Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Ubuntu Pro FIPS 18.04 LTS

Canonical Group Limited | Ubuntu FIPS 18.04 - 20210726

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 18.04 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,078 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Information Services

Ubuntu for hardcore programmers

  • January 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Its a light Operating System utilise low resources its safe and secure in privacy concern. Its blazing fast.
What do you dislike?
The only disadvantage is it support limited application for the community where as other operating system have flexibility of application available.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am solvimg the Artificial Intelligence problem with it and it helps alot in every aspect beacuse of the low resource it utilize all the programmes which we design and code it runs fastly and smoothly.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
On thing i ll like to say about ubuntu like if you are new to this you need to learn some good command .


    Anuj B.

One of the best linux with good UI

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
you can use both command-line option of linux and UI option like windows. Security is also better than windows.
What do you dislike?
Not all the software supported and sometimes buggy
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I used eclipse for my development environment


    Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Best OS for Personal / Business Needs

  • January 18, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Stable OS
Open Source, free to use
Suitable for Development including Software, Embedded Development. Best suited for all the engineers and researchers
Frequent software updates
Excellent community helping to learn the distro, also in troubleshooting issues. Forum based helps in learning the unknowns at a faster rate
What do you dislike?
No major dislikes as it is a community based linux distro which has all the features required for all kind of development and day to day tools.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Running Scripts, all our developments related to prototyping and development of our intelligent modules.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Ubuntu being open source shall be the go to operating system for industrial purposes.


    Computer Software

Ubuntu is free and easy to use

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It is free and easy to use, large community, lite OS, and supporting most of the packages
What do you dislike?
Not suitable for large businesses, and not supported by part of the tools
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
It was the 1st OS that used by our company to develop and test our product, and some employees are still using it as a gateway


    Viraj R.

A developer’s playground

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
The ease of switching between my terminal and code editor, more control over the filesystem, kernel, and general structure of my system.
What do you dislike?
The GUI of the OS, of course, has its upsides, but for a novice learner, it tends to be less intuitive.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Problem statements involved in building a data pipeline, solving ingestion issues, and troubleshooting bugs.


    Malhar J.

Reliable Debian-based Linux flavour

  • January 16, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Package Management, Software Support, User Experience
What do you dislike?
OS Updates, RAM Management, Trash and Temporary files management
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I am submitting the bugs from Ubuntu Live account on weekly basis. I have observed and verified certain security patches.


    Madhu B.

Professional operating system

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Ubuntu operating system provides best solution for programmers for programming in different tools and command interface also very professional.
What do you dislike?
It's not a major drawback but for personal use will feel bit difficult and for professional use it best for sure.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Ease of installation for programming Tools and simple command base interface for command base programming.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
I recommend to professional who do programming of any language.


    Sojin A.

Best OS after mac OS, No lag in long run

  • January 13, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Best os for development, cloud, hosting purpose. Not best for gaming, documentation, or for presentation.
If you are a normal user choose windows or mac
What do you dislike?
Not every software available for Ubuntu when compare with mac or Windows. and not good for gaming
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Software development, cloud, hosting, Database handling
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are looking for a gaming device , documentation or just video, movie purposes just go for mac or windows,
this is only good for the other specified purposes


    Georges A.

UBUNTU IS the safest and most stable OS but at what cost?

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
UBUNTU was the best OS I used because, as advertised, it compiles itself to run on your system and not the other way around: just click "ESC" while booting, and you will actually see it loading and compiling a ton of drivers and stuff to give you the optimal experience your hardware can manage.
The server version can be set up to accept WINDOWS clients and link to a MICROSOFT network environment, and it offers a wide range of variants to choose from.
The best thing is it is virus-free. Programmer boast that if you wish for your computer to catch a virus running UBUNTU, you will have to manually download a virus and install it yourself.
What do you dislike?
Many of the applications I use at my office are WINDOWS compatible, and they are not compatible with UBUNTU. You can try to run WINE, but it's not the same thing.
You can find a counterpart for every software you need, but you cannot share their files unless the recipient has the same software, so yes: compatibility is a big problem, and that's why I stopped using it.
Updates need to be launched manually, and if you did not configure the repositories well, you would not be able to do it.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
At school, we have many old laptops that cannot run windows smoothly because their hardware is outdated. UBUNTU can run on almost any hardware configuration, which is one of its' major strong points.
Also, WINDOWS sometimes just refuses to access some external storage devices like USB keys or even HARD DRIVES. With UBUNTU, as long as the device is still functional, you can access it and use it.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
UBUNTU is like your private tank: it just keeps going while helping you get the most out of your hardware.
Secure, fast, and dependable, it probably is the best OS out there.
If you do not mind learning other software, it is the solution you need: it's free, available in many versions and distros, and runs on virtually any computer.


    Devanshu B.

The only OS a developer needs!

  • January 12, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
first and foremost - FREE!

It's free.
It's a really stable OS.
great privacy - great support available only.
I can customise it to my liking.
really suitable for developement.
What do you dislike?
You might need to be tech-savvy to enjoy the OS fully. It doesn't support all the software and especially the Media related softwares. Not good for gaming, too.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
The best OS you can get for any type of development. I can do nearly everything I need to do in software development. I can install software, packages and do many different things right from the terminal very quickly.