubuntu and it is less prone to errors and very faster so it will increase the productivity and performance


    Rajesh C.

Ubuntu - the developer first OS

  • November 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
The power we have while using Ubuntu is unimaginable. It is as if we are the creators of the software. The ability to customize it as we want and the ease with which we can install third-party software is simply superb.
What do you dislike?
Well, there is something which I don't like a bit. It is the amount of power the user has while using it. When the user doesn't know much about all those commands and if they simply run commands found online without much knowledge of them will not be good.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
The main problem that Ubuntu is solving is, it is taking away all the unnecessary (or too much) graphics from the user which is present by default in a few other software. It is giving that option to the user and is letting them decide what they want.


    Pratyush A.

The Gateway To Linux

  • November 14, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Sleek functioning, small size, free of cost and easy to use for an entrant into the world of Linux.
What do you dislike?
Not too many business softwares- equivalent of word, powerpoint, photoshop etc.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Ubuntu allowed me to move into development and host web apps easily. It allowed me to transition into using Linux by first choosing Ubuntu which is not as detached from Windows as some of the other advanced Linux kernels like Kali.


    Vanshika T.

Super fast and open source OS for developers

  • November 13, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Most of our system runs on Ubuntu. It is a free and open-source OS for everyone. The best thing about Ubuntu is its accessibility through the terminal. We can do every tasks through the terminal, which can be done in Windows. This OS is the best practitioner of coding for developers. It is easy to use and a super fast OS. We can customize it as per our needs too.
What do you dislike?
Ubuntu is a little bit hard for Windows users. It is not designed for non-IT people as this operating system has no graphical interface. It is totally run over the terminal or coding interface. Other than that, I don't think it has any flaws in this operating system.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Mostly in my company, we work on Ubuntu as it is a powerful OS without GUI interface. The non-IT person didn't interfere with the technical person's work, as Ubuntu is a secured OS due to its terminal interface. It is cost-effective too. Ubuntu operating system is providing professional growth and becoming more productive day by day.


    Gaurav K.

Ubuntu a great OS

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu is very similar to Rehdat Linux, and commands are straightforward like any other Linux. The main attraction towards Ubuntu is its freeware license. Earlier we were on Windows server and then we plan to move it to linux, then idea came up to our mind is to switch to ubuntu and if things goes well then we can go for Oracle Redhat Linux. But we are soo comfortable using ubuntu that we dont want to switch to any other OS.
Security wise its superb. Support is also very nice. Even we can get troubleshooting commands of ubuntu while searching it on any engine.
What do you dislike?
As of now, Ubuntu is fulfilling all our criteria and we have achieved more than what we thought so we dont have any dislikes about this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Earlier we were on Windows server and then we desperately want to migrate to linux. Then idea came up to our mind and we switch it to ubuntu and in our initial days we thought if things goes well then we can further migrate it Oracle Linux. But we are soo comfortable using ubuntu that we dont want to switch to any other OS.
In wndows there were many security concerns which were fixed in Ubuntu. And if we will talk about performance, then its way better than windows


    Michael C.

OS of choice for experimental servers.

  • November 10, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
A well-maintained linux distro that handles all the traditional server elements easily and without any extra effort. When working on our experimental server software, we don't have to worry about a package we need not being available or compatible.
What do you dislike?
Being open source, and adding the packages you need can create security vulnerabilities, especially if you lose track of all the packages in use so you don't eventually realize you are still using something with a known issue that could have been removed or secured. It can also be challenging to teach someone else to use with no GUI.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Using Ubuntu for the experimental server gives us more control and the capacity to modify the operating system itself as needed easily. The cost (or lack of) also makes it easy to install on any new or existing equipment.