Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Partners Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

1,066 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Marketing and Advertising

Very easy to use

  • January 27, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Looker works well with our database (snowflake). It's very easy to set up connections to new datasets, build dashboards, and analyze data, even for non-analysts. Attractive visualizations. They're constantly adding new features (scheduling, additional charts, etc.) and have good customer support.
What do you dislike?
Would be nice to have more ability to do statistical analysis. Some of the new changes to align with Google's branding (aka lots of white/minimalism) make the visuals and buttons hard to read.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
1) Automated our reporting with dashboards, accessible online
2) Employees and clients can self-serve data without having to learn all of the platforms or ask Analytics
3) Standardized data--everyone is working from the same underlying dataset since Looker pulls from our database
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Very good for making performance metrics accessible to a wide range of users/skill levels. Won't replace R, Python, or another statistical tool for more in-depth analyses.


    Michael M.

Super flexible and easy to use BI platform

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
LookML is a really easy way to create robust and scalable data models. It's intuitive and allows you to create valuable dashboards and data sets for stakeholders.
What do you dislike?
Using dashboards can sometimes be cumbersome. In addition, the visualization options and customizations are relatively limited compared to some other BI platforms.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Modeling our massive schemas is relatively easy. We can have explores that captures a lot of different pieces of data at the same time.


    Consumer Goods

Quick ramp to use, easy for non technical folks like myself to get the data we need

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Looker allows me to relatively easily explore business questions through data. Often, at the outset I don't know exactly what data to use to answer a particular question, but its simple enough to navigate through the data, test out a few approaches, and easily cross-check using other cuts of data to make sure I'm on the right track. I love that I don't need to use code - but also have that option if I need something custom.
What do you dislike?
Not a fan of the revamped measure/dimension search function
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Revenue and cost analyses, in particular splitting up rev or cost line items by various attributes to better understand what to target and how. We often use reason codes to understand the why behind changes in volume, mix, unit economics, etc.


    Louisa L.

Very powerful tool

  • January 26, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
- Data modeling capability in Looker is very powerful
- Development mode and branch management is useful for testing codes without impacting production
- Exploring from SQL runner result is very convenient for one-time ad hoc analysis
- Custom fields
- Using the shared link can show others what I am looking at with the exact filters and fields. This makes sharing very easy and doesn't require saving the view as a look.
What do you dislike?
- Visualizations features are limited, and some features are not as flexible as other visualization tools such as Tableau
- When I use derived query to create a view, the lookml doesn't automatically populate all fields from the query. I have to write them up one by one manually.
- After I remove a table calculation if I want to add it back I have to rewrite the formula. I wish there's a way to hide and unhide the table calculation.
- When there's a SQL error, the error message shows the error position but there is no way to find the position in the code. It takes long time to troubleshoot.
- Sometimes referencing field names gets confusing.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
- When there are duplicated rows, using sum distinct in measure can avoid creating a false grand total. This is very convenient.
- Being able to schedule and send csv directly to email is helpful for delivering data to internal users that don't have access to Looker or users that only want to look at data in Excel
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Looker is a great tool for analytics team that doesn't manage or have direct access to data warehouse.


    Education Management

Data Democracy

  • January 25, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
Looker provides a simple way to allow stakeholders throughout our organization access data and insights. For the right organization, it changes an analyst's focus from pulling data to structuring data and educating users, while freeing up time to focus on more powerful analytics questions.
What do you dislike?
The risk, of course, is that users may not know how to pull data appropriately. Looker maintainers must be diligent and thoughtful about how they structure Looker's views, models, and dashboards. But this is a natural outcome of data democratization.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Looker has created broad data / analytics access across our organization.


    Apparel & Fashion

Easy Data Analytics!

  • January 20, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Once the data is integrated, creating Looks and Dashboards within Looker is super easy! I love how it can be linked to Shopify in order to pull easy-to-read analytics!
What do you dislike?
Sometimes there are minor glitches with Looker where the data doesn't save properly, which can be annoying. But this issue can be solved by saving your changes frequently instead of at the very end.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
We are using Looker to analyze data analytics for all aspects of the company - merchandising, customer service, planning, sales, etc. Looker allows us to look at all of these different data sets and change the format (bar chart, graph, line plot, etc.)


    Apparel & Fashion

Love it! Super easy to use!

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
I love being able to see the same data in multiple ways.
What do you dislike?
Nothing! I just wish I was a bit more equipped to make my own dashboards and titles.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Seeing team member's numbers, comment response times so that we can address anything that needs to be addressed.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
It's the easiest platform I've ever used to get data about my team!


    Markus W.

Very good tool

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best?
Is in use now since nearly 2 years (provided by a business partner) and helps a lot to keep overview about some products.
What do you dislike?
nearly nothing :-) It´s comfotable too - nothing which I dislike
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
In use to report current product development - before we used eMail communication with partner


    Aimee V.

Data for everyone

  • January 19, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
As a very data-driven company, our evolution toward Looker adoption began when we realized a need for more people within the organization to have access to information. This first effort required learning MySQL and maintaining a directly integrated UX to display the responses after querying the database. That quickly ballooned into quite a project, and we phased it out in favor of adopting Looker and Mode, which already include many data display options. With the latter still requiring a healthy background in SQL, over the last year, our teams have developed our tables to be very inclusive, truly putting data at everyone's fingertips and making Looker an ideal alternative without the prerequisite. Looker is the absolute best for entry-level users to advanced developers and everyone who loves beautiful data.
What do you dislike?
I've heard there are some limitation, but personally I can't think of anything I dislike.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Making a persuasive one-pager to determine where to allocate valuable resources, monitoring the health of systems and processes.


    Chris S.

Great Data visualization tool!

  • January 14, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best?
It's very easy to use and to connect different systems (we connect it via Snowflake with SFDC, Netsuite, and our proprietary software). Great features and use cases.
What do you dislike?
Only downside is it can get laggy and take awhile to refresh looks and dashboards. If they sped up their system it would be perfect.
What problems are you solving with the product? What benefits have you realized?
Reconciling data from disparate systems, creating dashboards do see information all in one place.
Recommendations to others considering the product:
Its a great software, however it is less well known than Tableau so most new hires are less experienced in Looker.