Sign in
Categories
Your Saved List Become a Channel Partner Sell in AWS Marketplace Amazon Web Services Home Help

Fast, Secure Database-Ubuntu 20.04 lts focal-Supported by Cognosys

Cognosys Inc Hardened Images | 23.03.1500

Linux/Unix, Ubuntu 23.03.1500 - 64-bit Amazon Machine Image (AMI)

Reviews from AWS Marketplace

0 AWS reviews
  • 5 star
    0
  • 4 star
    0
  • 3 star
    0
  • 2 star
    0
  • 1 star
    0

External reviews

596 reviews
from G2

External reviews are not included in the AWS star rating for the product.


    Vaibhav K.

One of the best database

  • February 15, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
If you are finding databases alternatives to use with your env then postgresql is one of the best choice i can say.
Because it provides a robust and powerful architecture. Anybody want to start to have the knowledge of databases then i can say use the postgresql so that you will have the lots of think clear in your mind and also by passing sometime you definetily love the postgresql database. Quering to postgresql is very much simple and anybody can understand. there are lot to add but you should use postgresql.
What do you dislike about the product?
Sometimes launching pg admin takes sometime.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It has ighly reliable RDMS and its opensource so anybody can use it for free. Also it has high transaction speed and fast data aggregation. Also quering to postgres is much simpler.


    Information Technology and Services

Great database

  • February 01, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Is the best database to store the geom polygons
What do you dislike about the product?
The sintaxes from some functions are not easy to understand
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
There is no issues


    Subrat P.

Postgresql :- A New Trendy Relational and Open source database management tool

  • January 29, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Postgresql is very easy to use in its pgAdmin and also in other enterprise application like DBeaver. I most like about its connectivety with clouds like AWS's RDS service etc. Best relational and open source database in term of easy to use, database recovery, backup, maintenance and its connectivety.
What do you dislike about the product?
For beginners its initial setup complexity or the learning curve for advanced features and it's configurations little bit hard because its initial setup is not straightforword specially its port availibilty. Some user may get confused with icons of Postgresql because it may differ from MySQL, Oracle.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL addresses various database challenges, offering benefits like scalability like table partitioning and built-in replication , open-source , flexibility that supports various data types , indexing methods, and procedural languages . Users find it valuable for their applications, enabling them to manage data effectively and reliably.


    Computer Software

Genuine thought

  • January 18, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
easy to use we can use it in our production environment, it provide very good features so that we can optimized our query and also data retrieval become easy also in PostgreSQL querys are easy to write, we frequently use it in our projects.
What do you dislike about the product?
what i don't like is, it is not distributed database, and some features are not supported
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
They make some features simple, so that now we can easily write our complex query


    Shree P.

Unveiling the Power and versatility of an open source database solution

  • January 18, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
PostgreSQL impresses with its robustness, ACID Compliance , and extensibility . Its commitment to standards, comprehensive documentation and strong community support contribute to a reliable and feature rich database management system .
The flexibility to handle diverse data types and advanced indexing capabilities further solidify postgreSQL standing as a top choice for data driven applications
What do you dislike about the product?
While postgreSQL is feature-rich,its initial setup complexity can be a drawback for newcomers. Additionally, certain performances optimizations may require fine tuning , demanding a deeper nuances, the benifits often outweigh these challenges in the long run
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL addresses data management challenges by providing a scalable , open source solution with robust features , ensuring data integrity and flexibility in handling diverse workloads, ultimately benifiting users with a reliable and adaptable database platform


    Computer Software

PostgreSQL : Top Open Source RDBMS Choice

  • January 18, 2024
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Its best thing is , it is open source.
Other things i like about postgreSQL is its vast range of Data Types like JSON, Arrays, Custom data types, custom functions and operators. It gives good flexiblity.
It can handle huge amount of data, high traffic loads.
It is suitable for both large and small scale applications.
I love its command line interface.
It is easy to setup.
It can be integrated everywhere.
As it has large and active community it provides regular updates and bug fixes.
What do you dislike about the product?
As it has wide range of feature it may take some time to learn for beginners.
Its UI tool is not that user-friendly, I rarely use it.
1 Feature they can have is distributed computing.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
PostgreSQL provides a open source RDBMS. Its open source feature benifits everyone. Also it handle huge amount of data, as it is RDBMD it is quite faster than other databases.
It offeres advanced indexing.
It provides wide range of data types and also custom data types.


    Information Technology and Services

Great database system to use for beginners.

  • January 01, 2024
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Very reliable tool to use and easy to understand plus its consistent and also adapts to changing infrastructure in the market.
What do you dislike about the product?
The documentation is very dense which is nit easy to understand by beginners.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
It helped to solve the business queries and business cases and it can also deal with a wide range of data types including specialised ones.


    Vishal S.

It's a vast database management system.

  • December 26, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
It's very easy to use as compared to other tools in the market and it contains very well prepared documentation on its site.
What do you dislike about the product?
One thing I dislike about it is it's not easy to use in the starting of usage for a new user.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Our database is running on postgresql engine and we use it through RDS in AWS.


    Henry C.

A great open source database

  • December 19, 2023
  • Review verified by G2

What do you like best about the product?
I think it is really well documented, you can find lots of free tutorials en webpages and youtube. You can configure it to fit your requirements.
It also has a lot of functionalities, I think it is one of the most advanced databases available right now.

You can integrate PostgreSQL with a lot of different tools, and it provides great advantages for your use.
What do you dislike about the product?
It can be a little tricky for starters, because the inital configuration can be a little cumbersome, but I think it is not a big deal since you have support online where you can find a lot of tutorials.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Some of our databases are running using PostgresSQL as engine. We use them through RDS in AWS.


    Frantisek B.

Enterprise-grade open source RDBMS with extension

  • November 27, 2023
  • Review provided by G2

What do you like best about the product?
Probably the best open source SQL solution, universal use due to the possibility of installing extensions. Easy administration and High availability in combination with patroni and etcd. Commercial support by some companies.

Useful extensions:
PostGIS : geography data
TimescaleDB: time series data with automatic partitions, automatic aggregation and deletion

Several options for HA.
Several options for backup and recovery, i personally user Barman (pgbarman.org)

Easy of deployment with containers (Docker, podman, Kubernetes).
What do you dislike about the product?
Does not support automatic creation of partitions. For automatic partition it is possible to use triggers and PL/pgSQL, extension pg_partman (you have to do manually while locking the database tables) a my preferred way timescaleDB extension and hypertables.
What problems is the product solving and how is that benefiting you?
Open source replacement of Oracle RDBMS