Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Apache Webserver on Windows Powered by GlobalSolutions

The Globalsolutions | Apache Webserver GS_v2.4

Windows, Windows Server 2012 R2 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

117 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Steven G.

Not as slow as people say it is

  • January 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very configurable, and that makes it very versatile.
What do you dislike?
There is a degree of complexity involved in configuring Apache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache Server is the software we use to host our website and a decent reverse proxy.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you like open source software, Apache is a good choice for a web server.


    Information Technology and Services

Very Reliable and Stable

  • December 28, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like that Apache is open source and very easy to set up. On Ubuntu, Apache2 also allows SSL, and its very easy to use Letsencrypt to get a free SSL certificate.
What do you dislike?
Apache cannot host JAVA applications and this is a massive disadvantage for JAVA developers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I use Apache to host web application on he cloud or on my local PC and it is very user friendly


    Sushil Kumar S.

Apache web server

  • December 08, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
We, as a nonprofitable educational organization, can not afford the high licensing server cost of IIS. Our old infrastructure compatibility with the latest servers was also a challenge. To inhouse host our Koha (library software) and moodle LMS, we tried to evaluate other webservers like tomcat, IIS but the compatibility mismatch consumed our energy a lot.
What do you dislike?
We missed the GUI like IIS. They were sometimes hanged on heavier loads.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We have hosted our in-house PHP My-sql based ERP, Koha Library, and moodle LMS.


    Information Technology and Services

Apache server is an excellent, flexible web server

  • November 30, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I love the fact that there is an awful lot of reference material out there for apache, and that I can find example configuration snippets for basically anything that I need to do with it.
What do you dislike?
I used to run a lot of Apache 2.0 & 2.2 servers back when that was current, and with Apache 2.4, there are a handful of things that are critical, but which are configured inversely from the way 2.2 was. For example, the default directory permissions are exactly opposite what they were and with 2.4, the command syntax for configuring access is exactly opposite what it was. If you migrate from 2.2 configs, it doesn't "just do the right thing", it requires manually changing things to get the desired results. I would have given this a 10 instead of a 9 had the developers of 2.4 made it compatible with 2.2 configs, and still had the server do the right thing. I also don't like the fact that it requires a fair amount of cpu & memory to run properly. I build embedded systems as well sometimes, and many of those have cpu speed & memory constraints that make apache impractical for it. I use other web server software such as uhttpd as the server there.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Apache is a generic webserver, so it can live where ever you want to have a web application. I use it for hosting my customers in a cloud server, and I configure each customer within it to have separate name-based virtual hosts, as well as SSL configs for each based on IP address. A strong competitor to apache server is nginx, however I have not been convinced yet that nginx is worth converting over to. Most of my work with apache is setting it up for hosting multiple customers websites on a single cloud server, however I have also used it in building higher-end embedded systems, meaning that these systems had the required horsepower necessary to run apache. Apache is a bit of a hog, so it's not completely useful for embedded systems.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If you are setting up a public-facing webserver, apache is how I do it. nginx may be ok, I just haven't gone down that path far enough to evaluate it thoroughly. If you are building an embedded system, skip apache, use uhttpd instead.


    Faisal I.

Best legacy web server to host your applications

  • November 16, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I liked its easy configuration and easy to host and manage your web application such as php , laravel etc. Really powerful to handle traffic it supports modules so you can use them according to your requirements.
What do you dislike?
Found nothing till yet for which I can say disliked in it everything is working fine for me. I never had any issue with this working smoothly and easy configurations, so no problems till yet for which i can say that i disliked this thing in apache.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I was assigned with a task to host and configure Laravel web application for which i found apache server to host and configured it and in no time our web application was live for production also configured apache for heavy traffic to mitigate down time.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Best to use easy to configure


    Hospital & Health Care

Web Server (Apache)

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Easy configuration file management.
Easy to setup redirection rule.
What do you dislike?
URI(path) management is a bit tricky. One need to go with proper documentation.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Creating host and adding html files.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It supports both IP based and Host based configuration.
You can use rules creation and 301 redirection.. directly from apache.


    Retail

Apache open Source for Small Business

  • October 15, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
It's relatively easy to set up and administer even for a non sysadmin developer like me. Low cost as well
What do you dislike?
Lack of support if I run into a problem. But I can usually figure it out by searching forums so it's more a minor inconvenience.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Providing low cost ecommerce hosting to small businesses. I can quickly and cheaply implement a web server for even mom and pop businesses.


    Sibongakonke N.

A fully featured open source web server

  • October 05, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache Server is a compact server for Linux-based systems. The server is efficient and fast, the server allows you to host multiple websites on a single machine, and you can secure the websites through SSL with minimal configuration
What do you dislike?
for additional functionality, a lot of configuration is needed, and it is easy to get lost if you lack experience in server management
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Hosting multiple websites on a single Ubuntu server
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's free to use and easy to install, the Apache Server has a large community of users that support each other


    Paul J.

Apache as a timesaver

  • March 24, 2021
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Apache used to be the defacto webserver and it still a good choice when you are supporting existing Apache based configurations. Migrating a webserver with 200+ sites to another webserver is a major amount of work.

Especially lots of PHP based solutions rely on .htaccess ; rewriting those can be a pain.
Just keep on rocking with Apache.
What do you dislike?
The configuration syntax is a bit 90's compared to the more modern servers.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Have been running PHP code with mod_php for years
Recommendations to others considering the product:
If it fits the use-case its fine...


    Juan R.

Web server on private and shared server

  • January 31, 2021
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
I like the stable and secure, all the necessary options to control a web page, permissions, php, java and much more.
Access control to main system folders.
What do you dislike?
I don't like how complex Apache Server can be, it has many options without detailed documentation on the Internet.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
I do tests on my server before uploading to my shared cloud on the Internet, tests with php code, direct reading of special open source APIs.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Use to test your server and create special applications.
mount your web page with Apache Server.