Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 7 (HVM)

Amazon Web Services | 7.0_HVM_GA

Linux/Unix, Red Hat Enterprise Linux 7.0_HVM_GA - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

2 AWS reviews
  • 2
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

582 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Chidananda p.

Red hat is the secure server OS

  • February 12, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
you can combine multiple scripts and divdide in to small scripts.
What do you dislike about the product?
Not a pure GUI best OS as windows server OS.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
secure the red hat is the best in the market


    Banking

Red Hat Enterprise Linux Review

  • January 28, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's one of the best OS for hosting our backend applications and also various security features for our application.

It is one of the best option for long time support and also if we face any issues while using it we get support from Red Hat support team to resolve the issue.
What do you dislike about the product?
I don't see any dislikes in RHEL as it provides us one of the best OS to host our applications and also provides us support when we face any issues.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's solves our problem of hosting our Backend applications built using Node js.

They also provide various security features and also have support team to solve our issues and also have best Uptime for server when compared to other service providers.


    Vishal P.

More About RedHat Rhel

  • January 17, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Appreciate Red Hat Enterprise Linux for its stability, security features, and extensive support for enterprise environments.
What do you dislike about the product?
The subscription cost for Red Hat Enterprise Linux to be a drawback compared to free and open-source alternatives. Additionally, some might prefer more bleeding-edge software, which RHEL tends to prioritize stability over.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Red Hat Enterprise Linux addresses various challenges in enterprise environments, such as ensuring system stability, security, and support for critical workloads. The benefits include reliable performance, robust security features, and a comprehensive support system, which collectively contribute to a more secure and efficient IT infrastructure for organizations.


    Computer Software

RHEL for Enterprise SAP systems

  • January 13, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I personally think that RHEL is best for SAP implementations as we use it for that. We perform many activities in the system these are the things I noticed - patches, customer support and enterprise level security it provides. RHEL has a great lifecycle management it has a good long term support and the OS is very stable.

YUM ( We use it to install patches) makes it easier for removing any outdated packages and install / update the newer versions which helps in removing unknown threats. It is bit difficult to use CLI environments as there is no GUI.

Our systems are on AWS Cloud, so it gives ease of installation and implementation as you know that AWS will auto install the OS we chose into the VM.
What do you dislike about the product?
2 major factors I noticed are that RHEL is mainly designed for server environments and it may not be stable in desktop environments.

The other one is RHEL won't support older software like other alternatives do.

So, I suggest to look for alternatives like SUSE if you are looking it for Desktop Environments but if you want to deploy to Cloud I would recommend it and if you are looking for HA systems and need a load balancer then please go with SUSE instead of RHEL.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We use RHEL in our everyday tasks, RHEL is our primary OS for AWS servers. It is very stable compared to our servers in Azure which are running SUSE. Some benefits we have are:
1. Stable OS
2. Enterprise Scalability
3. Ansible for Automation
4. Ease of integration with other RedHat Softwares.

We are using SUSE in Azure for load balancing as it is more suitable for the environment.


    Consulting

Red Hat Linux administrator

  • January 02, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It is reliable operating system which supports various technologies such as containers, microservices etc
What do you dislike about the product?
little difficult to understand at first place by new user
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
red hat offers the flexifbility of using open source code.


    Ambrish M.

The best Linux distro for office use and developers, has a very clean UI and simple desktop.

  • December 31, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
First of all Redhat is very easy to use and easy to install and requires very minimum hardware and can be used for official purpose and development both. The redhat community always keeps in the touch of its customers by contacting over mail and send regular updates. it supports most of the package management tools like rpm,yum etc . which makes it easy to use implement and easy to maintain.
What do you dislike about the product?
This distro is mostly used by enterprises but it is user friendly it should be sold to normal users also that it can be familliar with most of its customers.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
This distro is used as a server in my organisation and it is working very well and serving every purpose for which it was implemented.


    Sathish T.

Excellent Choice of OS

  • December 13, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The most important part of RHEL is it's security features which are top notch
What do you dislike about the product?
So far there's no dislikes as it does not give space for negatives
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
I'm a server administrator so basically we don't want a server to be down. Rhel helps in the process


    Hussein H.

System Engineer

  • December 12, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
it is open source, free does not need licesne to work on, easier than other linux alternatives. easy to install and implement. have great customer support, with a big community. easy to integrate with other software and hardware.
What do you dislike about the product?
need alot of time and expertise to be expert in this product.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
ease of installation, and configuration, this solves our needs to get thirdparty engieerr to install this for us


    Information Technology and Services

RHEL the scalable OS

  • December 05, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
- Excellent customer support.
- Rich knowledge articles in redhat knowledge base, something thats not available in open forums like Stack overflow.
- Great security with SE linux
What do you dislike about the product?
- Version 7x to version 8x the kernel changes sometimes caused issues to existing applications.
- Expensive licenses.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Secure OS.
- Scalable with respect to benchmarks performed with othe Linux distributions.


    Bashar K.

Redhat 9

  • November 27, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's the most secure and stable Linux destro available in the market
What do you dislike about the product?
The pricing for small business still need to decrease
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It's secure my environment with easy to use and maintain