Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Tailscale - Usg mtrng

Tailscale | 1

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

12 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Higher Education

An essential app for anyone with more than one device

  • May 30, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Tailscale provides a simple client that interlinks various devices together. This allows any devices on the Tailscale network to access each other regardless of any firewalls or network obstacles.
What do you dislike about the product?
Their Android client is lackluster, making it difficult to use an Android phone as a server for various purposes such as app testing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
University networks are often segmented for security reasons. Keeping staff, student, and IoT networks segregated prevents malicious devices from spreading over the network as easily. The segementation, however, can be cumbersome when devices need to talk to each other across these different networks. Tailscale allows for our gadgets to communicate in a safe manner regardless of which network they are in.


    Commercial Real Estate

A business management essential

  • November 10, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Tailscale makes it easy to interconnect all of our devices, from servers running in a rack to the laptops of each employee. The simple, yet secure mesh VPN Tailscale provides means we don't have to worry about managing complex VPN configurations, making things just work.
What do you dislike about the product?
The lack of an official self-hosted option means we must depened on the cloud for a production-ready solution. Our business takes data privacy seriously, and having to depend on the cloud means yet another provider. While solutions such as Headscale exist, they lack important business features like SSO.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Oftentimes our employees are not working on site. They may be on the go or at home. Before we had Tailscale, we had to manually configure a VPN profile for each employee and show the employee how to enable it on their laptop. The result was a lot of complaints to I.T. about the VPN not working. Tailscale simplified everything. Tailscale is able to run in the background without and hitch, and utilizes a myriad of technologies to ensure the connection succeeds. We now hardly ever get complaints about the VPN.


    Verified User in Marketing and Advertising

Impossible to go back once you try

  • June 04, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Tailscale simplifies a WireGuard VPN so that anyone can set it up. The setup is easy, and maintenance is even easier. It also provides peer-to-peer connections which can be cumbersome to implement with raw WireGuard
What do you dislike about the product?
There is no official self-hosted option. This forces us to rely on Tailscale's cloud, which may not always be available if one day they disappear. While an app called Headscale does exist, it lacks some functionality.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Having low-latency connections between devices was cumbersome to set up. Using Tailscale, we no longer have to worry about WireGuard configs and can instead focusing on work.


    Andrew S.

Secure and Simple: Tailscale Review

  • March 15, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Unlike other VPNs, which can be complex to set up, Tailscale is easy to deploy and configure. I appreciate that it works across a wide range of platforms. Provides secure access to my network resources without the need for a dedicated server or VPN gateway.
Another feature that stands out for me is its security. Tailscale uses WireGuard, a modern, advanced, high-performance VPN protocol that's designed with security in mind.
What do you dislike about the product?
While Tailscale's pricing may be reasonable for some users, it may be relatively expensive compared to other VPN solutions, especially for larger organisations that need to connect many devices.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tailscale is a VPN solution that helps us solve the problem of securely accessing our sensitive network resources from remote locations. Its ease of use, extensible configuration, security features, and access control capabilities benefit us by providing a simple, secure, and efficient way to access our network resources over the internet.


    Jared O.

Fast and Simple

  • March 09, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Fastest and simplest VPN I have ever setup. Rolling it out to the organization was even easier. First time I've used wireguard but I highly recommend tailscale.
What do you dislike about the product?
I wish there was an LDAP integration or another way to manage users besides solely through one of the three sso providers.

Works fine for most cases but my person stuff I would appreciate but having to use Google, Microsoft, or GitHub.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tailscale keeps internal resources within the organization.


    Adrian P.

Simple, secure, mesh VPN

  • January 04, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Extremely easy to set up, on-board, and manage endpoints for non-technical users but with powerful tools to lock down access to specific systems using ACLs
What do you dislike about the product?
I've not found anything to dislike. It does everything I need so far.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
We are using Tailscale to allow devs to work together on projects and access dev / prod servers securely. As a fully remote workforce Tailscale has been indispensable.


    Financial Services

Private network management made easy... and secure.

  • November 23, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
The Tailscale Mesh Network solution delivers a secure solution to keep all your assets and network environments private, and all from an easy-to-use user interface. The use of SAML SSO and the requirement to authenticate each machine (client node), provides a strong and convenient security control with a defence-in-depth approach to your operational security. Then we throw in ACLs, IdP conditional access policies, Tailscale SSH, exit nodes, Tailscale sharing to guests, and it becomes an obvious addition to your networking infrastructure.
What do you dislike about the product?
I would like to be able to reference my IdP (Azure AD, Okta, etc.) security groups when defining my ACLs.

Implementing a DNS solution has not been straightforward, since we heavily use node-relays.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tailscale has allowed us to close all the publically facing doors and operate with a truly private network. It has allowed us to spin-up infrastructure and provide secure network access for employees, regardless of their location.


    Jeremy N.

I've used Talescale for a long time and have seen many improvements. This is a great product!

  • October 27, 2022
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Flexibility, Security, and Ease of use make Talescale number one in its class. I've used this product in everything from access to nodes in my home lab to B2B solutions.
What do you dislike about the product?
There isn't much that I don't like. I feel this product should be baked into every OS from Desktops, Laptops, Servers, Kiosk, to Phones, Tablets, and POS solutions.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Talescale has made Securely connecting to remote networks much easier than trying to setup and configure standard VPN connections. Talescale has literally saved me many hours and headaches.


    Michael O.

Has been great as we build a new product.

  • September 01, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
We're a small startup and product development team (under 15). Because of our business, we do need some physical hardware in our office, but we also are taking advantage of the flexibility of the cloud.

On the infrastructure development side, Tailscale gives us flexibility to connect cloud and physical resources securely. It lets us design our network and security in the logical fashion we'd like without physical locality constraining us.

Our team is partially remote, and many of them _don't need_ to know whether the resources are local or in the cloud. They can work effectively from wherever they are.

Tailscale has been reliable for us and has allowed us to adapt quickly as the sands of startup life shift beneath our feet.
What do you dislike about the product?
I didn't initially understand the differences between "teams" and "business" plans from their page because I didn't understand how their ACLs work. I think much use of ACLs will likely require a switch to the business plan.

I don't think there's anything terribly _wrong_ with this; it was just a surprise to me.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
- Transparent use of devices in cloud and physical locations for team use, and product development.
- VPN-like remote access.
- Ability to switch on for full traffic protection when on sketchy networks such as coffee shops.


    Alistair W.

VPNs reimagined with Tailscale

  • June 15, 2022
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I love that Tailscale allows you to access devices / local network without having to open up a port (essentially a door) on your network. This limits the attack surface for potential security threats whilst still allowing you access to your devices remotely. They make it incredibly easy to get started with a VPN.
What do you dislike about the product?
There's no ability to share network subnets with other Tailscale members. This essentially restricts access to a local network to only one person without a paid plan. I hope that they'll add this in the future.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Tailscale helps me and others to remotely access a device or network from anywhere within the world easily and without having to have an open door to the internet.